
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(5 February 2024) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the RRD, as long as 

they have the most recent posted copy of those core documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the core documents. (Old RRDs 

are archived unofficially at the Starship Excelsior Rules Archive while we work 

on a permanent on-site solution.) 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. [[Double square brackets]] indicate card links. 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 
Amanda Rogers – 

 

Revise as follows: 
 
An Artifact or Doorway card is "played as an Interrupt card" only if 
its text specifically says so. For example, Space-Time Portal may be 
discarded from the table to "play as a second Wormhole interrupt." 
[[Ophidian Cane]] plays "as an Interrupt card",  See card types. 

 
Changed example due to STP's revision. 

 
 
mirror universe – 

 

Revise the second paragraph as follows: 
 

 cards are often written from the perspective of the mirror 
universe. When a  card refers to a planet location (including a 
region) by name, it means the Mirror Quadrant version of 
that planet location. All other named references 
to planets locations (in lore or gametext) mean the normal-universe 
versions of that planet location (unless otherwise specified). For 
example, The City of B'Hala may seed only at the Alpha Quadrant 
version of Bajor (Alter Records); Mirror Terok Nor, which has 
the  icon, may seed only at the  version of Bajor (Disrupt 
Alliance); and Between Duty and Respect, which does not have 
an  icon, counts only Bajor Region locations in the Alpha 
Quadrant. 

 
References to Mirror regions (and other locations) now work the same as 

references to Mirror planets: they only apply to the Mirror version of the 

location if the card is Mirror itself or otherwise specifically works with the 

Mirror version of the location. Navigate Plasma Storms is being updated 

accordingly. 

 
 

Navigate Plasma Storms – 

 

Revise the second paragraph as follows: 
 
This objective's probe result applies to each Badlands Region where 
there is a ship. Thus, for example, a facility in the mirror Badlands 
Region is not affected by a flare-up or maelstrom unless there is a 
ship there. Because this card does not have "specific targeting" of 
particular ships, a cloaked ship (but not a phased ship) in the 
Badlands triggers probing for, and may be damaged or destroyed 
by, this objective. See Rulebook 7.6: Cloak. 

 
Updated after clarifying errata. 

 

 

Nebula – 

 

Revise as follows: 
 
This mission may seed only in the Alpha Quadrant and is not 
attemptable (it has no mission requirements). See actions - step 
1: initiation. Dilemmas may be seeded under this mission. 
 
If you have an undocked, uncloaked, unphased ship at the location 
with any crew aboard (not disabled, in stasis, or under house arrest) 
when your opponent scores points, that ship and its crew must face 
reveal and encounter the next dilemma under the mission. If you 
have more than one ship at the location, you choose which ship will 
face the dilemma. Docked ships, empty ships and ships "flying by" 
the mission (even if points are scored while play is suspended) are 
not affected. This is not a mission attempt, does not require 
"unstopped" personnel, full staffing, or a personnel matching the 
ship's affiliation, and does not allow acquisition of artifacts seeded 
under the mission. If the ship's entire crew is disabled or in stasis, 
the dilemma is encountered by a "crew" of zero members, and is 
immediately reseeded. See Rulebook 7.2.6.0.1: Reseed After 
Escapes. 
 
See movement (explaining "flying by"), actions - step 1: 
initiation (explaining the use of a Scan card "as a cost"). 

 
Entry updated to reflect errata and general cleanup. There's no legal reason 

why docked or empty ships would be exempt from this, so they aren't 

anymore. 

 

 



report – 

 

Change the phrase "report with crew" to "report with". 
 

Entry is obsolete following revision. 

 

 

report with– 

 

New entry: 
 
When a card allows a ship to report with certain cards, you may 
play the ship from your hand with the specified cards (also from 
your hand) aboard. The cards aboard must be compatible (as 
usual), but are reporting to a specific destination (the ship) and thus 
do not need to be in their native quadrant. Each card is reported as 
a separate sub-action of the report with group action, and may be 
responded to appropriately. See action - group. 
 
Playing a ship ordinarily uses your normal card play. 
Reporting with additional cards aboard does not change that. 
(However, some cards, like Space-Time Portal, allow you to report a 
ship with cards without using your card play.) "Report with" text on 
a ship may not be used in combination with cards that play the ship 
some other way. For example, if you download Bajoran 
Raider with Hidden Fighter, or report a Rigelian Freighter for free at 
Docking Ports, it may not report with personnel. 
 
To report with staffing is to report with cards necessary to staff the 
ship (and no more). 
 
The "report with" mechanic will eventually replace the 
"report with crew" mechanic (to which it bears a very close 
resemblance). It will be expanded in a future rules update. 
 

This entry was announced and included in the Ships of the Line Rules 

Supplement, but was inadvertently omitted from the Glossary. 

 

 

Sherlock Holmes – 

 

Delete this entry. 
 

Entry is obsolete following errata. 

 

 

Space-Time Portal – 

 

Change the "report-with-crew" reference to "report with" instead. 
 

Reflects revision. 

 

 

They Call Themselves The Maquis – 

 

New entry: 
 
Because this card is not a [MQ] card, you cannot use this card to 
report to the Badlands in the Mirror Quadrant. See mirror 
universe. 

 
Addresses a formerly common usage. 

 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

4.2.0.2 Built-In Cards ("Mission II") – 

 

Replace final paragraph with: 
 
You may not pair Space-Time Portal's Wormhole function with a 
built-in wormhole. (The Wormhole for Space-Time Portal must be 
played.) 

 
Updated wording due to STP's errata. 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no format updates this month. 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

There are no new temporary rulings this month. Disrupted Continuum and 

Firestorm continue to have temporary rulings. 

 

See the Glossary for the full list of current temporary rulings. 
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