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Current Rulings are periodic updates to the Rulebook and Glossary, including rules
changes, clarifications, and situations not addressed in the Rulebook, Glossary, or rules
supplements. Current Rulings are the official supplement to the Rulebook and should
be used by tournament directors in making tournament rulings.

Answers given by official Decipher representatives are not official until included in a
Current Rulings document. Such answers are highly recommended for use by
tournament directors, but the TD always has the final authority on rulings.

This document contains all Current Rulings issued since the August 2000 Rulebook
and Glossary version 1.7 (which includes all prior Current Rulings). Entries that are new
or changed since the last Current Rulings document (8/30/00) are marked with an
asterisk (*) before the topic. A complete set of Star Trek Customizable Card Game
rules consists of the following documents:

Rulebook Version 1.7 (August 2000)
Glossary Version 1.7 (August 2000)
Current Rulings (9/25/00)

Cross-references that have no corresponding entries in the Current Rulings refer to
entries in the Glossary. Entries are arranged alphabetically, ignoring apostrophes and
quotation marks and treating hyphens, dashes, and colons as spaces. Entries for
specific cards starting with “The” are sorted according to the second word of the card
title (e.g., the entry for The Emissary is in the E’s, not the T’s). Borg drones are listed by
their designations (e.g., Interlink Drone, not Nine of Eleven), except for Seven of Nine
and Third of Five. Text in square brackets represents an icon. Refer to the Glossary for a
complete icon legend.

SIGNIFICANT RULINGS CHANGES AND CLARIFICATIONS

Several earlier formal and informal rulings have been changed or clarified. For details,

see the following listings:

* Alien Parasites: Your opponent is not compelled to take control of your cards.

* capturing: Captives must be relocated to the crew or Away team that made the
capture, if applicable.

* Council of Warriors: Non-Klingons obtained by persona exchange, Cryosatellite, or
switching affiliations do not count as “playing a non-Klingon”.

In addition, a number of entries in the Glossary Version 1.7 contain changes and

additions that did not appear in earlier Current Rulings documents. For details, see the

following listing in the Glossary (the full text of a few of the additions are included in this

document):

1 Tribble: You may “stop” only one personnel every turn regardless of the number of 1
Tribble cards in play.

affiliation and ship origin: A “Klingon ship” may be Klingon by affiliation or by origin
(e.g., Naprem, ChaJoh, B'Rel).

cloaking and phasing: These rules have been consolidated and clarified.

cumulative: Multiple copies of the same universal personnel may not score points for
Colony, Ressikan Flute, or Assign Mission Specilists at the same time.

dilemma resolution — summary: This entry summarizes the steps of resolving a
dilemma.

Edo Vessel: There is a 50/50 chance that even return fire is nullified.

Empok Nor: Cards that play on a site, such as Weapons Locker, may play on an
uncommandeered Empok Nor site.

FGC-47 Research: The minimum span for this mission is 0.

infiltration icon: Your infiltrator may move during either player’s turn by beaming,
walking, etc.

mission attempt: A matching personnel is now required to begin or continue a
mission attempt, or to solve the mission. If you lose all matching personnel, the
mission attempt ends.

regions of space: The Solar System has been renamed the Sector 001 Region. All
Sector 001 and Neutral Zone Region missions have errata to their lore to identify
their regional status.

revised text: The game text or lore of a number of additional cards has been revised
to clarify gameplay or implement an existing ruling directly on the card.

Storage Compartment Door: Drawing the three cards from your side deck is
executing orders.

Tekeny Ghemor: A “Cardassian player” is one who has seeded or played any [Car]-
affiliation cards, or attempted to do so.

The: Card titles starting with “The” are now sorted under the second word of the title.

Tribble Bomb: Your Barry Waddle at the location of your tribble group is a
requirement to play this incident.

undefined variable: This term has been changed to “undefined attribute”

RULINGS

* actions — required — A ship under the influence of a required action remains under
that influence after it is commandeered or assimilated; the new controller must
complete the action.

* Add Distinctiveness — If you obtain Jean-Luc Picard from an expansion pack using
this incident, you may play him even if you have Locutus of Borg in play, and may not
perform a persona exchange with the two cards. Personnel cards are assimilated as
drones and their names and lore are irrelevant to the Borg. See assimilation.

affiliation and ship origin — Some cards, such as tactics, affect “Klingon ships;’
“Romulan ships;” etc. These cards apply to ships currently holding that affiliation as
well as ships that “originated” with that affiliation. A ship’s class or lore may indicate
that its origin is different from its affiliation. For example, the B'Rel is a Ferengi-
affiliation ship identified in its lore as a “Klingon Bird-of-Prey.” It counts as a Klingon
ship for Pulse Disruptor and as a Ferengi ship for Ferengi Energy Weapon. The
Chaloh is a multi-affiliation [Rom][KIg] ship of Klingon origin (“Bird-of-Prey”); thus, it
is a Klingon ship regardless of its current affiliation mode, but a Romulan ship only in
Romulan affiliation mode. A Romulan ship commandeered by Klingons counts as
both a Romulan ship and a Klingon ship.

The Naprem (K'Vort-class “Bird-of-Prey”) is of Klingon origin; the Stolen Attack Ship
(“Jem’Hadar attack ship”) is of Dominion origin.

* Alien Parasites — Your opponent is under no compulsion to take control of your
Away Team, ship or facility, and crew when you fail to overcome this dilemma. You
beam the Away Team back to their ship or facility (if they are associated with one),
and the mission attempt ends. If your opponent then chooses not to take control,
your turn immediately resumes (the Away Team is “stopped” and the dilemma returns
under the mission).

* Arne Darvin — This personnel does not allow you to draw a card for his own report
aboard K-7.

* Assimilate Counterpart — Participating in any battle at the location of the target
prevents you from probing to complete this objective, even if the target is no longer
at the location of that battle.

* Bajoran Shrine — “Using a disruptor at an adjacent site;” which can destroy this site,
means that a personnel is present there with a disruptor which he can legally use
(see equipment). For example, a Klingon could destroy the site if he is carrying a
Klingon Disruptor, but not a Romulan Disruptor (which can be used only by
Romulans and Non-Aligned personnel). The disruptor does not have to be used in
battle, nor does destroying the Shrine count as a battle.

* battle — personnel — Add to step 2: See Emergency Transporter Armbands.
* capturing — Replace the first bullet of the Glossary entry with the following:

« When first captured, captives are immediately relocated to one of your crews or
Away Teams at that location, if possible. If a specific crew or Away Team makes
the capture (e.g., llon Tandro, or using Captured), the captive must be relocated
to that crew or Away Team.

* Cargo Bay — You may not complete a cargo run begun by your opponent (e.g, if you
take control of the ship with Neural Servo Device).

* Council of Warriors — This objective may not be nullified once it is relocated to
your point area. Bringing a non-Klingon personnel into play by persona exchange,
earning a Cryosatellite, or switching the affiliation of a multi-affiliation personnel is not
“playing a non-Klingon personnel” See card play, reporting for duty, affiliation
and species.

* counterpart — An assimilated counterpart’s skill that enhances their ship’s
WEAPONS and SHIELDS +4 against their former affiliation works against any force
that includes that affiliation. For example, Locutus of Borg’s skill enhances his ship
“against [Fed]”, including a Non-Aligned ship with some Federation crew or a mixed
fleet of Federation and other ships under treaty.

cumulative — Add the following example to the bulleted list:

« Universal personnel: Multiple copies of the same universal personnel may not
score points for Colony, Ressikan Flute, or Assign Mission Specialists at the
same time. (But they may be used to meet mission or dilemma requirements.)

* Defend Homeworld — When this objective allows a download of personnel and
ships in response to battle, it is to a specific destination (“download there”) and thus
the cards may report anywhere at the location (e.g., personnel may report aboard
ships). However, a SECURITY personnel downloaded with the objective’s final
function must be reported to a facility or other place where that personnel may
normally report, because no destination is specified. See downloading.

* dilemma resolution — Add the following to the Targets section:
A specified number of personnel is not a “specific characteristic”

* Drought Tree — This event is discarded and its points are lost if the mission it is
played on is destroyed.

Edo Vessel — Any time this ship is fired upon (even by return fire), there is a 50/50
chance that the attack is nullified. You may determine the 50/50 chance by any
agreeable, random method (e.g., coin toss).

* Emergency Transporter Armbands — If you remove all your personnel from a
personnel battle with this interrupt before any personal combat takes place, the
battle is cancelled and there is no winner or loser, but all participants are “stopped”

Empok Nor — The game text on all Site cards on Empok Nor is inactive until it is
commandeered, other than the Ops text allowing commandeering, docking site text
allowing docking and undocking, and any text related to the placement of the sites
(including the module locations and the Commander’s Office placement restriction).
(However, a card that plays on a site, such as Weapons Locker, may be played on an



uncommandeered Empok Nor site.) Because the station is Neutral before it is
commandeered, all non-Borg affiliations are compatible with the station.

* Homefront — This incident has no effect on headquarters game text allowing seeding
or playing of the headquarters or co-existence with another facility, or on normal
reporting to the headquarters. A player without 4 SECURITY on the planet is
prevented only from using text allowing free card plays and The Great Link’s text
keeping Ketracel-White from counting down.

* Hunter Gangs — See zero, dilemma resolution — targets.
infiltration icon —

« Whenever any of the opponent’s personnel present beam, walk, relocate, attempt
a mission, participate in personnel battle, etc., your infiltrator may choose whether
or not to participate.

« Your infiltrator may also move independently during your opponent’s turn (or your
own turn) by beaming, walking, etc. He may control the opponent’s transporters
and SHIELDS long enough to move or beam himself to, from or between your
opponent’s ships, outposts, etc.

* Live Long and Prosper — If this interrupt returns to your hand a personnel who
scores points upon dying (e.g., Aamin Marritza), you do not score the points.

* Mining Survey — If you add an affiliation icon to this mission (e.g., a [Fer] icon with
Bribery), you may attempt it with that affiliation without controlling a Nor with Ore
Processing Unit there.

mission attempt — To begin or continue a mission attempt, or to complete the
mission, at least one crew or Away Team member must match one of the mission’s
affiliation icons (if any); other (non-matching) personnel in the crew or Away Team
can assist in the attempt. (Also, to attempt a space mission, at least one crew
member must match the ship’s affiliation. The ship does not have to be staffed for
movement or match the mission’s affiliation.) If you lose all matching personnel during
the mission attempt, the mission attempt ends.

* Obelisk of Masaka — You may use this incident to download Masaka
Transformations only during your own turn (“once each turn”).

* persona — persona replacement — See Add Distinctiveness.
* Phased Matter — See Thine Own Self.

* Prepare Assault Teams — Activating this objective is a valid response to the
initiation of personnel battle, activating all its text. You may download a weapon or
use SECURITY as a leader even if you do not split your Away Team.

* probing — Add the following to the next to last paragraph in the Glossary entry:

Also, you may not probe to complete any Borg objective (except one that says
“immediately probe”) if your Borg participated in any battles at the location of the
objective’s target during your current turn or during your opponent’s previous turn.

* Q the Referee — Activating this incident does not suspend play and is not a valid
response to any action. You may activate it only between other actions. The incident
must already be face up before you may suspend play to download another [Ref]
card.

* Reactor Overload — There are no conditions for placing this incident on a ship or
facility for the second function. The incident is “used” and returns to hand even if
there are no androids, [Holo] personnel, etc. aboard to affect.

* Storage Compartment Door — Drawing the three cards allowed by this doorway is
executing orders and must take place after the card play segment of your turn. The
cards drawn are not part of your hand and must be either played or discarded (face
up under your Tribble side deck) immediately. See card draw, card play, tribble.

* Subspace Transporter — If the personnel beamed aboard an opponent’s ship using
this event takes a captive (e.g., llon Tandro, or using Captured), you may not beam
the captive back. Only your Treachery personnel (and any equipment he is carrying)
may be beamed. See capturing.

* Supernova — If a mission that corresponds to a time location in play is destroyed by
this event, the time location is unaffected. See Temporal Vortex.

Tekeny Ghemor — For purposes of this personnel’s special skill, a “Cardassian player”
is one who has seeded or played any Cardassian-affiliation cards (or attempted to do
s0). Cards seeded face down by your opponent must be earned or acquired before
they count. Multi-affiliation cards count only if your opponent has used the card in
Cardassian mode. A card that you seeded or played, even if subsequently controlled
by your opponent, does not count.

For example, you may use this skill to look at your opponent’s hidden agendas if he
seeded a Cardassian Outpost or Nor; attempted to seed Terok Nor (but you seeded
Deep Space 9 or Terok Nor first); played any Cardassian-affiliation ships or
personnel (even if they are no longer in play); or earned Garak from a Cryosatellite
and selected (or later switched him to) Cardassian affiliation. However, if you report a
Cardassian to his Away Team with The Naked Truth, that does not make him a
“Cardassian player”

* Temporal Vortex — If a mission that corresponds to a time location in play is
destroyed by a Supernova, the location remains the “corresponding spaceline
location” for time travel using this doorway.

* Thine Own Self — The personnel “lost” to this interrupt are still an Away Team and
are vulnerable to Anti-Time Anomaly, Risky Business, Dal’Rok, etc. They are placed
under the mission only as a marker of their “lost” status and are not considered seed
cards that can be discarded with Ajur or Boratus.

You may play this interrupt on personnel phased by the Phased Matter dilemma. You
may not play it on an Away Team at a time location, because it requires you to place
them under a mission.

* tribble — You may play only one Tribble card to each of your tribble groups each turn,
whether the cards were drawn from your side deck or downloaded by playing a

Storage Compartment Door.

Tribble cards from the Tribbles Customizable Card Game may not be used in the
Star Trek Customizable Card Game, because they have no game text allowing them
to play.

Tribble Bomb — Your Barry Waddle must be at the same location as your tribble group
to allow you to play this incident (not just to play it for free).

* Trust Me — A Borg player may use this Q-event to place non-Borg personnel or ships
in his discard pile and may use them normally if retrieved to hand.

* Wormhole — This interrupt is a valid response to a normal ship movement using
time travel, e.g., with the first function of Temporal Vortex.

* Writ of Accountability — Activating this incident to place it on a [Fer] FCA personnel
already in play is a valid response to any of the actions that cause your opponent to
lose the game. Activating it to download an FCA personnel is not a valid response to
those actions and thus may be done only after your opponent’s action is complete,
and only if your opponent did not already win the game by completing his action.
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