
 
 

Current Rulings Document 

(7 March 2011) 
Current Rulings are periodic updates to the Second Edition Rulebook, including changes, 
clarifications, and situations it does not address. Current Rulings are an official 
supplement to the Rulebook and should be used by tournament directors in making 
tournament rulings. 

Answers given by official Continuing Committee representatives are not official until 
included in an official rules document such as the Current Rulings, Official Clarifications, 
or Official Rulings. Such answers are highly recommended for use by tournament 
directors, but the Tournament Director always has the final authority on rulings. 

This document contains all general rulings issued since the Rulebook v3 and all card-
specific rulings issued since the previous CRD. Entries that are new, changed, or 
expanded since the last Current Rulings document are marked with an asterisk (*) before 
the topic. These rulings are effective immediately. 

This document is divided into two sections. The first section covers general rulings and 
the second section lists cards that have received errata.

General  

abilities – Personnel may have one or more abilities. Each keyword is an ability. Other abilities may be 
denoted by the words “when” or “Order”. They may also create a continuous effect with or without a 
condition. Skills are not abilities. 

attempting missions – Below is the timing for mission attempts and response actions involving them. 

1. Active player (AP) begins a mission attempt 

a. AP announces where and by what means (normal or game text), showing required 
personnel, and announcing the difference between the number of personnel 
involved in the attempt and the number of dilemmas underneath the mission. 

b. "When . . . begins a mission attempt" triggers process. 

2. Draw Dilemmas 

a. "When . . . about to draw dilemmas" triggers process. 

b. Opponent (OP) draws dilemmas from his or her dilemma pile equal to the number 
announced (plus or minus any modifiers, minimum 0). 

c. "When . . . drawn dilemmas" triggers process. 

d. OP selects any number (0 or more) of dilemmas from those drawn, uses them to 
form the dilemma stack, and places the rest face up on the bottom of the dilemma 
pile. 

e. "When . . . (choose/chosen) dilemmas" triggers process. 

3. Facing Dilemmas 

a. If there are no personnel still involved in the mission attempt, all remaining 
dilemmas in the dilemma stack are overcome. 

b. "When . . . dilemma . . . about to (be) reveal(ed)" triggers process. 

c. OP reveals the top card of the dilemma stack to AP. 

d. "When . . . reveal" triggers process. 

e. Cost-related response actions and cost-modifying dilemma gametext process. 

f. Check dilemma for duplication, type, and cost. If it fails any of these, it is overcome. 
Otherwise, the dilemma’s cost is deducted from the total allowed. 

g. "When . . . about to face . . . dilemma" triggers process. 

h. "(When/While) . . . (face/facing) . . . dilemma" triggers and “(When/While) . . . is 
attempting a mission” triggers process and may be used at any time until dilemma 
is overcome or placed somewhere. 

i. Process the dilemma’s non-cost-related gametext, one action at a time. 

4. Overcoming Dilemmas 

a. After all of a dilemma is processed, if the AP has not been instructed to place it 
somewhere, it is overcome. 

b. Repeat the process beginning at "Facing Dilemmas". 

5. Once the dilemma stack is empty and no response actions adding dilemmas are used, it is time to 
complete the mission with the remaining unstopped personnel. 

a. “(When/While) . . . is attempting a mission” triggers process and may be used until 
the end of the mission attempt. 

b. “(When/While) . . . checking . . . mission requirements” triggers process and may 
be used until the end of the mission attempt. 

c. AP shows all requirements needed to complete the mission. If he or she cannot, all 
of the personnel involved are stopped and all “When . . . fail a mission attempt” 
triggers and “When . . . mission attempt fails” triggers process. 

d. If the AP does show all requirements, all “When . . . about to complete” triggers 
process, then the AP scores the points on the mission (or points in game text used 
to attempt and complete the mission, then “When . . . complete” triggers process. If 
the mission requirements change at any point during part 5, return to the 
beginning of part 5. 

cannot / may not – Game text which specifically forbids an action cannot be overridden except by game text 
which specified what forbidding text is being overridden. 

*conditional effects – If game text has a conditional, any game text beginning with “also” that follows will 
be subject to that condition unless specified otherwise. For example: “While your opponent has more points 
than you, you may spend an additional counter each turn. Also, your personnel are attributes +1.” Your 
personnel will not be attributes +1 unless your opponent has more points than you. 

dilemmas – Some dilemmas cause more than one personnel to be selected, killed, stopped, or placed in a 
brig. A dilemma that does this will select, kill, stop, or place those personnel in a brig as one action, unless 
they are listed as separate actions. Any response actions will only trigger once when multiple personnel are 
affected by a single action during a mission attempt. 
For example: if Tragic Turn is on a mission and three personnel are selected to be killed by one action, only 
one additional personnel will be killed.  
A dilemma’s instructions are broken down into actions. You may use applicable game text (“While . . . facing 
a dilemma”) only before or after any of these actions, not in the middle of one.  
For example, A Klingon Matter reads: “Unless you have . . . randomly select a personnel. If that personnel 
has . . . , he or she is killed, then all your other personnel are stopped and this dilemma returns to its owner's 
dilemma pile.”  
Randomly selecting a personnel, killing that personnel, stopping all your other personnel, and returning this 
dilemma to its owner’s dilemma pile are the four actions. You can act before or after any of these actions, 
except for the last one, because once it is complete you are no longer facing the dilemma. 
For example, Pinned Down reads: “Randomly select a personnel to be stopped . . . randomly select a second 
personnel to be stopped . . . randomly select a third personnel to be stopped.” Each instruction to “randomly 
select a [personnel] to be stopped” is a set of two actions and you can act before the random selection, after 
the random selection but before the personnel is stopped, or after the personnel is stopped. 

infinite loops – If a player intends to perform a repeatable series of actions many times and can demonstrate 
his or her ability to do so, and that player’s opponent does not have any responses that would affect those 
actions, then that player may adjust the game state to reflect his or her desired and possible outcome as a 
result of repeating that series of actions any number of times. 
For example: If you have a series of actions that allows you to examine the top two cards of an opponent’s 
dilemma pile and then choose to shuffle it and that series is infinitely repeatable, you may state that you 
intend to perform those actions an infinite number of times. If your opponent has no response actions that 
would affect the loop, take your dilemma pile (setting aside any third copies of dilemmas) and give it to your 
opponent. He or she chooses two dilemmas, shuffles the rest (including any previously set-aside copies) and 
places the two chosen dilemmas on top of your dilemma pile. 

missions – If more than one player has played a copy of the same mission, they are treated as separate 
missions. Cards at one copy of the mission are not considered to be at any other copy of the mission. 
For example: If your personnel are on your copy of a planet, you may not initiate combat involving them and 
an opponent’s personnel on his or her copy of that planet. 

own – Gametext that affects “personnel you own” still does so even if those personnel are stopped or not in 
play. Gametext that affects a subset of “personnel you own” still does so even if those personnel are stopped 
or not in play and is in effect even if the subset is defined by a characteristic of those personnel which you 
would normally not be allowed to use on a stopped personnel. 

requirements – A mission’s printed requirements are always active unless they are “replaced”. 
 
All requirements on dilemmas and missions must be met, unless there is a condition on doing so. For 
example: Personnel attempting a mission must use their skills and attributes to complete the mission, unless 
an opponent's card has placed a cost on their use. 

response actions – Response actions triggered “when” personnel are “facing a dilemma” can only be used 
once per dilemma. 

selected – Any game text that includes the words “select” or “choose” is a selection. 

showing your cards – Any player may view any card in any discard pile or any card that has been removed 
from the game at any time. 

skills – Whenever “all skills” are added to or subtracted from a card, all levels of those skills are added or 
subtracted 

winning the game – A player wins the game when he or she:  
• has 100 points (or more);  
• commands at least one completed planet mission; and  
• commands at least one completed space mission.  
The game ends immediately when all three of these conditions are simultaneously met. (The active player 
does not finish the rest of his or her turn.) 
The rest of the entry does not change.



 

Card-Specific 
Rulings which are card-specific will appear in the CRD for two months. They will also be added to the rulings visible next to the card(s) affected by the ruling on the 
Continuing Committee website. Those rulings can be followed at http://www.trekcc.org/2e/feed.xml 

 
*Klingon Tea Ceremony – Clarification: 

If a single action downloads multiple cards simultaneously, it will trigger KTC. There are two possible 
scenarios. 

1) A card has not yet been downloaded by that player this turn prior to the multi-download. 

In this scenario, since all of those downloads are simultaneous (as all single-action, multiple target 
effects are), then KTC will not be able to affect any of them as, at the time they are downloaded, no 
other card has yet been downloaded. 

2) A card has been downloaded by that player this turn prior to the multi-download. 

In this scenario, all cards downloaded are affected by KTC. 

*Kira Nerys, Iliana Ghemor – Clarification: 
This personnel's ability only allows you to place all downloaded personnel at "a" headquarters mission to 
which "they" could be played. If there is no single headquarters mission where all downloaded personnel 
could be played, you may not place any of them at any headquarters mission. 

http://www.trekcc.org/2e/feed.xml

