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RULINGS - General
attempting missions — Below is the timing for mission attempts and response actions involving them.

1. Adive player (AP) begins a mission attempt by announcing where and by what means (normal or
game text) and showing required personnel.

a.  "When ... begins a mission attempt" triggers process.

b. AP counts personnel aitempting, counts the dilemmas under the mission, and
announces the difference (min 0).

2. Draw Dilemmas

a.  "When ... about to draw dilemmas" triggers process.
b.  Opponent (OP) draws that number of dilemmas from their dilemma pile.
¢ "When...drawn dilemmas" triggers process.

d.  OP selects any number (0 or more) of dilemmas from those drawn, uses them to
form the dilemma stack, and places the rest face up on the bottom of the dilemma

pile.
e.  "When ... (choose/chosen) dilemmas" triggers process.
3. Facng Dilemmas
a.  "When...dilemma. .. about fo (be) reveal(ed)" triggers process.
b.  OP reveals the top card of the dilemma stack to AP.
¢ "When ... reveal" friggers process.

d.  Cost-related response actions and cost-modifying dilemma gametext process.

e.  Check dilemma for duplication, type, and cost. If it fails any of these, it is overcome.
Otherwise, the dilemma’s cost is deducted from the total allowed.

f. "When ... about fo face . .. dilemma" triggers process.

g.  "(When/While) . . . (face/facing) . . . dilemma" triggers and “(When/While) . . . is
attempting a mission” triggers process and may be used at any time until dilemma
is overcome or placed somewhere.

h.  Process the dilemma’s non-cost-related gametext, one action at a fime.

4. Overcoming Dilemmas

a.  After all of a dilemma is processed, if the AP has not been instructed fo place it
somewhere, it is overcome.

b.  If all personnel involved in the mission attempt have been removed, stopped, or
killed, all remaining dilemmas in the dilemma stack are overcome.

¢ Otherwise, if there are any remaining dilemmas in the dilemma stack, repeat the
process beginning at "Facing Dilemmas".

5. Once the dilemma stack is empty and no response actions adding dilemmas are used, it is time to
complete the mission with the remaining unstopped personnel.

a.  “(When/While) . . . is attempting a mission” triggers process and may be used until
the end of the mission attempt.

b. AP shows all requirements needed to complete the mission. If he or she cannot, all
of the personnel involved are stopped and all “When . . . fail a mission attempt”
triggers and “When . . . mission attempt fails” triggers process.

¢ If the AP does show all requirements, all “When . . . about to complete” triggers
process, then the AP scores the points on the mission (or points in game text used
to attempt and complete the mission, then “When . . . complete” triggers process.
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Current Rulings are periodic updates to the Second Edition Rulebook, including changes,
clarifications, and situations it does not address. Current Rulings are an official
supplement to the Rulebook and should be used by tournament directors in making
tournament rulings.

Answers given by official Continuing Committee representatives are not official until
included in an official rules document such as the Current Rulings or Official Clarifications.
Such answers are highly recommended for use by tournament directors, but the
Tournament Director always has the final authority on rulings.

This document contains all Current Rulings issued since the Rulebook v3. Entries that are
new, changed, or expanded since the last Current Rulings document are marked with an
asterisk (*) before the topic. These rulings are effective immediately.

This document is divided into three sections. The first section covers general rulings, the
second section covers card-specific rulings and the third section lists cards that have
received errata.

location — Events and dilemmas located at one copy of a mission do not affect cards located at another copy of
the same mission. However, personnel, ships, and equipment at one copy of a mission are considered to be at
the same mission as personnel, ships, and equipment at another copy of that mission.

requirements — A mission's printed requirements are always active unless they are “replaced”.

All requirements on dilemmas and missions must be met, unless there is a condition on doing so. For
example: Personnel attempting a mission must use their skills and attributes fo complete the mission, unless
an opponent’s card has placed a cost on their use.

response actions — Response actions triggered “when” personnel are “facing a dilemma” can only be used
once per dilemma.

showing your cards — Any player may view any card in any discard pile or any card that has been removed
from the game at any time.

skills — Whenever “all skills” are added to or subtracted from a card, all levels of those skills are added or
subtracted
*winning the game — A player wins the game when he or she:
- has 100 points (or more);
- commands at least one completed planet mission; and
- commands at least one completed space mission.
The game ends immediately when all three of these conditions are simultaneously met. (The active player
does not finish the rest of his or her turn.)
The rest of the entry does not change.
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RULINGS - Cards

A Klingon Matter — Whether or not a personnel is killed, if you do not meet the requirements, all of your
other personnel are stopped.

Bio-neural Computer Core — That opponent only takes command of the personnel that are placed on his or
her headquarters mission.

Crowd Control — This event can affect the cost of only a single personnel each turn.
For the Cause — This event event does not allow a player to attempt an opponent’s mission.

Jadzia Dax, Problem Solver — This personnel does not prevent an event from being destroyed. If her ability
is used, it changes where the event is placed as a result of being destroyed or discarded.

James T. Kirk, Original Thinker — This ruling has been retracted.

Kira Nerys, Resourceful Prisoner — This personnel cannot remove herself from the game to place herself on
a headquarters mission.

Nothing That Happens Is Truly Random — When you play this event, if you have more than one opponent,
you choose which opponent will choose one of the revealed cards to be discarded.

Psychokinetic Control — Abilities on personnel that increase their aftributes and are continuously adtivated
before Psychokinetic Control is revealed will not be turned off by this dilemma. They will be unable to
increase a personnel’s attributes any further. If their effect decreases, they cannot increase again.

Quantum Filament — Quantum Filament's effect is suspended until it is verified that the dilemma that is
about fo be faced can actually be faced. Then Quantum Filament's effect happens before any effects from the
revealed dilemma happen.

Rule of Acquisition #76 — This card can only return Rule cards that are in play to their owner’s hand.
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ERRATA

Altovar, Vindictive Criminal = Erratum:
Thief. Order - Return this personnel to his owner’s hand to return an opponent's Medical personnel present to
his or her owner's hand.

Analyze - Erratum: i
When an opponent’s dilemma that your @ personnel is facing is about to be returned fo its owner's
dilemma pile, overcome that dilemma instead.

At An Impasse — Erratum:
At the end of the opponent on your right's turn, remove this event from the game.

Avert Solar Implosion — Erratum:
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold.

Bio-neural Computer Core — Erratum:
If your opponent does not command that personnel and you still have nine personnel remaining, place him
or her on your opponent's headquarters mission instead, then randomly select a second personnel that your
opponent does not command to be placed on your opponent’s headquarters mission.

Bustling With Activity — Erratum:
When you play a personnel at Mouth of the Wormhole, each player may discard a card from hand to
download a personnel of the same dffiliation as the played personnel.

Cascade Virus — Erratum:
To play this interrupt you must command Athos IV and three @ personnel. When an opponent is about to
play a non-unique personnel or a personnel who costs 2 or less, prevent that and place the personnel in its
owner's discard pile.

Charles Tucker, 111, Standing In — Erratum:
This card's title is Charles Tucker IlI.

Cluttering Irrelevancies — Erratum:
When your Hologram is facing a dilemma, name a skill. That Hologram gains that skill and is attributes +2
until the end of that dilemma. At the end of this mission attempt, return that Hologram fo its owner's hand.

Deanna Troi, Guide and Conscience — Erratum:
When an opponent discards, examines, or reveals a card in your hand or deck, you may draw a card. You
may do this only once each furn.

Delegated Assignment — Erratum:
When one of your unique @ personnel is about to be stopped by a dilemma, siop two of your personnel
present to make that @ personnel attributes + 2 until the end of turn instead.

Deliver Ancient Artifact — Erratum:
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold.

Deliver Evidence — Erratum:
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold.

Explore Black Cluster — Erratum:
Astrometrics, Leadership, Physics, Science, and Cunning >34

Feldomite Rush — Erratum:
Engineer, Geology, Cunning > 28, and (Acquisition or Law or 2 Treachery)

Gal Gath'thong, Pride of the Praetor — Erratum: _
(loaking Device. To play this ship, you must command two ‘@@ personnel. When you move this ship from
an opponent’s mission, if this ship’s Commander is aboard, that opponent must discard two cards from hand
(limit two cards per turn).

Ghost Stories — Erratum:
Plays in your core. When you play this event, name a non-dual dilemma. Your copies of that dilemma have:
Persistent. (When your personnel complete this mission, this dilemma’s owner may discard a non-personnel
card from hand to return this dilemma to his or her dilemma pile.)

Guess Who's Coming to Dinner — Erratum:
Choose a personnel who has Diplomacy or Integrity>6 to be stopped. If you cannot, randomly select a
personnel to be killed

Investigate Massacre — Erratum:
Diplomacy, 2 Science, and Cunning>28

Ixtana’Rax, Honored Elder — Erratum:
When this personnel uses one of his skills to complete a mission, he is killed.

Jake Sisko, Temporal Anchor — Erratum:
Replace his @ icon with o @ icon.

James T. Kirk, Original Thinker — Erratum:
Admiral. Commander: U.S.S. Enterprise. When a dilemma is about to be revealed, if this personnel is
attempting a mission, you may return him to his owner's hand to prevent and overcome that dilemma.

Jean-Luc Picard, Bearer of lll Tidings — Erratum:

Dissident. When this personnel is present with your Dissident and a dilemma is about fo be revealed, you
may lose 5 points to shuffle your opponent's dilemma stack.

Krajensky Founder, Adversary — Erratum:
Founder. Infiltrator. Shape-shifter. When personnel the opponent on your right commands attempt this
mission, if this mission has two or more dilemmas overcome beneath it, you may draw two extra dilemmas
and spend two extra in total cost on dilemmas.

Kressari Rendevous — Erratum:
This card’s title is Kressari Rendezvous.

Kruge, Instinctive Commander — Erratum:
Commander: .K.S. Qel’Poh. When you win an engagement involving this personnel and there are four or
less personnel aboard an opponent’s ship involved, you may remove a damage event from that ship to place
those personnel in your brig. You now command that ship (it is now a @ ship).

Locutus, Voice of the Borg — Erratum:
Commander: Locutus’ Borg Cube. While this personnel is facing a dilemma, if he uses his Diplomacy,
Leadership, Officer, or Treachery to meet its requirements, score 10 points.

Lyndsay Ballard, Back From the Dead — Erratum:
"Physics" is misspelled as "Pysics" on this card.

Machinations — Erratum:
Temporal. Plays in your core. When you have drawn dilemmas, you may remove this event and those
dilemmas from the game to search your dilemma pile and choose a dilemma that costs no more than the
number of dilemmas you removed. Shuffle and replace your dilemma pile face down. Place the chosen
dilemma on the top of your dilemma stack.

Outclassed — Erratum:
Unless you have unused Range>8 or Weapons>8 all your personnel are stopped.

Party Atmosphere — Erratum:
This event is now unique.

Preeminent Precision — Erratum:
Order - Stop your @ Engineer aboard your ship to make that ship Range +2 until the end of this turn.

Quarantine - Erratum:
Decay: 5. (When there are five cards on this event, destroy it.) Q. Plays in your core. When your dilemma is
about to be overcome, place it on this event instead. When you lose command of this event, the player on
your right places all dilemmas here face up beneath his or her mission.

Rekar, Tool of the Tal’Shiar — Erratum:
Commander: U.S.S. Prometheus. When you play this personnel, if you command an Intelligence personnel,
he is cost -1. When this personnel attempts a non- @ mission and your ‘@ personnel who has a cost of 4 or
more is present, subtract one from the number of dilemmas your opponent can draw.

Running a Tight Ship — Erratum:
This event is now unique.

T'pol, Non-believer — Erratum:
This card's title is T'Pol.

Tampering With Time — Erratum:
Temporal. Plays in your core. At the start of each of your turns, you may choose one: stop one of your
@ personnel to examine the top three cards of an opponent's dilemma pile; or stop one of your
‘® personnel to examine the bottom three cards of an opponent’s dilemma pile. Place those cards on the top
and/or bottom of that dilemma pile in any order.

The Edge of Forever — Erratum:
Order - Lose 5 points to choose one: download a @ card that could be played at your headquarters mission
and place it there; or take o ® card from your discard pile that could be played at your headquarters
mission and place it there. Destroy this event.



Thon — Erratum:
Order - If you do not command a completed space mission, discard a random card from your hand to place
your ship this personnel is aboard at your incomplete space mission. You may do this only once each turn.

Tides of Fortune — Erratum: _
When your non-Consume space dilemma is revealed from your dilemma stack, if your staffed @ ship is of
that mission, that ship and your personnel aboard it face that dilemma instead. Score 10 points.

Transport Delegations — Erratum:
"Anthropology" is misspelled as "Anthropolgy" on this card.

Up the Ante — Erratum:
You may end this mission attempt to prevent and overcome this dilemma (all your personnel are stopped). If
you do not and you complete this mission this turn, you win the game. If you do not and do not complete this
mission this turn, you lose the game.

U.S.S. Defiant, Stolen Warship — Erratum:
This ship has Weapons of 10.

*Vacation from the Continuum — Erratum:
Q. To play this event, you must command a Q event. Plays in your core. When a personnel that the player on

your right commands begins a mission attempt, you may destroy your other Q event to draw five extra
dilemmas.

Vedek Assembly — Erratum:
For each Vedek you command, take a card from your discard pile and place it on the bottom of your deck.
Remove this event from the game.



