
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(14 August 2023 - Date & Supplement Corrected 24 August) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the RRD, as long as 

they have the most recent posted copy of those core documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the core documents. (Old RRDs 

are archived unofficially at the Starship Excelsior Rules Archive while we work 

on a permanent on-site solution.) 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. [[Double square brackets]] indicate card links. 

 
(NOTE: The Ships of the Lines Rules Supplement, which was posted only days 

ago, is appended at the end of this official rules supplement.) 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 
affiliation and ship origin – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 
 
Away Team and Crew – 

 

In the fourth paragraph, delete the second sentence and replace with: 
 
For example, a Flintlock Rifle unstops personnel only in your Away 
Team, not in your crew. 

 
Changed the example to account for Genetronic Replicator’s recent errata. 

 

 

Cha’Joh – 

 

Add: 
 

The Cha'Joh is a multi-affiliation  ship of  Klingon origin 
("Bird-of-Prey"); thus, it is a "Klingon ship" regardless of its current 

affiliation mode (by origin), but a  "Romulan ship" only in [1E-
Rom] Romulan affiliation mode 

 
Ruling moved from the affiliation and ship origin entry. Also in Rulebook. 

 

 

characteristics – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

changeling – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

class – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

gender – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

hand weapon – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

matching commander – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

named in lore – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 



 
Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

romantic partner – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

ship class – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

ship origin – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

species – 

 

Replace this entry with link to Rulebook. 
 

Merged into Rulebook. 

 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

2.11.0.1 Facilities Contain Their Sites – 

 

New clarification sidebar: 
 
Anything at a site, including special equipment, is also at the facility 
the site is aboard, but not at the facility's other sites. For example, 
if Colonel Kira is at Commander's Office on Deep Space 9, she 
can be killed by Symbalene Blood Burn targeting Deep Space 9. 
If Docking Ports (which has a Tractor Beam) is on Alliance Nor, 
Alliance Nor has a Tractor Beam, but Guest Quarters does not. 

 
Though intuitive, this needed to be formally clarified.  

 

 

7.0.1 Crews, Away Teams, and Movement – 

 

Replace the second sentence with: 
 
A Flintlock Rifle can unstop your personnel after they’re stopped by 
a Founder Secret on a planet, but not after they’re stopped by 
Ankari Spirits in space. 

 
Changed the example to account for Genetronic Replicator’s recent errata. 

 

 

7.4.0.6 Clarifications: Affiliation Attack Restrictions – 

 

Add this at the end: 
 
A card (like Kirk) that allows your force to override affiliation attack 
restrictions applies only to its own crew or Away Team, unless 
otherwise specified (for example, Admiral Leyton’s effect applies to 
all your cards at the location). Each ship in the force must either be 
following affiliation attack restrictions or have permission to override 
it.  

 
Clarification based on question from player Franklin Kenter. 

 

 



7.4.2.0.2 Clarifications: Response Precedence in the Combat Stage – 

 

Add this at the end: 
 
If either or both combatants are stunned, mortally wounded, killed, 
abducted, returned to hand, or otherwise removed from the combat 
before comparing their STRENGTHs, do not compare their 
STRENGTHs. Proceed to the next combat pairing. 

 
Clarification based on question from player Franklin Kenter. 

 

 

7.6 Cloak – 

 

Change the quote to: 
 
“Can you learn to see in the dark, Captain?” -Shinzon 

 
In the second paragraph, after the second sentence, insert: 

 
(No personnel are required to operate a cloak.) 

 

The quote better explains cloaking, and also is much cooler. Even though the 

clarification about personnel isn’t strictly necessary—the rule never requires 

personnel, and therefore personnel aren’t required—we get asked about 

personnel to operate a cloak so often we figured, heck, just put it in the 

Rulebook. 

 

 

10.3 Characteristics – 

 

This is a general overhaul. 
 
Divide the clarifications sidebar (10.3.0.2 Characteristics) into six 

separate sidebars: 
 
10.3.0.2 Characteristics: Context Matters 
10.3.0.3 Former & Future Characteristics 
10.3.0.4 Disguises as Characteristics 
10.3.0.5 Characteristics Aren’t Skills 
10.3.0.6 Ignore Information Outside the Card 
10.3.0.7 Ignore Card Image 
 
Preserve existing content and renumber accordingly. 

 
In 10.3.0.2 Characteristics: Context Matters, revise as follows: 

 
For example, the phrase "uses the same hull as the Cardassian 
shuttlecraft" in the lore of Patrol Ship does not give it the 
characteristic "shuttlecraft," and Falcon is not "any Miles" just 
because he "took on the appearance" of Miles O'Brien. 
 

In 10.3.0.3 Past & Future Characteristics, revise as follows: 
 
A card that identifies its subject as formerly having a characteristic 
or gaining it in the future, still has that characteristic for gameplay 
purposes. Thus, Bok, the "former Ferengi DaiMon", is a DaiMon, and 
Beyor, who "later rose to become a minister," is a minister. 

 
In 10.3.0.6 Ignore Information Outside the Card, delete “therefore.” 
 
In 10.3.0.9 Species, add the missing line break after the first paragraph. 
 
In 10.3.0.9 Species, rewrite the third paragraph as follows: 

 
If lore states a native planet (for example, The Traveler is "from Tau 
Alpha C"), this indicates the species if no other species is given. For 
example, Coutu is "from Parada II." His species is "Parada II 
native". 

 
At the end of the sidebar, add this clarification from the Glossary: 

 
A multi-affiliation card could be the "usual species" of any of their 

affiliations... or all of them. For example,   Kira Meru is 
Bajoran species. 

 
Add Kira Meru, Kira (Holodeck Adventures), The Emissary, Kasidy Yates, 

Captain Nog, Jake and Nog, Koval, Stefan deSeve, Tora Ziyal, and 
Sisters of Duras to the species “exception” list, along with their 
species. 

 
Within the Gender sidebar (10.3.0.8 Gender), rewrite the Borg rule thus: 

 
Borg Rule: Gender is Irrelevant (10.3.0.3.1) 

Gender is irrelevant to the Borg.  cards and  players are not 
affected by gender-related gametext (for example, Venus Drug). 
 
However, if gender is invoked on a Borg-related card, such 

as Borg Kiss, gender is relevant.  queens and counterparts 
have gender, as do former Borg and any other non-[Bor]-affiliation 
personnel who are members of the Borg species. When gender is 

relevant,  Queens are female, and  counterparts are 

male.  drones are genderless, even if gender-specific pronouns 

are in their lore or gametext. An assimilated [make this a link] 
 drone becomes genderless. 
 

This applies to only to  cards. Members of the Borg species who 

are not  (such as Jean-Luc) have normal genders. 
 
In 10.3.0.10 Class, change the sidebar title to Ship Class and revise the 

first paragraph as follows: 
 
Every ship has a class defined in its class box. The class box 
may also suggest more than one characteristics. For example, 
Cha'Joh's class ("Class D-12 Scout Vessel") also identifies it as a 
scout ship that can be used with Scout Encounter. 

In 10.3.0.11 Ship Origin, add a paragraph at the end: 
 

A commandeered ship retains its origin. Thus, a  Romulan-

origin ship that becomes  by commandeering is a "  ship," 

a "Klingon ship," and a "Romulan ship," but not a "  ship". 
 
In 10.3.0.12 Named in Lore, follow the Glossary more closely: 

 
A few cards and rules, like Dramatis Personae and matching 
commanders, check to see whether a card is "named in lore" of 
another. But this can raise questions: does William Samuels name 
Bok in lore, simply because he bombed the freighter Bok'Nor? (No.) 
 
A card names another card in lore only if the named card's title 
exactly matches the name given in lore, including any capitalized 
modifiers (such as ranks, titles, and descriptors). Standard word 
form variations, such as declined or possessive nouns, do not 
"break" a match, and the capitalization of articles ("a", "the") may 
be disregarded. For example, I.K.C. K'elric names Captain 
Kang in lore (but not Kang), Ezri names Mr. Brunt in lore (but 
not Brunt), Gorta names Duras (but not Sisters of Duras, 
because, in Gorta's lore, "sisters" is not capitalized), Bareil's lore 
names The Intendant and Els Renora's lore names Jadzia Dax. 
 
Context matters for determining whether the lore is naming the 
subject. Incidental uses of a word, like "One" in Kovat's lore, do not 
count. For example, Telle mentions "data" in lore, but does not 
name Data; Kor's lore does name Kahless (who owns the "Sword 
of Kahless"); and Zegov's lore names both Sisters of 
Duras and Duras. Moreover, a card's lore may refer to its own 
subject by a different name. This can be used to identify the card's 
as (for example) a matching commander;  For example, the lore of 
Jean-Luc Picard (Premiere) identifies the card's subject, Jean-Luc 
Picard (Premiere), as a matching commander of U.S.S. 
Enterprise. (It would also name a card with the title "Captain Jean-
Luc Picard," if any existed.) 

 



In the “hand weapons” bullet point, change 
 
“hand weapon” in title or lore 

 
to: 

 
having the “hand weapon” characteristic 

 
In the “romantic partner” bullet, change “are or were” to “have been”. 
 
Also insert an appropriate line break after “Deputy Quark are not.” 
 
In the “matching commander” bullet, insert “(or facility)” as appropriate. 
 
Also replace “a ship or facility” with “cards” in the last sentence. 
 
Make “disabled” and “in stasis” bold links in the sidebar. 
 
 

 
General cleanup and merge with Glossary, so all rules about characteristics 

can be found in the same place. Please let us know if we missed anything! 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no format updates this month. 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

The temporary rulings about unique dilemmas and Disrupted Continuum, 

Escape, and Commandeer Ship all remain in place this month. 

 

See the Glossary for the full list of current temporary rulings. 

 

 

 

STAR TREK is a registered trademark. TM, ® & © 2023 CBS Studios Inc. All 

Rights Reserved.  



 

 

Ships of the Line Rules Supplement 

(11 August 2023) 

This is the official rules supplement for Ships of the Line.  

Rules updates are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the 

official release day of any new expansion set. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. 

(NOTE: As previously announced, there is a special scheduled rules update 

coming next Monday, August 14th, the day after European Continentals are 

over.) 

 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 
Report with – 

 

When a card allows a ship to report with certain cards, you may play 

the ship from your hand with the specified cards (also from your hand) 

aboard. The cards aboard must be compatible (as usual), but are 

reporting to a specific destination (the ship) and thus do not need to be 

in their native quadrant. Staffing is not required. If the card only allows a 

certain number of additional cards to report with the ship, it must report 

with exactly that number (and no less), unless otherwise specified.  

 

Each card is reported as a separate sub-action of the report with group 

action, and may be responded to appropriately. See action - group. 

 

Playing a ship ordinarily uses your normal card play. Reporting with 

additional cards aboard does not change that. (However, some cards, like 

Space-Time Portal, allow you to report a ship with cards without using 

your card play.) "Report with" text on a ship may not be used in 

combination with cards that play the ship some other way. For example, 

if you download Bajoran Raider with Hidden Fighter, or report a Rigelian 

Freighter for free at Docking Ports, it may not report with personnel. 

 

The "report with" mechanic is intended to eventually replace the "report 

with crew" mechanic (to which it bears a very close resemblance). It 

will be expanded in a future rules update. 

 

This supports Klingon Transport and future cards. 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

There are no Rulebook updates. 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no new format changes. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

New temporary ruling regarding the card Escape, pending errata: 

This card may be played in response to any dilemma that targets your 

personnel to be killed. This includes dilemmas where there is no choice in 

the selection, such as Subspace Fracture or Climbing the Ranks. Those 

are still selections. 

To play this card, you must save all personnel about to be killed by the 

dilemma by discarding that number of cards from your hand. You cannot 

play Escape to save only some of the personnel targeted by the dilemma. 

New temporary ruling regarding the card Commandeer Ship, pending errata: 

On Commandeer Ship only, the word “empty” means “unopposed.” (In all 

other cases, follow the game’s usual definition of empty.) 

See the Glossary for the permanent list of temporary rulings. 

 

 

STAR TREK is a registered trademark. TM, ® & © 2023 CBS Studios Inc. All 

Rights Reserved.  

 

 


