
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(2 April 2024) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the RRD, as long as 

they have the most recent posted copy of those core documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the core documents. (Old RRDs 

are archived unofficially at the Starship Excelsior Rules Archive while we work 

on a permanent on-site solution.) 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. [[Double square brackets]] indicate card links. 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 

Battle Bridge Door: Auxiliary Control – 

 

New entry: 
 
See leaves play. 

 
Cross-reference. Battle Bridge Door itself not yet cross-referenced. 

 

 

Horga'hn – 

 

Revise as follows: 
 
You "use" the Horga'hn (for purposes of cards such as Temporal 
Narcosis) each time you exercise the additional card play or draw. If 
you do not use the additional card play, you must draw the extra 
card. 

 
Updated in light of recent errata. 

 

 

Injector Assembly One – 

 

This card reports to the location, not to the ship. See report to. 
 

Cross-reference. 

 

 

leaves play – 

 

New entry: 
 
When a card is placed out-of-play or in the bonus point area, 
discarded, or returned to hand, it leaves play, even if it was not 
previously in play. 
 
This is a temporary ruling, subject to modification or reversal. 

 
Longstanding accepted behavior, but proved controversial when it came time 

to write it down, so it's temporary. 

 

 

O'Brien and Kira – 

 

New entry: 
 
The skill gain is an automatic modifier, so you must select her 
skill immediately after the time travel; this is not optional. The skill 
lasts only "during" the turn she time traveled, and she cannot gain 
multiple skills by time-traveling multiple times. 

 
Clarification. You would be surprised how long we debated whether this ruling 

was required by the next or merely one possible interpretation of the text. 

 

 

Q-Flash – 

 

New entry: 
 
See leaves play. 

 
Cross-reference. 

 

 

report – 

 

add: "See report to." 
 

Cross-reference. 

 

 

report to – 

 

New entry: 
 
When a ship reports "to" a ship, it plays somewhere it will 
be present with that ship (in the same orbit, docked at the same 
station, aboard the target ship as a carried ship, etc.). When a 
ship reports "to" a location, it likewise reports somewhere it will be 
present with the location. 

 
Old phrase needed clear rules definition. 

 

 



Shuttlepod One and Shuttlepod Two – 

 

see report to. 
 

Cross-reference. 

 

 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

6.5.3.0.10. Side Deck Downloads – 

 

New sidebar: 
 
When searching an open side deck for a download, include face-up 
cards placed under or atop that side deck. 

 
Handy-dandy clarification, long overdue. 

 

 

7.2.1 Beginning A Mission Attempt – 

 

Rename: Beginning An Attempt. 
 
Revise as follows: 

 
You may attempt any mission with a point box that you seeded. You 
may not also attempt or solve a mission with a point box an 
opponent seeded unless if its point box shows 40 points or more, or 
it is a shared mission, or there is more than one copy in play (for ❖ 

Universal missions). You may not attempt or 
solve other missions  without a point box. 
 

At a  Planet mission, any single Away Team that is present on 

the planet's surface may begin a mission attempt. At a  Space 
mission, the crew of any single undocked ship present may begin a 
mission attempt. (The ship ship's crew must have include at least 
one personnel of matching affiliation aboard.) 
 
To attempt begin a mission attempt, you must have there must 
be at least one personnel present attempting whose affiliation 
matches one of the icons (or meets alternate qualifications) given in 
the mission's affiliation box. All compatible personnel in the crew or 
Away Team may assist that personnel, and may contribute skills and 
other attributes to the mission requirements. You do not need to 
meet the mission's requirements in order to begin a mission 
attempt. 

 
Revised for greater precision. 

 

 

7.2.1.0.5 Clarifications: "Any Crew" / "Any Away Team" – 

 

New sidebar: 
 
The phrase "Any crew may attempt mission" (or, at [P], "Any Away 
Team") allows attempts by personnel of any affiliation (except [Bor] 
). It does not remove other restrictions on mission attempts, like the 
rule against attempting from a docked ship, or attempting 
opponent's 30-point unique, unshared mission 

 
Longstanding behavior, now in text. 

 

 

7.2.2 Encountering Dilemmas 

 

Revise: 
 
Each dilemma has one or more effects, such as, "kills one personnel 
with SCIENCE (random selection)", "when countdown expires, ship 
is destroyed", or "cannot get past". Effects may be automatic or 
may have conditions requirements: conditions, cures, or 
nullifiers. 

 
Clearly defining that conditions, cures, and nullifiers are all "requirements." 

 

 

10.3 Characteristics – 

 



Add the phrase "romantic partner" to the list of synonyms for 
"romantically involved." 

 
Supports edge cases where there isn't enough room in the lore box for 

"romantically involved" and all the other synonyms are too formal. (We 

considered but rejected "shagged.") 

 

 

13.1.3.0.1 "Starfleet" on [Fed] Cards – 

 

Delete this rule. 
 

No longer needed thanks to clarified gametext. 

 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no format updates this month. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

New temporary ruling: 

Transwarp Hub may seed or play at any nebula, even a homeworld. 

Transwarp Hub may play at Intelligence Operation (but may not seed there, 

since it is not [DQ]). 

 

New temporary ruling: 

When a card is placed out-of-play or in the bonus point area, discarded, or 

returned to hand, it leaves play, even if it was not previously in play. 

 

See the Glossary for the full list of current temporary rulings. 
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