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Star Trek™ Customizable Card Game �Current Rulings Update �11/29/99 ���
This special "update" document contains only new Current Rulings issued last Current Rulings document (10/25/99). A complete set of Star Trek Customizable Card Game rules consists of the following documents: ��Rule Booklet Version 1.6 (October 1999) �Rule Booklet Glossary Version 1.6 (October 1999) �Current Rulings (11/29/99) ��SIGNIFICANT RULINGS CHANGES AND CLARIFICATIONS TO NOTE ��Rules of Acquisition: All information from the Rules of Acquisition Rules Supplement has been incorporated into these Current Rulings. The rules are effective immediately. ��Several earlier formal and informal rulings have been changed or clarified to enhance gameplay and for better consistency. For details, see the following listings: ��carried ships: Personnel aboard a carried ship are considered part of the crew (or intruders) of the carrying ship. ��Chief O’Brien: The Glossary entry on this personnel is reversed, in accordance with the new "once per turn" ruling. ��dual-icon missions: Space/Planet dilemmas (and Q-Flash cards) encountered ��during a dual-icon mission attempt now only affect either the crew or Away Team (not both). ��Jem’Hadar suicide: The rule that Jem’Hadar must commit suicide when a Founder dies has been canceled. ��once each turn: A non-universal, non-cumulative card whose effect is limited to use "once each turn," "once per turn" or "once every turn" can be used only once regardless of the number of copies of that card you have in play. ��Phased Matter: This dilemma has errata: "Away Team is split into two Away Teams (owner’s choice). Larger team is phased and cannot beam until cured by ENGINEER and SCIENCE in another Away Team on planet." ��Reactor Overload: A player is vulnerable to this incident even if they converted one or both of their Process Ore card draws to a download. ��Wormhole: This interrupt plays as a ship "begins to move", thus further responses to the declaration of movement cannot be made (e.g., Establish Tractor Lock). ���RULINGS ��Bashir Founder – This personnel cannot use his special download while on board a cloaked ship (or phased ship). ��Breen CRM114 – Your Away Team using this disruptor to damage a planet facility or landed ship is making a special kind of attack; thus a leader is required and the Away Team is subject to its normal attack restrictions. The attack automatically succeeds, causing one damage marker from your Battle Bridge side deck (no damage is caused if you aren’t using the side deck). Cards involved in the attack are "stopped" and your opponent is allowed to counter-attack there normally. See once each turn. ��Cargo Bay – When making "cargo runs," you only get credit for Mission cards your ship actually passes (that is, those whose span numbers you use), and only if they occur in a direct path between the two facilities. You may not count the same mission more than once during the same cargo run. As specified on the site, you also may not count the starting and ending locations (even if you fly back and forth in an attempt to "pass" those locations). ��Each cargo run can be completed only once. To complete another cargo run, a ship and one of its crew members both must begin again at a facility and take an Equipment card to a Cargo Bay aboard a different facility. ��carried ships – Personnel aboard a carried ship are also part the crew of the carrying ship (or Nor), or are considered intruders if the carrying ship (or Nor) is controlled by a different player. ��Chief O’Brien – The Glossary entry on this personnel is reversed. See once each turn. ��Devidian Door – Because calling "Devidian Door" is an [AU] effect, it counts against the one per turn limit of a Space-Time Portal. You would not be able to report an [AU] icon personnel through Devidian Door using only a Space-Time Portal. ��dual-icon missions – When a Space/Planet dilemma (or a Q-icon card) is encountered during a dual-icon mission attempt, the player attempting the mission must choose whether it applies to his crew or to his Away Team. (Such cards no longer apply to both groups.) ��When you encounter a Q-Flash during a dual-icon mission attempt, X = the number of personnel in both your crew and Away Team. ��Forced Labor Camp – This objective refers to two existing planet locations: Cardassia IV (Rescue Prisoners) and Ligos VII (Distress Mission). ��Ishka – See skills – doubling skills. ��Jem’Hadar suicide – The rule that Jem’Hadar must commit suicide when a Founder dies has been canceled. (This eliminates the existing Glossary entry.) ��Memory Wipe - See multi-affiliation cards. ��multi-affiliation cards - If a multi-affiliation personnel whose skills or attributes are dependent on their affiliation mode is made Non-Aligned (e.g., by Memory Wipe, Frame of Mind) they may still switch "modes" as a game action. ��once each turn – A card whose effect is limited to use "once each turn," "once per turn" or "once every turn" can be used only once regardless of the number of copies of that card you have in play. Cards with a universal icon and cards marked "cumulative" are an exception; each copy of a universal or cumulative card with a limited effect may use that effect once during a turn (as appropriate). ��"on planet" – Cards which affect personnel "on planet" also affect personnel aboard landed ships or in a planet facility. ��personas – Two copies of the same universal personnel are instances of the same persona. ��Phased Matter – This dilemma has errata: "Away Team is split into two Away Teams (owner’s choice). Larger team is phased and cannot beam until cured by ENGINEER and SCIENCE in another Away Team on planet." ��As with phased ships, phased personnel are both invisible and untouchable. They are not affected by exterior phenomena (e.g., they may not engage in battle with non-phased cards and may not attempt or solve missions), but remain vulnerable to global effects caused by changes in the timeline (e.g., Anti-Time Anomaly, Stop First Contact). ��Phased personnel may not be used to cure this dilemma. This reverses the Glossary entry on Phased Matter. ��Phasing Cloak – This device allows a ship and its crew to go "out of phase" with the universe. The ship is both invisible and untouchable, and thus can fly right through planets and other navigational obstructions. In game terms, ships with this capability may "phase" or "dephase" once each turn. (While phased, the ship receives a RANGE enhancement as indicated on the card.) ��Phasing has the same protections and restrictions as cloaking. In addition, the ship and crew are not affected by external phenomena (for example, Q-Net, Temporal Rift, Supernova, Space-Time Portal and Anti-Matter Pod). However, they are still vulnerable to global effects caused by changes in the timeline, such as Anti-Time Anomaly and Stop First Contact. ��Phasing and cloaking are separate game conditions; thus, cards such as Tachyon Detection Grid, La Forge Maneuver, T’Rul and the Tachyon Drone do not affect phased ships (but note that Engage Cloak specifically states that it also works for phasing). If a ship has both a Cloaking Device and a Phasing Cloak, it may perform only one cloaking, decloaking, phasing or dephasing action each turn and it may not be cloaked and phased at the same time. ��Reactor Overload – A player has "processed ore to draw two cards" if they created two card draws using the Process Ore objective, even if they performed other actions such as downloads in place of those card draws. ��revised game text – The following card has revised game text. See the introduction to the Glossary for more information on revisions. See the individual Current Rulings entry for the actual revised text. ��Phased Matter ��skills – doubling skills – Doubling skills (e.g. Grand Nagus Zek’s skills by Ishka) is a form of adding skills. See skills – sharing, adding and selecting skills. ��towing – A ship being towed cannot be used to tow another ship. ��variable attributes – Some personnel have an X in one of their attribute boxes, with a corresponding special skill such as "X=2 or 7." Each time you need to know the value of a variable attribute, the owner of the card may choose one of the listed values at that time – it is not necessary to specify one in advance. Whenever the special skill is unusable (for example, because of Brain Drain or Hate Crime), the attribute is undefined and thus treated as zero (like Mortal Q’s CUNNING). ��Wormhole – This interrupt plays as a ship "begins to move." The movement is already having its results and is past the optional responses step, and thus cannot be targeted by responses to the declaration of movement (e.g., Establish Tractor Lock). ��Writ of Accountability – If an opponent’s action directly causes you to score points from your own dilemma, you are not yourself considered to have used the dilemma to score points. For example, an opponent "posting bail" to your Mandarin Bailiff or losing a personnel with your Vendetta in play on it does not count as a dilemma you used to score points. ���TM & (c) 1999 Paramount Pictures. All Rights Reserved. Used under authorization by Decipher Inc. TM, (r) & (c) 1999 Decipher Inc., P.O. Box 56, Norfolk, VA 23501. All Rights Reserved. Original gameplay by Tom Braunlich and Rollie Tesh.
