
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(7 May 2024) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the RRD, as long as 

they have the most recent posted copy of those core documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the core documents. (Old RRDs 

are archived unofficially at the Starship Excelsior Rules Archive while we work 

on a permanent on-site solution.) 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. [[Double square brackets]] indicate card links. 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 

Assimilate Species – 

 

New entry: 
 
Since no one in the crew or Away Team may mortally wound, they 
may not select a casualty if they win the battle. 
Compare Holographic Safety Protocols. 

 
In response to a public question. 

 

 

first-listed skill – 

 

Strike out text as follows: 
 

Most skills are preceded by a red  icon. However, the number of 
skills a personnel has is not necessarily the same as the number of 
skill dots on the Personnel card. Skill dots are not gained or lost 
when skills are added or removed by a card;, Juliana Tainer has four 
regular skills and one special skill, but only two skill dots; and 
special download skills have a triangular icon instead of a dot. When 

a card such as Assimilate Counterpart refers to the number of 
 icons on a personnel, use the actual number of skill dots printed on 
the card. (If a card has errata, which are official changes, use the 
number of skill dots specified by the errata. See Tasha Yar - 
Alternate, T'Pan.) 

 
Juliana Tainer has been re-ruled: she has two special skills and no regular 

skills. 

 

 

I Tried To Warn You – 

 

New entry: 
 
This dilemma destroys all points scored when the mission was 
solved (or just after), including bonus points such as points scored 
from Assign Mission Specialists or Particle Fountain. 

 
In response to a public question about how to interpret this card. 

 

 

Juliana Tainer – 

 

At the end of this entry, add a new paragraph: 
 
Both her skills are special skills. See skills. 

 
This reverses an early Decipher ruling from before the special/regular skill 

distinction was as clear or as strong as it is today. 

 

 

mission II – 

 

Replace this entry with cross-references to the Rulebook: 
4.2.0.2 Built-In Cards 
2.0.2 Double-Sided Cards 
3.0.1 Non-Borg Cards In Your Deck 

 
Resolving a contradiction between RB and Glossary. 

 

 

Nebula – 

 

Add a new paragraph: 
 
Since the Scan requirement to initiate battle applies only to players, 
and [Self] Self-Controlling Cards are not controlled by either 
player, the requirement does not apply to them. 

 
In response to a public question about how to interpret this card. 

 

 

skills – 

 

Modify as follows: 
 
Special skills are usually explained in a sentence with a period at the 
end, such as "Orb artifacts may not be nullified." Special download 

skills, preceded by the special download icon , fractional skills 
(such as Toral's Leadership x1/2) and skills with negative 
modifiers, (such as Mortal Q's Leadership -1), are also defined as 
special skills. 

 
 

In response to a public question about how to interpret this card. 



 

 

turn – 

 

Revise as follows: 
 
If a card such as 35th Rule of Acquisition or Quark's Bar allows you 
to draw a card at "end of each turn" when conditions are met (but 
does not say it is an extra or additional card draw) or draw an extra 
card, it is the result of an "end-of-turn" action, which must take 
place before your normal card draw which ends your turn. However, 
if a card allows an "extra" or "additional" card draw at the end of 
your turn (e.g., The Traveler: Transcendence or Quark's Bar), it is, 
not a modification to your normal card draw, and thus is not an 
"end-of-turn" action. 

 
Removing a clarification that has, over time, proved unnecessary and 

confusing. All end-of-turn draws are now simply end-of-turn actions, which 

can be ordered as you please (except your normal card draw, which always 

comes last). 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

4.2.0.2 Built-In Cards – 

 

Modify as follows: 
 
Mission II outposts do not prevent you from seeding another 
outpost of the same affiliation. However, as always, you may not 
establish a second facility at the same location where you already 
have a facility, including a built-in Mission II outpost. Outpost-
related cards work normally with Mission II outposts. If the outpost 
is destroyed, flip the mission over to signify this (and cards on the 
outpost are discarded as usual). If the outpost is placed out-of-play, 
flip the mission over and place a token on it to signify that it is out-
of-play; the Mission II outpost may not be rebuilt for the rest of the 
game. 

 
Later: 

 
You may not pair Space-Time Portal's Wormhole function with a 
built-in wormhole. (The Wormhole for Space-Time Portal must be 
played.) Since the Wormhole is played only as a cost, you ignore its 
gametext and are not stopped after using it. 

 
Resolving a contradiction between Rulebook and Glossary; making explicit the 

Wormhole stopped thing, since it keeps coming up. 

 

 

10.1.0.3 Skill Multipliers – 

 

Modify this text: 
 
Normally, multiplied skills are regular skills. However, negative skills 
and fractional skills, such as Valeris's Diplomacy -3 and Toral's 
Leadership x1/2, are special skills. 

 
Fractional skills are now special skills. 

 

 

10.1.0.4 First-Listed Skills – 

 

Delete this text: 
 
Juliana Tainer has four regular skills and one special skill, but only 
two skill dots; 

 
Juliana Tainer will no longer be an exception to the ordinary rules. 

 

 

11.1 Self-Controlling Cards – 

 

At the end of the third paragraph, add: 
 
A [Self] card does not need matching personnel or a leader to 
attack, and may attack any affiliation, but needs usable WEAPONS 
and is subject to restrictions that affect all cards, such as "We Are 
The Metrons". 

 
Clarification about self-controlling cards. 

 

 

 



FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no format updates this month. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

There are no new temporary rulings. 

 

See the Glossary for the full list of current temporary rulings. 
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