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Current Rulings are periodic updates to the Rulebook and Glossary, including rules
changes, clarifications and situations not addressed in the Rulebook, Glossary or rules
supplements. Current Rulings are the official supplement to the Rulebook and should
be used by tournament directors in making tournament rulings.

Answers given by official Decipher representatives are not official until included in a
Current Rulings document. Such answers are highly recommended for use by
tournament directors, but the TD always has the final authority on rulings.

This document contains all Current Rulings issued since the October 1999 Rulebook
and Glossary (which includes all prior FAQs and Current Rulings). Entries that are new
or changed since the last Current Rulings document (10/25/99) are marked with an
asterisk (*) before the topic. A complete set of Star Trek Customizable Card Game
rules consists of the following documents:

Rule Booklet Version 1.6 (October 1999)
Rule Booklet Glossary Version 1.6 (October 1999)
Current Rulings (11/29/99)

NOTE: Cross-references that have no corresponding entries in the Current Rulings
refer to entries in the Glossary. Entries are arranged alphabetically, ignoring
punctuation symbols. Entries for specific cards are sorted according to exact card title
(e.g., the entry for The Emissary is in the T's, not the E’s). Borg drones are listed by
their designations (e.g., Interlink Drone, not Nine of Eleven), except for Seven of Nine.
Text in square brackets represents an icon. Refer to the Glossary for a complete
legend of icons.

SIGNIFICANT RULINGS CHANGES AND CLARIFICATIONS TO NOTE

Rules of Acquisition: All information from the Rules of Acquisition Rules Supplement
has been incorporated into these Current Rulings. The rules are effective immediately.

Several earlier formal and informal rulings have been changed or clarified to enhance
gameplay and for better consistency. For details, see the following listings:

actions — interrupting actions: Interrupt and Doorway cards may no longer be
played during a mission attempt between seed cards or prior to encountering the
first seed card (unless allowed by a specific rule or game text).

“any”: Cards using the word “any” when referring to a specific character mean any
personnel card representing the specified character (except for infiltrators).

card types: A card that says it is “played as” or “used as” another card type now
counts as both card types for all purposes.

carried ships: Personnel aboard a carried ship are considered part of the crew (or
intruders) of the carrying ship.

Chief O’Brien: The Glossary entry on this personnel is reversed, in accordance with
the new “once each turn” ruling.

dilemmas — resolution: If no personnel remain to resolve a dilemma you've
encountered, replace that dilemma under the mission.

dual-icon missions: Space/Planet dilemmas (and Q-Flash cards) encountered
during a dual-icon mission attempt now only affect either the crew or Away Team
(not both).

Jem’Hadar suicide: The rule that Jem’Hadar must commit suicide when a Founder
dies has been canceled.

once each turn: A non-universal, non-cumulative card whose effect is limited to use
“once each turn;” “once per turn” or “once every turn” can be used only once
regardless of the number of copies of that card you have in play.

Phased Matter: This dilemma has errata: “Away Team is split into two Away Teams
(owner’s choice). Larger team is phased and cannot beam until cured by
ENGINEER and SCIENCE in another Away Team on planet”

Reactor Overload: A player is vulnerable to this incident even if they converted one
or both of their Process Ore card draws to a download.

Wormbhole: This interrupt plays as a ship “begins to move”, thus further responses to
the declaration of movement cannot be made (e.g., Establish Tractor Lock).

In addition, a small number of entries in the Glossary (Version 1.6) contain changes or
clarifications that did not appear in earlier Current Rulings documents. For details, see
the following listings in the Glossary:

battle — Winning and losing battle: Definition revised to include Tactic cards.

Gomtuu: This ship’s WEAPONS are now considered an undefined variable.

mis-seeds: Clarification of “encountered” to “revealed

Q’s Tent: You may look through your side deck before announcing the target card.

Ready Room Door: Reversal of earlier ruling: you may download another matching
commander to a ship that already has one aboard.

Telepathic Alien Kidnappers: Reversal of earlier ruling: you guess a card type at the
end of your turns, not your opponent’s.

turns: Clarification of “each turn” when the subject is implied.

RULINGS

Access Denied - See Ferengi Ingenuity.

actions — interrupting actions - Interrupt and Doorway cards may no longer be
played during a mission (or scouting) attempt unless the card “suspends play”
(e.g., Flight of the Intruder) or represents a valid response to the attempt or to one
of its sub-actions (e.g., Hugh, Senior Staff Meeting). This reverses all previous
Glossary and Rulebook entries otherwise allowing these cards to be played during
mission attempts.

“any” - If a card refers to a specific Star Trek character using the word “any” (e.g.,
“any Miles” on Pup, “any Odo” on Intelligence Operation), it is referring to any
personnel card representing the specified character (including AU icon personnel).
Impersonators are never considered true representations of the character they
depict. (Thus Chief O'Brien is “any Miles” and Montgomery Scott is “any Scotty;’
while Odo Founder is not “any Odo”)

Arbiter of Succession - The two Klingons targeted by this interrupt may belong to
the same player.

* Bashir Founder - This personnel cannot use his special download while on board a
cloaked ship (or phased ship).

Beware of Q - The second function of this objective can be used to replace a
dilemma seeded at Empok Nor.

Big Picture, The - See The Big Picture.

* Breen CRM114 - Your Away Team using this disruptor to damage a planet facility or
landed ship is making a special kind of attack; thus a leader is required and the
Away Team is subject to its normal attack restrictions. The attack automatically
succeeds, causing one damage marker from your Battle Bridge side deck (no
damage is caused if you aren’t using the side deck). Cards involved in the attack are
“stopped” and your opponent is allowed to counter-attack there normally. See once
each turn.

card types - A card that says it is “played as” or “used as” another card type now
counts as both card types for all purposes. (This reverses the existing Glossary
entry.) For example, an artifact that plays as an Event card can be protected by
Rishon Uxbridge or nullified by Kevin Uxbridge: Convergence. An artifact that is
used as an Equipment card may be stolen by a Procurement Drone, discarded to
satisfy Rebel Encounter or (if reclaimed from discard pile with Reclamation) reported
in any way that an Equipment card may be reported (e.g., outposts, Devidian Door).
(The text on Amanda Rogers, Kevin Uxbridge and Disruptor Overload referring to
cards played as Interrupt or Event cards or used as Equipment cards is redundant.)
Note that artifacts must still be earned or acquired legally before use.

* Cargo Bay - When making “cargo runs;” you only get credit for Mission cards your
ship actually passes (that is, those whose span numbers you use), and only if they
occur in a direct path between the two facilities. You may not count the same mis-
sion more than once during the same cargo run. As specified on the site, you also
may not count the starting and ending locations (even if you fly back and forth in an
attempt to “pass” those locations).

Each cargo run can be completed only once. To complete another cargo run, a ship
and one of its crew members both must begin again at a facility and take an
Equipment card to a Cargo Bay aboard a different facility.

* carried ships - Personnel aboard a carried ship are also part the crew of the
carrying ship (or Nor), or are considered intruders if the carrying ship (or Nor) is
controlled by a different player.

* Chief O’Brien - The Glossary entry on this personnel is reversed. See once each
turn.

* Devidian Door - Because calling “Devidian Door” is an [AU] effect, it counts against
the one per turn limit of a Space-Time Portal. You would not be able to report an
[AU] icon personnel through Devidian Door using only a Space-Time Portal.

dilemmas — resolution - If no personnel remain to resolve a dilemma you've encoun-
tered, replace that dilemma under the mission. For example, your Away Team of Elim
Garak (“May avoid any random selection”) encounters Armus - Skin of Evil (“Kill one
Away Team member (random selection). Discard dilemma?). If you choose to have
Elim Garak avoid the random selection, there is no one left to resolve Armus, and it
is replaced under the mission. Other cards that might remove all personnel before
you can resolve a dilemma include Flight of the Intruder and Launch Portal.

dilemmas — timing - Interrupt and Doorway cards may no longer be played during a
mission (or scouting) attempt unless a card or rule specifically allows it. See
actions — interrupting actions.

* dual-icon missions - When a Space/Planet dilemma (or a Q-icon card) is encoun-
tered during a dual-icon mission attempt, the player attempting the mission must
choose whether it applies to his crew or to his Away Team. (Such cards no longer
apply to both groups.)

When you encounter a Q-Flash during a dual-icon mission attempt, X = the number
of personnel in both your crew and Away Team.

Ferengi Ingenuity - When affected by Access Denied, this dilemma should be read
as follows: “If one personnel present has 3 Computer Skill, discard dilemma.
Otherwise, to get past, place on 2 most CUNNING Computer Skill present
(“stopped” during countdown).”



* Forced Labor Camp - This objective refers to two existing planet locations:
Cardassia IV (Rescue Prisoners) and Ligos VIl (Distress Mission).

Hail - Although the ship targeted by this interrupt is not “stopped” (e.g., it is not
prevented from battling or attempting a mission), it may not move this turn.

Horga’hn - You “use” this artifact (for purposes of cards such as Temporal Narcosis
and Writ of Accountability) each time you choose take a double turn.

Incoming Message: Attack Authorization - This interrupt allows you to attack
another of your own ships.

Intruder Alert! - This incident is not itself a valid response to Rogue Borg, and thus
cannot be revealed in response to them. See hidden agendas.

* Ishka - See skills — doubling skills.

* Jem’Hadar suicide - The rule that Jem’Hadar must commit suicide when a Founder
dies has been canceled. (This eliminates the existing Glossary entry.)

Kevin Uxbridge: Convergence - This interrupt may now nullify any card type “played
as an Event card” on the spaceline. See card types.

* Memory Wipe - See multi-affiliation cards.

mission attempt - Interrupts such as Rogue Borg, Emergency Transporter Armbands
(unless escaping Firestorm) and End Transmission may no longer be played
between dilemmas as described in the Glossary. See actions — interrupting
actions.

* multi-affiliation cards - If a multi-affiliation personnel whose skills or attributes are
dependent on their affiliation mode is made Non-Aligned (e.g., by Memory Wipe,
Frame of Mind) they may still switch “modes” as a game action.

* once each turn - A card whose effect is limited to use “once each turn” “once per
turn” or “once every turn” can be used only once regardless of the number of copies
of that card you have in play. Cards with a universal icon < and cards marked
“cumulative” are an exception; each copy of a universal or cumulative card with a
limited effect may use that effect once during a turn (as appropriate).

* “on planet” - Cards which affect personnel “on planet” also affect personnel aboard
landed ships or in a planet facility.

* personas - Two copies of the same universal personnel are instances of the same
persona.

* Phased Matter - This dilemma has errata: “Away Team is split into two Away Teams
(owner's choice). Larger team is phased and cannot beam until cured by ENGI-
NEER and SCIENCE in another Away Team on planet”

As with phased ships, phased personnel are both invisible and untouchable. They
are not affected by exterior phenomena (e.g., they may not engage in battle with
non-phased cards and may not attempt or solve missions), but remain vulnerable to
global effects caused by changes in the timeline (e.g., Anti-Time Anomaly, Stop First
Contact).

Phased personnel may not be used to cure this dilemma. This reverses the Glossary
entry on Phased Matter.

* Phasing Cloak - This device allows a ship and its crew to go “out of phase” with
the universe. The ship is both invisible and untouchable, and thus can fly right
through planets and other navigational obstructions. In game terms, ships with this
capability may “phase” or “dephase” once each turn. (While phased, the ship
receives a RANGE enhancement as indicated on the card.)

Phasing has the same protections and restrictions as cloaking. In addition, the ship
and crew are not affected by external phenomena (for example, Q-Net, Temporal
Rift, Supernova, Space-Time Portal and Anti-Matter Pod). However, they are still vul-
nerable to global effects caused by changes in the timeline, such as Anti-Time
Anomaly and Stop First Contact.

Phasing and cloaking are separate game conditions; thus, cards such as Tachyon
Detection Grid, La Forge Maneuver, T'Rul and the Tachyon Drone do not affect
phased ships (but note that Engage Cloak specifically states that it also works for
phasing). If a ship has both a Cloaking Device and a Phasing Cloak, it may perform
only one cloaking, decloaking, phasing or dephasing action each turn and it may not
be cloaked and phased at the same time.

* Reactor Overload - A player has “processed ore to draw two cards” if they created

two card draws using the Process Ore objective, even if they performed other
actions such as downloads in place of those card draws.

* revised game text - The following card has revised game text. See the introduction
to the Glossary for more information on revisions. See the individual Current Rulings
entry for the actual revised text.

Phased Matter
scouting attempt - Interrupt and Doorway cards may no longer be played between
dilemmas as described in the Glossary. See actions — interrupting actions.

* skills — doubling skills - Doubling skills (e.g. Grand Nagus Zek’s skills by Ishka) is
a form of adding skills. See skills — sharing, adding and selecting skills.

“stopped” - When a card “stops” personnel for a given duration (e.g., Parallel
Romance, Chinese Finger Puzzle), they may still be “unstopped” by other cards
(e.g., Distortion of Space/Time Continuum, Deanna Troi).

Subspace Warp Rift - To avoid damage from this event, a ship must stop moving at

its location and cannot move for the remainder of the turn, but is not “stopped” (e.g.,
it is not prevented from battling or attempting a mission).

Tetryon Field - A ship without Navigation aboard must stop moving at the location of
this event and cannot move for the remainder of the turn, but is not “stopped” (e.g.,
it is not prevented from battling or attempting a mission).

The Big Picture - You may satisfy either requirement of this event at any point before
or after it is played. You are not required to have solved (or scouted) a space
mission and a planet mission at the time it is played.

The Wake of the Borg - Because this interrupt does not specify it can affect landed
ships, they are not destroyed by it.

* towing - A ship being towed cannot be used to tow another ship.

* variable attributes - Some personnel have an X in one of their attribute boxes, with
a corresponding special skill such as “X=2 or 7" Each time you need to know the
value of a variable attribute, the owner of the card may choose one of the listed
values at that time — it is not necessary to specify one in advance. Whenever the
special skill is unusable (for example, because of Brain Drain or Hate Crime), the
attribute is undefined and thus treated as zero (like Mortal Q’'s CUNNING).

Wake of the Borg, The - See The Wake of the Borg.

white deprivation - Even when disabled, a white-deprived Jem’Hadar is still subject
to death by random selection as described in the Glossary. They do not, however,
initiate battle when disabled.

* Wormhole - This interrupt plays as a ship “begins to move” The movement is
already having its results and is past the optional responses step, and thus cannot
be targeted by responses to the declaration of movement (e.g., Establish Tractor
Lock).

* Writ of Accountability - If an opponent’s action directly causes you to score points
from your own dilemma, you are not yourself considered to have used the dilemma
to score points. For example, an opponent “posting bail” to your Mandarin Bailiff or
losing a personnel with your Vendetta in play on it does not count as a dilemma you
used to score points. See Horga’hn.
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