
 
 

Current Rulings Document 

(3 August 2009) 
Current Rulings are periodic updates to the Second Edition Rulebook, including changes, 
clarifications, and situations it does not address. Current Rulings are an official 
supplement to the Rulebook and should be used by tournament directors in making 
tournament rulings. 

Answers given by official Continuing Committee representatives are not official until 
included in an official rules document such as the Current Rulings or Official Clarifications. 
Such answers are highly recommended for use by tournament directors, but the 
Tournament Director always has the final authority on rulings. 

This document contains all Current Rulings issued since the Rulebook v3. Entries that are 
new, changed, or expanded since the last Current Rulings document are marked with an 
asterisk (*) before the topic. These rulings are effective immediately. 

This document is divided into three sections. The first section covers general rulings, the 
second section covers card-specific rulings and the third section lists cards that have 
received errata.

RULINGS – General  

attempting missions – Below is the timing for mission attempts and response actions involving them. 

1. Active player (AP) begins a mission attempt by announcing where and by what means (normal or 
game text) and showing required personnel. 

a. "When . . . begins a mission attempt" triggers process. 

b. AP counts personnel attempting, counts the dilemmas under the mission, and 
announces the difference. 

2. Draw Dilemmas 

a. "When . . . about to draw dilemmas" triggers process. 

b. Opponent (OP) draws dilemmas from his or her dilemma pile equal to the number 
announced (plus or minus any modifiers, minimum 0). 

c. "When . . . drawn dilemmas" triggers process. 

d. OP selects any number (0 or more) of dilemmas from those drawn, uses them to 
form the dilemma stack, and places the rest face up on the bottom of the dilemma 
pile. 

e. "When . . . (choose/chosen) dilemmas" triggers process. 

3. Facing Dilemmas 

a. "When . . . dilemma . . . about to (be) reveal(ed)" triggers process. 

b. OP reveals the top card of the dilemma stack to AP. 

c. "When . . . reveal" triggers process. 

d. Cost-related response actions and cost-modifying dilemma gametext process. 

e. Check dilemma for duplication, type, and cost. If it fails any of these, it is overcome. 
Otherwise, the dilemma’s cost is deducted from the total allowed. 

f. "When . . . about to face . . . dilemma" triggers process. 

g. "(When/While) . . . (face/facing) . . . dilemma" triggers and “(When/While) . . . is 
attempting a mission” triggers process and may be used at any time until dilemma 
is overcome or placed somewhere. 

h. Process the dilemma’s non-cost-related gametext, one action at a time. 

4. Overcoming Dilemmas 

a. After all of a dilemma is processed, if the AP has not been instructed to place it 
somewhere, it is overcome. 

b. If all personnel involved in the mission attempt have been removed, stopped, or 
killed, all remaining dilemmas in the dilemma stack are overcome. 

c. Otherwise, if there are any remaining dilemmas in the dilemma stack, repeat the 
process beginning at "Facing Dilemmas". 

5. Once the dilemma stack is empty and no response actions adding dilemmas are used, it is time to 
complete the mission with the remaining unstopped personnel. 

a. “(When/While) . . . is attempting a mission” triggers process and may be used until 
the end of the mission attempt. 

b. AP shows all requirements needed to complete the mission. If he or she cannot, all 
of the personnel involved are stopped and all “When . . . fail a mission attempt” 
triggers and “When . . . mission attempt fails” triggers process. 

c. If the AP does show all requirements, all “When . . . about to complete” triggers 
process, then the AP scores the points on the mission (or points in game text used 
to attempt and complete the mission, then “When . . . complete” triggers process. 

dilemmas  – Some dilemmas cause more than one personnel to be selected, killed, stopped, or placed in a 
brig. A dilemma that does this will select, kill, stop, or place those personnel in a brig as one action, unless 
they are listed as separate actions. Any response actions will only trigger once when multiple personnel are 
affected by a single action during a mission attempt. 
For example: if Tragic Turn is on a mission and three personnel are selected to be killed by one action, only 
one additional personnel will be killed.  

*missions – If more than one player has played a copy of the same mission, they are treated as separate 
missions. Cards at one copy of the mission are not considered to be at any other copy of the mission. 
For example: If your personnel are on your copy of a planet, you may not initiate combat involving them and 
an opponent’s personnel on his or her copy of that planet. 

requirements – A mission’s printed requirements are always active unless they are “replaced”. 
 
All requirements on dilemmas and missions must be met, unless there is a condition on doing so. For 
example: Personnel attempting a mission must use their skills and attributes to complete the mission, unless 
an opponent's card has placed a cost on their use. 

response actions – Response actions triggered “when” personnel are “facing a dilemma” can only be used 
once per dilemma. 

showing your cards – Any player may view any card in any discard pile or any card that has been removed 
from the game at any time. 

skills – Whenever “all skills” are added to or subtracted from a card, all levels of those skills are added or 
subtracted 

winning the game – A player wins the game when he or she:  
• has 100 points (or more);  
• commands at least one completed planet mission; and  
• commands at least one completed space mission.  
The game ends immediately when all three of these conditions are simultaneously met. (The active player 
does not finish the rest of his or her turn.) 
The rest of the entry does not change.



 

RULINGS – Cards 

 

A Klingon Matter – Whether or not a personnel is killed, if you do not meet the requirements, all of your 
other personnel are stopped. 

Bio-neural Computer Core – That opponent only takes command of the personnel that are placed on his or 
her headquarters mission. 

Crowd Control – This event can affect the cost of only a single personnel each turn. 

For the Cause – This event event does not allow a player to attempt an opponent’s mission. 

Jadzia Dax, Problem Solver  – This personnel does not prevent an event from being destroyed. If her ability 
is used, it changes where the event is placed as a result of being destroyed or discarded. 

James T. Kirk, Original Thinker  – This ruling has been retracted. 

Kira Nerys, Resourceful Prisoner – This personnel cannot remove herself from the game to place herself on 
a headquarters mission. 

Nothing That Happens Is Truly Random – When you play this event, if you have more than one opponent, 
you choose which opponent will choose one of the revealed cards to be discarded. 

Psychokinetic Control – Abilities on personnel that increase their attributes and are continuously activated 
before Psychokinetic Control is revealed will not be turned off by this dilemma. They will be unable to 
increase a personnel’s attributes any further. If their effect decreases, they cannot increase again. 

Quantum Filament – Quantum Filament’s effect is suspended until it is verified that the dilemma that is 
about to be faced can actually be faced. Then Quantum Filament’s effect happens before any effects from the 
revealed dilemma happen. 

Rule of Acquisition #76 – This card can only return Rule cards that are in play to their owner's hand. 

ERRATA
Altovar, Vindictive Criminal – Erratum:  

Thief. Order - Return this personnel to his owner's hand to return an opponent's Medical personnel present to 
his or her owner's hand. 

Analyze – Erratum:  
When an opponent’s dilemma that your  personnel is facing is about to be returned to its owner’s 
dilemma pile, overcome that dilemma instead. 

At An Impasse – Erratum: 
At the end of the opponent on your right’s turn, remove this event from the game. 

Avert Solar Implosion – Erratum: 
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold. 

Bio-neural Computer Core – Erratum: 
If your opponent does not command that personnel and you still have nine personnel remaining, place him 
or her on your opponent’s headquarters mission instead, then randomly select a second personnel that your 
opponent does not command to be placed on your opponent’s headquarters mission. 

Bustling With Activity – Erratum: 
When you play a personnel at Mouth of the Wormhole, each player may discard a card from hand to 
download a personnel of the same affiliation as the played personnel. 

Cascade Virus – Erratum: 
To play this interrupt you must command Athos IV and three  personnel. When an opponent is about to 
play a non-unique personnel or a personnel who costs 2 or less, prevent that and place the personnel in its 
owner's discard pile. 

Charles Tucker, III, Standing In – Erratum: 
This card’s title is Charles Tucker III. 

Cluttering Irrelevancies – Erratum: 
When your Hologram is facing a dilemma, name a skill. That Hologram gains that skill and is attributes +2 
until the end of that dilemma. At the end of this mission attempt, return that Hologram to its owner’s hand. 

Deanna Troi, Guide and Conscience – Erratum: 
When an opponent discards, examines, or reveals a card in your hand or deck, you may draw a card. You 
may do this only once each turn. 

Delegated Assignment – Erratum: 
When one of your unique  personnel is about to be stopped by a dilemma, stop two of your personnel 
present to make that  personnel attributes +2 until the end of turn instead. 

Deliver Ancient Artifact – Erratum: 
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold. 

Deliver Evidence – Erratum: 
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold. 

Explore Black Cluster – Erratum: 
Astrometrics, Leadership, Physics, Science, and Cunning>34  

Feldomite Rush – Erratum: 
Engineer, Geology, Cunning>28, and (Acquisition or Law or 2 Treachery) 

Find Lifeless World – Erratum: 
This mission’s Order is replaced with: At the start of each of your turns, you may discard six cards from hand 
to draw five cards. 

Gal Gath’thong, Pride of the Praetor – Erratum: 
Cloaking Device. To play this ship, you must command two  personnel. When you move this ship from 
an opponent’s mission, if this ship’s Commander is aboard, that opponent must discard two cards from hand 
(limit two cards per turn). 

Ghost Stories – Erratum: 
Plays in your core. When you play this event, name a non-dual dilemma. Your copies of that dilemma have: 
Persistent. (When your personnel complete this mission, this dilemma's owner may discard a non-personnel 
card from hand to return this dilemma to his or her dilemma pile.) 

Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner – Erratum: 
Choose a personnel who has Diplomacy or Integrity>6 to be stopped. If you cannot, randomly select a 
personnel to be killed 

Investigate Massacre – Erratum: 
Diplomacy, 2 Science, and Cunning>28 

Ixtana’Rax, Honored Elder – Erratum: 
When this personnel uses one of his skills to complete a mission, he is killed.  

Jake Sisko, Temporal Anchor – Erratum: 
Replace his  icon with a  icon. 

James T. Kirk, Original Thinker – Erratum: 
Admiral. Commander: U.S.S. Enterprise. When a dilemma is about to be revealed, if this personnel is 
attempting a mission, you may return him to his owner’s hand to prevent and overcome that dilemma.  

Jean-Luc Picard, Bearer of Ill Tidings – Erratum: 
Dissident. When this personnel is present with your Dissident and a dilemma is about to be revealed, you 
may lose 5 points to shuffle your opponent's dilemma stack. 

Krajensky Founder, Adversary – Erratum: 
Founder. Infiltrator. Shape-shifter. When personnel the opponent on your right commands attempt this 
mission, if this mission has two or more dilemmas overcome beneath it, you may draw two extra dilemmas 
and spend two extra in total cost on dilemmas. 

Kressari Rendevous – Erratum: 
This card’s title is Kressari Rendezvous. 

Kruge, Instinctive Commander – Erratum: 
Commander: I.K.S. Qel’Poh. When you win an engagement involving this personnel and there are four or 
less personnel aboard an opponent’s ship involved, you may remove a damage event from that ship to place 
those personnel in your brig. You now command that ship (it is now a  ship). 

Locutus, Voice of the Borg – Erratum: 
Commander: Locutus’ Borg Cube. While this personnel is facing a dilemma, if he uses his Diplomacy, 
Leadership, Officer, or Treachery to meet its requirements, score 10 points. 

Lyndsay Ballard, Back From the Dead – Erratum: 
"Physics" is misspelled as "Pysics" on this card. 

Machinations – Erratum: 
Temporal. Plays in your core. When you have drawn dilemmas, you may remove this event and those 
dilemmas from the game to search your dilemma pile and choose a dilemma that costs no more than the 
number of dilemmas you removed. Shuffle and replace your dilemma pile face down. Place the chosen 
dilemma on the top of your dilemma stack. 

Outclassed – Erratum: 
Unless you have unused Range>8 or Weapons>8 all your personnel are stopped. 

Party Atmosphere – Erratum: 
This event is now unique. 

Preeminent Precision – Erratum: 
Order - Stop your  Engineer aboard your ship to make that ship Range +2 until the end of this turn. 

Quarantine – Erratum: 
Decay: 5. (When there are five cards on this event, destroy it.) Q. Plays in your core. When your dilemma is 
about to be overcome, place it on this event instead. When you lose command of this event, the player on 
your right places all dilemmas here face up beneath his or her mission. 

Rebuilding the Fleet – Erratum: 
To play this interrupt, you must command a personnel with 2 Engineer or a personnel with 2 Medical.  
Order - Each player counts the number of ships that cost 6 or more in his or her discard pile. Then each 
player shuffles each personnel and ship from his or her discard pile into his or her deck and draws cards 
equal to the number of ships counted (limit 6). 

Rekar, Tool of the Tal’Shiar – Erratum: 
Commander: U.S.S. Prometheus. When you play this personnel, if you command an Intelligence personnel, 
he is cost -1. When this personnel attempts a non-  mission and your  personnel who has a cost of 4 or 
more is present, subtract one from the number of dilemmas your opponent can draw. 

Running a Tight Ship – Erratum: 
This event is now unique.  

T’Pol, Dutiful Commander – Erratum: 
This personnel’s Integrity is 3. 



T’pol, Non-believer – Erratum: 
This card’s title is T’Pol. 

Tampering With Time – Erratum: 
Temporal. Plays in your core. At the start of each of your turns, you may choose one: stop one of your  

 personnel to examine the top three cards of an opponent’s dilemma pile; or stop one of your 
 personnel to examine the bottom three cards of an opponent’s dilemma pile. Place those cards on the top 

and/or bottom of that dilemma pile in any order. 

The Edge of Forever – Erratum: 
Order - Lose 5 points to choose one: download a  card that could be played at your headquarters mission 
and place it there; or take a  card from your discard pile that could be played at your headquarters 
mission and place it there. Destroy this event. 

Thon – Erratum: 
Order - If you do not command a completed space mission, discard a random card from your hand to place 
your ship this personnel is aboard at your incomplete space mission. You may do this only once each turn. 

Tides of Fortune – Erratum: 
When your non-Consume space dilemma is revealed from your dilemma stack, if your staffed  ship is at 
that mission, that ship and your personnel aboard it face that dilemma instead. Score 10 points. 

Transport Delegations – Erratum: 
"Anthropology" is misspelled as "Anthropolgy" on this card. 

Up the Ante – Erratum: 
You may end this mission attempt to prevent and overcome this dilemma (all your personnel are stopped). If 
you do not and you complete this mission this turn, you win the game. If you do not and do not complete this 
mission this turn, you lose the game. 

U.S.S. Defiant, Stolen Warship – Erratum: 
This ship has Weapons of 10. 

Vacation from the Continuum – Erratum: 
Q. To play this event, you must command a Q event. Plays in your core. When a personnel that the player on 
your right commands begins a mission attempt, you may destroy your other Q event to draw five extra 
dilemmas. 

Vedek Assembly – Erratum: 
For each Vedek you command, take a card from your discard pile and place it on the bottom of your deck. 
Remove this event from the game. 


