
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(3 April 2023) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the RRD, as long as 

they have the most recent posted copy of those core documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the core documents. (Old RRDs 

are archived unofficially at the Starship Excelsior Rules Archive while we work 

on a permanent on-site solution) 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. [[Double square brackets]] indicate card links. 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 
compatible – 

 

Replace this text: 

 

however, compatibility is overridden by any card or rule that 

specifically prevents compatibility (see does not work with). 

 

with: 

 

unless otherwise specified (see does not work with). 

 

The original sentence is true in most contexts. For example, [NA] Galen would 

normally be compatible with [Fed] William T. Riker, but he isn't, because his 

specific restriction box overrides his general compatibility. That's just the 

Golden Rule. But there are other contexts where the original sentence is 

misleading. For example, [Rom] Tallera and [Fed] Will Riker can be made 

compatible with one another using Mercenary Raiders. At least since the 2018 

ruling untangling a knot of issues related to does-not-work-with, Mercenary 

Raiders (or even a treaty) makes those two cards compatible, overriding their 

restrictive gametexts. (Release This Pain and Sybok only work because of this 

principle.) This sentence seems to be reminding us to follow the golden rule, 

but can be read to suggest that incompatibility always trumps compatibility, 

which is not the case. For that reason, we are changing the sentence. 

 

 

docked ship – 

 

Strike the words "on a ship as it undocks or launches." 

 

This is an old stray reference to pre-errata Wormholes. 

 

 

Life's Simple Pleasures – 

 

New entry: 

 

Because the text does not provide a reporting destination, the 

report must be to a normal reporting location. It does not have to 

be the same location where this card was played. 

 

The card and associated rules already say this pretty unambiguously, but 

players misplay it from time to time, so a reminder can be helpful. 

 

 

playing an affiliation – 

 

Delete the words "Only cards which you own are" and replace with: 

 

Active infiltrators and cards you do not own are not [considered 

when determining if you are playing an affiliation or faction]. 

 

If your infiltrate changes to opponent's affiliation, you would have been 

considered to be playing opponent's affiliation. Dominion that infiltrated with 

O'Brien Founder were thus forbidden from using Genesis Device. That seemed 

weird so we changed it. The affiliation your infiltrator picks up while actively 

infiltrating don't count toward which affiliations you're "playing." 

 

 

Wormhole – 

 

Strike the words "as it undocks." 

 

This is an old stray reference to pre-errata Wormholes. 

 



RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

6.5.3: Downloading – 

 

Replace the entire entry as follows: 

 

When a card instructs you to download a card, search through your 

hand, your draw deck, and/or your open side decks for the target 

card. Once found, you must immediately play it. (If you cannot, the 

download is invalid; see sidebar.) You must follow all the normal 

rules for playing a card, such as reporting restrictions. Then 

reshuffle any face-down decks you looked through. 

 

Some downloads (like Quark's Isolinear Rods) specify your hand 

as the destination. When you use such a download, you must place 

the target in your hand instead of playing it. Some downloads 

(like Blood Oath) work "in place of one card draw." When you use 

such a download, you may choose whether to play the target 

immediately or place it in your hand for later use. Some downloads 

(like High Rollers) "download and seed" the target. When you use 

such a download, seed the target card (instead of playing it). You 

do not need to show it to your opponent. 

 

You may not download  artifacts or  Q-icon cards unless 

specifically permitted by a card (for example, Starry Night). 

Facilities and Sites do not provide downloads unless they are in their 

native quadrant. 

 

Concerns were expressed that this entry was disjointed and not entirely clear 

to novices, so we have revised it, hopefully for the better. Not a functional 

change. 

 

 

7.2.5: Solving the Mission – 

 

At the end of paragraph 4, insert the following sentence: 

 

A mission with no point box cannot be solved. 

 

A card that allows you to attempt a mission like [Univ] Space no longer gives 

you permission to solve it, since solving an unattemptable location with no 

requirements, attemptability text, or point box does not make sense. And we 

didn't want to have to remember to put "with a point box" on every card like 

Recover Stolen Materials forever, since, as we saw with RSM, it's hard to 

remember to cover this edge case every time. 

 
 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no new format changes, pending some coordination between First 

Edition and Organized Play. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

The temporary ruling about Workhorses of the Fleet remains in place this 

month, but it's getting clarifying errata ASAP so hold on tight. 

 

The temporary ruling about unique dilemmas and Disrupted Continuum 

remains in place this month. 

 

See the Glossary for the permanent list of temporary rulings. 
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