
 

 

Ships of the Line Rules Supplement 

(11 August 2023) 

This is the official rules supplement for Ships of the Line.  

Rules updates are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the 
official release day of any new expansion set. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 
http://www.trekcc.org. 

(NOTE: As previously announced, there is a special scheduled rules update 
coming next Monday, August 14th, the day after European Continentals are 
over.) 

 
 
 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 
Report with – 
 

When a card allows a ship to report with certain cards, you may play the 
ship from your hand with the specified cards (also from your hand) 
aboard. The cards aboard must be compatible (as usual), but are 
reporting to a specific destination (the ship) and thus do not need to be 
in their native quadrant. Staffing is not required. If the card only allows a 
certain number of additional cards to report with the ship, it must report 
with exactly that number (and no less), unless otherwise specified.  
 
Each card is reported as a separate sub-action of the report with group 
action, and may be responded to appropriately. See action - group. 
 
Playing a ship ordinarily uses your normal card play. Reporting with 
additional cards aboard does not change that. (However, some cards, like 
Space-Time Portal, allow you to report a ship with cards without using 
your card play.) "Report with" text on a ship may not be used in 
combination with cards that play the ship some other way. For example, 
if you download Bajoran Raider with Hidden Fighter, or report a Rigelian 
Freighter for free at Docking Ports, it may not report with personnel. 
 
The "report with" mechanic is intended to eventually replace the "report 
with crew" mechanic (to which it bears a very close resemblance). It 
will be expanded in a future rules update. 
 

This supports Klingon Transport and future cards. 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 
RULEBOOK UPDATES 
 
There are no Rulebook updates. 

 
 
FORMAT UPDATES 
 
There are no new format changes. 
 
 
 
TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 
New temporary ruling regarding the card Escape, pending errata: 

This card may be played in response to any dilemma that targets your 
personnel to be killed. This includes dilemmas where there is no choice in 
the selection, such as Subspace Fracture or Climbing the Ranks. Those 
are still selections. 

To play this card, you must save all personnel about to be killed by the 
dilemma by discarding that number of cards from your hand. You cannot 
play Escape to save only some of the personnel targeted by the dilemma. 

New temporary ruling regarding the card Commandeer Ship, pending errata: 

On Commandeer Ship only, the word “empty” means “unopposed.” (In all 
other cases, follow the game’s usual definition of empty.) 

See the Glossary for the permanent list of temporary rulings. 
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