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Current Rulings are periodic updates to the Rulebook and Glossary, including rules
changes, clarifications and situations not addressed in the Rulebook, Glossary or rules
supplements. Current Rulings are the official supplement to the Rulebook and should
be used by tournament directors in making tournament rulings.

Answers given by official Decipher representatives are not official until included in a
Current Rulings document. Such answers are highly recommended for use by
tournament directors, but the TD always has the final authority on rulings.

This document contains all Current Rulings issued since the October 1999 Rulebook
and Glossary (which includes all prior FAQs and Current Rulings). A complete set of
Star Trek Customizable Card Game rules consists of:

Rule Booklet Version 1.6 (October 1999)
Rule Booklet Glossary Version 1.6 (October 1999)
Current Rulings (10/25/99)

NOTE: Cross-references that have no corresponding entries in the Current Rulings
refer to entries in the Glossary. Entries are arranged alphabetically, ignoring
punctuation symbols. Entries for specific cards are sorted according to exact card title
(e.g., the entry for The Emissary is in the T's, not the E's). Borg drones are listed by
their designations (e.g., Interlink Drone, not Nine of Eleven), except for Seven of Nine.
Text in square brackets represents an icon. Refer to the Glossary for a complete
legend of icons.

SIGNIFICANT RULINGS CHANGES AND CLARIFICATIONS TO NOTE

Several earlier formal and informal rulings have been changed or clarified to enhance
gameplay and for better consistency. For details, see the following listings:

actions – interrupting actions: Interrupt and Doorway cards may no longer be
played during a mission attempt between seed cards or prior to encountering the
first seed card (unless  allowed by a specific rule or game text).

“any”: Cards using the word “any” when referring to a specific character mean any
personnel card representing the specified character (except for infiltrators).

card types: A card that says it is “played as” or “used as” another card type now
counts as both card types for all purposes.

dilemmas – resolution: If no personnel remain to resolve a dilemma you’ve
encountered, replace that dilemma under the mission.

In addition, a small number of entries in the Glossary (Version 1.6) contain changes or
clarifications that did not appear in earlier Current Rulings documents. For details, see
the following listings in the Glossary:

battle – Winning and losing battle: Definition revised to include Tactics.
Gomtuu: This ship’s WEAPONS are now considered an undefined variable.
mis-seeds: Clarification of “encountered” to “revealed.”
Q’s Tent: You may look through your side deck before announcing the target card.
Ready Room Door: Reversal of earlier ruling: you may download another matching

commander to a ship that already has one aboard.
Telepathic Alien Kidnappers: Reversal of earlier ruling: you guess a card type at the

end of your turns, not your opponent’s.
turns: The subject of “each turn” game text may be implied.

RULINGS

Access Denied - See Ferengi Ingenuity.

actions – interrupting actions - Interrupt and Doorway cards may no longer be
played during a mission (or scouting) attempt unless the card “suspends play”
(e.g., Flight of the Intruder) or represents a valid response to the attempt or to one
of its sub-actions (e.g., Hugh, Senior Staff Meeting). This reverses all previous
Glossary and Rulebook entries allowing these cards to be played between seed
card encounters and after the mission attempt is announced (but before the first
seed card is encountered).

“any” - If a card refers to a specific Star Trek character using the word “any” (e.g.,
“any Miles” on Pup, “any Odo” on Intelligence Operation), it is referring to any
personnel card representing the specified character. Impersonators are never
considered true representations of the character they depict. (Thus Chief O’Brien is
“any Miles” and Montgomery Scott is “any Scotty,” while Odo Founder is not “any
Odo.”)

Arbiter of Succession - The two Klingons targeted by this interrupt may belong to
the same player.

Beware of Q - The second function of this objective can be used to replace a
dilemma seeded at Empok Nor.

Big Picture, The - See The Big Picture.

card types - A card that says it is “played as” or “used as” another card type now
counts as both card types for all purposes. (This reverses the existing Glossary
entry.) However, artifacts must still be earned or acquired legally before use. For
example, an artifact that plays as an Event card can be protected by Rishon
Uxbridge or nullified by Kevin Uxbridge: Convergence. An artifact that is used as an
Equipment card may be stolen by a Procurement Drone, discarded to satisfy Rebel
Encounter or (if reclaimed from discard pile with Reclamation) reported in any way
that an Equipment card may be reported (e.g., Devidian Door). (The text on Amanda
Rogers, Kevin Uxbridge and Disruptor Overload referring to cards played as
Interrupt or Event cards or used as Equipment cards is redundant.)

dilemmas – resolution - If no personnel remain to resolve a dilemma you’ve
encountered, replace that dilemma under the mission. For example, your Away Team
of Elim Garak (“May avoid any random selection”) encounters Armus - Skin of Evil
(“Kill one Away Team member (random selection). Discard dilemma.”). If you choose
to have Elim Garak avoid the random selection, there is no one left to resolve Armus,
and it is replaced under the mission. Other cards that might remove all personnel
before you can resolve a dilemma include Flight of the Intruder and Launch Portal.

dilemmas – timing - Interrupt and Doorway may no longer be played during a
mission (or scouting) attempt unless a card or rule specifically allows it. See
actions – interrupting actions.

Ferengi Ingenuity - When affected by Access Denied, this dilemma should be read
as follows: “If one personnel present has 3 Computer Skill, discard dilemma.
Otherwise, to get past, place on 2 most CUNNING Computer Skill present
(“stopped” during countdown).”

Hail - Although the ship targeted by this interrupt is not “stopped” (e.g., it is not
prevented from battling or attempting a mission), it may not move to a different
location this turn.

Horga’hn - You “use” this artifact (for purposes of cards such as Temporal Narcosis
and Writ of Accountability) each time you take a double turn. Horga’hn allows you to
take double turns, but you are not required to do so.

Incoming Message: Attack Authorization - This interrupt allows a player to attack
another of their own ships.

Intruder Alert! - This incident is not itself a valid response to Rogue Borg, and thus
cannot be revealed in response to them. See hidden agendas.

Kevin Uxbridge: Convergence - This interrupt may now nullify any card type "played
as an Event card" on the spaceline. See card types.

mission attempt - Interrupts such as Rogue Borg, Emergency Transporter Armbands
(unless escaping Firestorm) and End Transmission may no longer be played
between dilemmas as described in the Glossary. See actions – interrupting
actions.

scouting attempt - Interrupt and Doorway cards may no longer be played between
dilemmas as described in the Glossary. See actions – interrupting actions.

“stopped” - When a card “stops” personnel for a given duration (e.g., Parallel
Romance, Chinese Finger Puzzle), they may still be “unstopped” by other cards
(e.g., Distortion of Space/Time Continuum, Deanna Troi).

Subspace Warp Rift - To avoid damage from this event, a ship must stop moving at
its location and remain there for the remainder of the turn, but is not “stopped” (e.g.,
it is not prevented from battling or attempting a mission).

Tetryon Field - A ship without Navigation aboard must stop moving at the location of
this event, but is not “stopped” (e.g., it is not prevented from battling or attempting a
mission).

The Big Picture - You may satisfy either requirement of this event at any point before
or after it is played. You are not required to have solved (or scouted) a space
mission and a planet mission at the time it is played.

The Wake of the Borg - Because this interrupt does not specify it can affect landed
ships, they are not destroyed by it.

Wake of the Borg, The - See The Wake of the Borg.

white deprivation - Even when disabled, a [KW] Jem’Hadar is still subject to death
by random selection as described in the Glossary. They do not, however, initiate
battle when disabled.

Writ of Accountability - See Horga’hn.
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