
 

 

 
 

Current Rulings Document 

(4 March 2013) 
Current Rulings are periodic updates to the Second Edition Rulebook, including changes, 
clarifications, and situations it does not address. Current Rulings are an official 
supplement to the Rulebook and should be used by tournament directors in making 
tournament rulings. 

Answers given by Continuing Committee representatives are not official until included in 
an official rules document such as the Current Rulings or Rulebook. Entries in the Rules 
Tool are only an advisory reference for tournament directors. These rulings are highly 
recommended for use by tournament directors, but the Tournament Director always has 
final authority at his or her tournaments. 

This document contains all general rulings issued since the Rulebook v3. Entries that are 
new, changed, or expanded since the last Current Rulings document are marked with an 
asterisk (*) before the topic. These rulings are effective immediately. 

 

 

abilities – Personnel may have one or more abilities. Each keyword is an ability. Other abilities 
may be denoted by the words “when” or “Order”. They may also create a continuous effect 
with or without a condition. Skills are not abilities. 

attempting missions – Below is the timing for mission attempts and response actions involving 
them. 

1. Active player (AP) begins a mission attempt 

a. AP announces where and by what means (normal or game text), 
showing required personnel, and announcing the difference between 
the number of personnel involved in the attempt and the number of 
dilemmas underneath the mission. 

b. "When . . . begins a mission attempt" triggers process. 

2. Draw Dilemmas 

a. "When . . . about to draw dilemmas" triggers process. 

b. Opponent (OP) draws dilemmas from his or her dilemma pile equal to 
the number announced (plus or minus any modifiers, minimum 0). 

c. "When . . . drawn dilemmas" triggers process. 

d. OP selects any number (0 or more) of dilemmas from those drawn, 
uses them to form the dilemma stack, and places the rest face up on 
the bottom of the dilemma pile. 

e. "When . . . (choose/chosen) dilemmas" triggers process. 

3. Facing Dilemmas 

a. If there are no personnel still involved in the mission attempt, all 
remaining dilemmas in the dilemma stack are overcome. 

b. "When . . . dilemma . . . about to (be) reveal(ed)" triggers process. 

c. OP reveals the top card of the dilemma stack to AP. 

d. "When . . . reveal" triggers process. 

e. Cost-related response actions and cost-modifying dilemma gametext 
process. 

f. Check dilemma for duplication, type, and cost. If it fails any of these, it 
is overcome. Otherwise, the dilemma’s cost is deducted from the total 
allowed. 

g. "When . . . about to face . . . dilemma" triggers process. 

h. "(When/While) . . . (face/facing) . . . dilemma" triggers and 
“(When/While) . . . is attempting a mission” triggers process and may be 
used at any time until dilemma is overcome or placed somewhere. 

i. Process the dilemma’s non-cost-related gametext, one action at a time. 

4. Overcoming Dilemmas 

a. After all of a dilemma is processed, if the AP has not been instructed to 
place it somewhere, it is overcome. 

b. Repeat the process beginning at "Facing Dilemmas". 

5. Once the dilemma stack is empty and no response actions adding dilemmas are 
used, it is time to complete the mission with the remaining unstopped personnel. 

a. “(When/While) . . . is attempting a mission” triggers process and may be 
used until the end of the mission attempt. 

b. “(When/While) . . . checking . . . mission requirements” triggers process 
and may be used until the end of the mission attempt. 

c. AP shows all requirements needed to complete the mission. If he or she 
cannot, all of the personnel involved are stopped and all “When . . . fail 
a mission attempt” triggers and “When . . . mission attempt fails” 
triggers process. 

d. If the AP does show all requirements, all “When . . . about to complete” 
triggers process, then the AP scores the points on the mission (or 
points in game text used to attempt and complete the mission, then 
“When . . . complete” triggers process. If the mission requirements 
change at any point during part 5, return to the beginning of part 5. 

 

attributes, ship – The printed attributes of a ship are public knowledge. Any modifiers to a ship's 
public attributes need not be revealed until that attribute is used. For example, I.K.S. Vorn 
(Ship of Traitors) reads: “While your three [Kli] Treachery personnel are aboard, this ship is 
attributes +2.” While remaining at Qo’noS, only the Vorn’s printed RANGE of 7 is public 
information. When that player moves from Qo’noS to Brute Force, he is using the ship's 
RANGE and is obligated to reveal the total RANGE of the ship prior to his movement. 

 
Activated abilities that modify a ship's attributes never have to be revealed unless they are 
used. For example Kor (Noble Warrior to the End) reads: “While this personnel is in an 
engagement, you may kill him to make the ship he is aboard attributes +3 until the end of the 
this turn.” The player that commands Kor does not need to reveal his presence aboard a ship 
unless he activates his game text.  

*building a deck – Each player brings to the game at least 60 cards: 

• 5 different missions, (including at least two non-headquarters missions) 
The rest of the entry does not change 

cannot / may not – Game text which specifically forbids an action cannot be overridden except 

by game text which specified what forbidding text is being overridden. 

conditional effects – If game text has a conditional, any game text beginning with “also” that 
follows will be subject to that condition unless specified otherwise. For example: “While your 
opponent has more points than you, you may spend an additional counter each turn. Also, 
your personnel are attributes +1.” Your personnel will not be attributes +1 unless your 
opponent has more points than you. 

cost reduction – Some cards have abilities that enable them to be played at a cost lower than 

their printed cost. If this cost reduction is based on information that you would normally have 
access to; such as face up cards in play, cards you command, cards in your hand, cards in a 
discard pile and cards removed from the game; then the card may be played without the full 
cost in counters available to that player. For example, Julian Bashir (Rebel Captain) reads: 
"When you play this personnel, choose an opponent. For each headquarters mission he or 
she commands, this personnel is cost -3." If your opponent commands one headquarters 
mission, you may play Julian Bashir with only three counters remaining in your Play and Draw 
Cards segment because the number of headquarters your opponent commands is information 
you can check at any time. 
 
Information that you would not normally have access to; such as face down cards an opponent 
commands, cards in an opponent's hand, cards in a deck and cards in a dilemma pile; may 
only be used for a single cost reduction ability, even if that information has not changed when 
you want to use it again. For example, Ptol reads: "When you play this personnel, reveal four 
cards from the top of an opponent's dilemma pile. This personnel is cost -1 for each dual 
dilemma revealed. Then replace them in the same order." You must have at least five 
counters remaining in your Play and Draw Cards segment to play Ptol because the top four 
dilemmas of an opponent's dilemma pile is information you would not normally have access to. 
You must have at least five counters remaining in your Play and Draw Cards segment to play 
a second copy of Ptol in the same turn because the top four dilemmas could have changed 
(even if they have not.) 

 
Any additional costs involved in the reduction must still remain paid. For example: Thompson 
reads "When you play this personnel, you may lose 5 points to make his cost -3." If you have 
zero counters remaining in your Play and Draw Cards segment, you may still play Thompson if 
you have at least 5 points and pay the cost of losing 5 points. You may also discard a 
Nucleogenic card from hand to pay this cost if you command the U.S.S. Equinox (Determined 
To Get Home), which reads "you may pay the cost of losing 5 points to use an ability on a 
[Voy] Treachery personnel you own by discarding a Nucleogenic card from hand." 

dilemmas – Some dilemmas cause more than one personnel to be selected, killed, stopped, or 
placed in a brig. A dilemma that does this will select, kill, stop, or place those personnel in a 
brig as one action, unless they are listed as separate actions. Any response actions will only 
trigger once when multiple personnel are affected by a single action during a mission attempt. 
For example: if Tragic Turn is on a mission and three personnel are selected to be killed by 
one action, only one additional personnel will be killed.  

 
A dilemma’s instructions are broken down into actions. You may use applicable game text 
(“While . . . facing a dilemma”) only before or after any of these actions, not in the middle of 
one.  For example, A Klingon Matter reads: “Unless you have . . . randomly select a personnel. 

http://www.trekcc.org/op/rulebook.pdf
http://www.trekcc.org/2e/rulings.php
http://www.trekcc.org/2e/rulings.php


 

 

If that personnel has . . . , he or she is killed, then all your other personnel are stopped and 
this dilemma returns to its owner’s dilemma pile.”  
Randomly selecting a personnel, killing that personnel, stopping all your other personnel, and 
returning this dilemma to its owner’s dilemma pile are the four actions.  
 
You can act before or after any of these actions, except for the last one, because once it is 
complete you are no longer facing the dilemma. For example, Pinned Down reads: “Randomly 
select a personnel to be stopped . . . randomly select a second personnel to be stopped . . . 
randomly select a third personnel to be stopped.” Each instruction to “randomly select a 
[personnel] to be stopped” is a set of two actions and you can act before the random selection, 
after the random selection but before the personnel is stopped, or after the personnel is 
stopped. 
 
“Instead” effects do not prevent the effect they replace; replaced effects still occurred in the 
past. Only the word “prevent” will prevent an effect from occurring in the first place. For 
example, “Stop a personnel. If that personnel has Leadership, kill him or her instead.” The 
personnel being killed “instead” does not prevent that personnel from having been previously 
stopped.  
Conditional "if you cannot" text on a dilemma is not triggered by an opponent's action during 
that dilemma which would prevent an action on that dilemma from being "performed 
completely." Only an action by the player facing the dilemma will trigger this text. For Example: 
Player A is facing Guess Who's Coming to Dinner? which reads "Choose a personnel who has 
Diplomacy or Integrity>6 to be stopped. If you cannot, randomly select a personnel to be 
killed." If Player B prevents Player A from stopping a Diplomacy personnel by killing that 
personnel with Shall We Not Revenge?, Player A will not have to randomly kill a personnel. 

exchange – When one card is exchanged for another, any effects that were about to happen to 
the original card are transferred to the replacement.  

For example: your Worf, First Officer ("While this personnel is facing a dilemma, you may ... to 
exchange a [TNG] personnel you own present with a [TNG] personnel ... from your hand.") is 
attempting a mission. A dilemma selects your [TNG] personnel present (and will later stop that 
personnel), then you decide to use Worf to exchange that personnel. The new personnel joins 
the mission attempt in progress, and is stopped as the original personnel would have been. 

infinite loops – If a player intends to perform a repeatable series of actions many times and can 
demonstrate his or her ability to do so, and that player’s opponent does not have any 
responses that would affect those actions, then that player may adjust the game state to 
reflect his or her desired and possible outcome as a result of repeating that series of actions 
any number of times. 
For example: If you have a series of actions that allows you to examine the top two cards of an 
opponent’s dilemma pile and then choose to shuffle it and that series is infinitely repeatable, 
you may state that you intend to perform those actions an infinite number of times. If your 
opponent has no response actions that would affect the loop, take your dilemma pile (setting 
aside any third copies of dilemmas) and give it to your opponent. He or she chooses two 
dilemmas, shuffles the rest (including any previously set-aside copies) and places the two 
chosen dilemmas on top of your dilemma pile. 

missions – If more than one player has played a copy of the same mission, they are treated as 
separate missions. Cards at one copy of the mission are not considered to be at any other 
copy of the mission. 
For example: If your personnel are on your copy of a planet, you may not initiate combat 
involving them and an opponent’s personnel on his or her copy of that planet.  

naming a card- When an ability requires a player to name a card title within particular criteria, 
that ability will affect only personae of the named card that meet the criteria.   For Example: A 
Few Minor Difficulties reads “When you play this event, name a non-[Voy] ship. Each player 
ignores that ship's game text.” If a player were to name the card title Olarra, he or she would 
only ignore the gametext of a non-[Voy] Olarra. 

own – Gametext that affects “personnel you own” still does so even if those personnel are 

stopped or not in play. Gametext that affects a subset of “personnel you own” still does so 
even if those personnel are stopped or not in play and is in effect even if the subset is defined 
by a characteristic of those personnel which you would normally not be allowed to use on a 
stopped personnel. 

playing a card – Below is the timing sequence for playing a card during a player’s Play and 
Draw Cards segment and response actions involving that card. 

1. Active Player (AP) examines the information available to him or her and determines that 
he or she can pay the costs to play a card in his or her hand and, if the card is to enter 
play, verifies that there is a location at which the card may do so. 

2. The AP announces his or her intention to play said card, reveals the card from his or her 
hand, and declares where it will enter play using gametext that allows the play. Any 
gametext on the card required to play it to its destination activates. 

3. The card's cost-related gametext activates. Cost-related response actions process 
beginning with the AP. 

4. AP pays all costs of playing the card. 

5. Mandatory "prevent" response actions process beginning with the AP. 

6. Optional "prevent" response actions process beginning with the AP. 

7. If the playing of the card has not been prevented, that card enters play at the location 
specified by the AP, it becomes subject to any applicable conditional effects, its non-cost-
related gametext becomes active and the AP now commands the card. 

8. Mandatory "When . . . (play/plays/played)" response actions process beginning with the 
AP. 

9. Optional "When . . . (play/plays/played)" response actions process beginning with the 
AP. 

10. Once all response actions are complete, the AP may continue his or her Play and 
Draw Cards segment. 

    Playing a card may not be the trigger for its own gametext unless specifically stated by that 
card. For Example: K’Tal, Senior Council Member reads “When you play a Chancellor or High 
Council Member at this mission, you may download an event.” You may not trigger K’Tal’s 
gametext when you play him, even though he is a High Council Member, because he does not 
specifically state “this personnel” in his ability. 

    The characteristics of a card may not be used to meet requirements of "when . . . 
(play/plays/played)" abilities on that card. For Example: Evek, Agent of Cardassian Justice 
reads “When you play this personnel, if you command six [Car] personnel, you may reveal the 
top three cards of an opponent's deck.” You may not count Evek as one of your [Car] 
personnel while his play is still being resolved. 

requirements – A mission’s printed requirements are always active unless they are “replaced”. 
 
All requirements on dilemmas and missions must be met, unless there is a condition on doing 
so. For example: Personnel attempting a mission must use their skills and attributes to 
complete the mission, unless an opponent's card has placed a cost on their use. 

response actions – Response actions triggered “when” personnel are “facing a dilemma” can 
only be used once per dilemma. 

selected – Any game text that includes the words “select” or “choose” is a selection. 

showing your cards – Any player may view any card in any discard pile or any card that has 

been removed from the game at any time. 

skills – Whenever “all skills” are added to or subtracted from a card, all levels of those skills are 
added or subtracted 

 A personnel "uses" one of his or her skills: 
• When meeting a mission or dilemma requirement, or 
• When you use game text on one of your cards that references that skill. This includes, but is 
not limited to, referencing a skill to satisfy a play requirement, gaining a skill that a personnel 
already has or gaining a skill from another personnel. 
The rest of the entry does not change. 

species – When a card becomes a different species, it loses its previous species. 

winning the game – A player wins the game when he or she:  
• has 100 points (or more);  
• commands at least one completed planet mission; and  
• commands at least one completed space mission.  
The game ends immediately when all three of these conditions are simultaneously met. (The 
active player does not finish the rest of his or her turn.) 
The rest of the entry does not change)

 


