
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(2 October 2023) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the RRD, as long as 

they have the most recent posted copy of those core documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the core documents. (Old RRDs 

are archived unofficially at the Starship Excelsior Rules Archive while we work 

on a permanent on-site solution.) 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. [[Double square brackets]] indicate card links. 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 
beaming – 

 

Replace this entry with a cross-reference to 7.1.1: Beam. 
 

Merged with Rulebook entry and clarified. 

 

 

Clone Machine – 

 

Delete the last two sentences. Add these new sentences: 
 
A personnel in play "for uniqueness only" does not count as "a 
copy of your unique personnel already in play." (The rule is clear 
that "for uniqueness only" cards can only restrict plays, not enable 
them.) 

 
Updated for errata and removed note that Mariposa = Aid Clone Colony. 

 

 

selections – 

 

Delete this entry, except for the cross-references. 
 
Change the cross-reference for 7.2.2.0.3 to 7.2.6.0.1 (Reseed After 

Escapes). 
 

Merged with Rulebook entry on selections and clarified. 

 

 

Madred – 

 

Replace the second paragraph with: 
 
As the cards state, Madred's bonus points directly change the value 
of Torture and Interrogation; they are not separate scoring events. 
For example, if your opponent resists Interrogation and you control 
Madred, you score 2 points, and both points can be nullified by a 
single use of Khan!. 

 
Updated to reflect errata. 

 
 

Temporal Micro-Wormhole – 

 

Replace instances of "mixing" to "compatibility." Insert "As the card 
states" where appropriate. 

 
Updated on the occasion of its errata (but entry substantially left intact). 

 

 

* passim. – 

 

Wherever the release of a captive is referred to as "recovery" or "rescue" 
in the Glossary, update to say "release." 

 
Now that the already-standard term "release" appears on two more cards, we 

need to make sure the rules docs reflect that and adequately define "release." 

 

 

 

 

 

 



RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

6.2 Entering Play – 

 

Revise the second paragraph to read: 
 
If a card is marked "unique", its owner may not play another copy 
if its owner already has one in play. Any additional copies its owner 
plays, earns, encounters, or activates are immediately discarded. 
Ships, Personnel, and Facilities are unique by default; Sites 
are "unique by station". 

 
Revise the fourth paragraph to read: 

 

A very small number of cards are marked as ✶ enigmas. Their 

nature is mysterious or unexplained. For most purposes, ✶ enigmas 

are treated like uniques: you may not play (or earn, activate, 
encounter, etc.) an instance of an ✶ enigma if you already have 

one in play (the persona rule applies). However, ✶ enigmas 

are not unique, so they are immune to cards that specifically target 
uniques, such as The Arsenal: Separated. 

 
Revised to clarify that uniqueness is checked only when a card enters play, not 

constantly. 

 

 

6.3.1 Duplication and Personas – 

 

Revise the first paragraph to read: 
 
Unlike other cards, Ship, Personnel, and Facility cards 
are unique by default: you may not play another copy of a ship, 
personnel, or facility if you already own a copy in play. Just as 
there is only one Jean-Luc Picard in the Star Trek universe, you may 
only have one copy of Jean-Luc Picard in play at once. 

 

In alignment with other updates to uniqueness texts. 

 

 

6.3.0.4.1 Random Selections and Dual Personnel – 

 

Replace the word "meet" with "satisfy" and "requirements" with "effect." 
 

Remove misleading implication that Chula: Crossroads has requirements. 

 

 

6.5.2.0.1 No Clone Swaps – 

 

Put the correct number on this entry. 
 

Housekeeping. 

 

 

7.1.1 Beam – 

 

In the second paragraph, insert new text as follows: 
 
Any ship or facility that you control, even if it has no personnel 
onboard, may use its transporters to beam your personnel and/or 
equipment to or from that ship or facility. You may beam to (or 
from) your other ships or facilities at the same location, to (or from) 
your opponent's unshielded ship or facility at the same location, or, 

if your transporters are at a  Planet location, to (or from) the 
planet's surface. Announce the beaming, remove the cards from 
their origin, and place them at their destination. 

 
Refactor the Transporter Arcana sidebar into multiple sidebars: 

 
Clarifications .1: Transporter Limits 
There is no limit to the number of times you can beam during your 
turn. 
 
All cards in a group beam simultaneously unless you specify 
otherwise. 
 
You may not beam cards into space. 
 
All beaming is to or from a set of transporters. Thus, you may not 
use the transporters of one ship or facility to beam cards directly 
between a planet and another ship or facility without transporters. 

 
Clarifications .2: Card-Activated Transport 

Special beaming cards such as Near-Warp Transport, Emergency 
Transporter Armbands, or Extradition do not provide transporters 
and do not allow you to use your opponent's transporters. They do 
not overcome obstacles to beaming, such as Atmospheric Ionization, 
Barclay Transporter Phobia, Katherine Pulaski's beaming restriction, 
or being stopped. Special beaming cards simply allow you to use 
existing, functional transporters in unusual ways. 

 
Clarifications .3: "Unshielded" 

A card is unshielded if its SHIELDS are disabled, offline, or =0. Also, 
SHIELDS are always dropped during a transport in order to allow 
the transport (which you can exploit with Dropping In). 
 
Transporters can't beam through SHIELDS, so operating 
transporters implies that your ship or facility's SHIELDS are dropped 
during the transport. This currently has few gameplay implications 
except for Dropping In, which can be played in response to a 
beaming action. It also explains why you may beam over to an 
opponent's ship or facility if it is unshielded. 

 
Clarifications .4: Compatibility 

As always, you may not deliberately place any personnel in a house 
arrest situation, so you may not beam one of your personnel onto 
one of your own incompatible ships. However, you may beam them 
aboard opponent's incompatible ships (if you can get around their 
SHIELDS), since house arrest only applies to your personnel. 

 

Beaming clarifications merged in from the Glossary. Slight differences 

(especially regarding the beaming of equipment) clarified. 

 

 

7.1.5 Fly a Starship -  

 

Change the fragment "it can 'warp past' locations" to: 
 
it can "fly by" locations (conceptually passing them at warp speed) 

 
In the Warp Speed Immunity sidebar, similarly update to: 
 
 A ship "flying by" a location cannot affect... unless the card says it 

affects ships flying by... (A ship flying by a location is conceptually 
at warp speed.) 

 

 



7.8 Commandeering – 

 

Second paragraph, insert this new second sentence: 
 
Cards played on the ship, like Subspace Transporters, 
Cytherians, or damage markers, transfer to you. 

 

Useful clarification. 

 

 

10.3.0.9 Species – 

 

Revise this sentence as follows: 
 
Personnel are presumed to belong to the "usual species" that 
corresponds to their printed affiliation. 

 
Revise the fifth paragraph as follows: 

 
Any personnel who has a [KW] Ketracel-White icon is Jem'Hadar 
species. Any personnel who is [BOR] Borg affiliation or who has a 
Borg subcommand icon ([SCC] [SCN] [SCD]) is Borg species. If they 
have another identifiable species, they are mixed-race. Borg-species 
personnel always have another species, their "biological 
distinctiveness," identified using the above rules. For example, Five 
of Eleven (Cyber Drone) is both Borg and Klingon. MarikaEnsign 
Jameson is both Borg and BajoranHuman. Most Borg Queens are 
Borg and humanoid, but Borg Queen (The Borg) is Borg and Species 
125. 

 
Useful clarification. 

 

 

* passim. – 

 

Wherever the release of a captive is referred to as "recovery" or "rescue" 
in the Rulebook, update to say "release." 

 
Now that the already-standard term "release" appears on two more cards, we 

need to make sure the rules docs reflect that and adequately define "release." 

 

 

 

10.3.0.9 Species – 

 

Revise this sentence as follows: 
 
Personnel are presumed to belong to the "usual species" that 
corresponds to their printed affiliation. 

 
Revise the fifth paragraph as follows: 

 
Any personnel who has a [KW] Ketracel-White icon is Jem'Hadar 
species. Any personnel who is [BOR] Borg affiliation or who has a 
Borg subcommand icon ([SCC] [SCN] [SCD]) is Borg species. If they 
have another identifiable species, they are mixed-race. Borg-species 
personnel always have another species, their "biological 
distinctiveness," identified using the above rules. For example, Five 
of Eleven (Cyber Drone) is both Borg and Klingon. MarikaEnsign 
Jameson is both Borg and BajoranHuman. Most Borg Queens are 
Borg and humanoid, but Borg Queen (The Borg) is Borg and Species 
125. 

 
Useful clarification. 

 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

Warp Speed 1.1.2: prevent dual-icon missions from being a one-mission win. 

 

The winner is the first player to solve at least one planet mission and at 

least one space missiontwo missions (one [P] and one [S]), regardless of 

points. 

 

[...] Instead of solving missions,  Borg must complete  objectives 

targeting a planet and space mission two locations (a [P] and a 

[S]) (instead of solving), as usual. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

The temporary rulings about unique dilemmas and Disrupted Continuum, and 

Commandeer Ship all remain in place this month. 

 

The temporary ruling about Escape is lifted this month. 

 

See the Glossary for the full list of current temporary rulings. 
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