
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(5 December 2022) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the RRD, as long as 

they have the most recent posted copy of those core documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the core documents. (Old RRDs 

are archived unofficially at the Starship Excelsior Rules Archive while we work 

on a permanent on-site solution) 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 
captives – 

 

Delete this entry. 

 

Weird redundant entry in a weirdly redundant place. 

 

 

capturing – 

 

Add a cross-reference to "held (by a dilemma)", directing readers to 

Rulebook 7.2.2.0.1: Reading and Responding to Dilemmas. 

 

Has needed a cross-reference to dilemma resolution rules for a long time. 

 

 

dilemma resolution – 

 

Replace this entry with: 

 

See Rulebook: 7.2.2: Encountering Dilemmas. 

 

Disparate dilemma resolution rules have been merged. 

 
 
dilemma timing – 

 

Replace this entry with: 

 

See Rulebook: 7.2.2.0.1: Reading and Responding to 

Dilemmas. 

 

Disparate dilemma resolution rules have been merged. 

 
 

Dr. Gillian Taylor – 

 

New entry: 

 

See selections. 

 

Ensuring all applicable cards cross-reference the ruling. 

 

 

Elim Garak – 

 

Replace just the first pagraph of this entry with: 

 

See selections. 

 

Ruling reversed and put in a central place. 

 

 

held – 

 

New entry: 

 

For "held" by a dilemma, see Rulebook: 7.2.2.0.1: Reading and 

Responding to Dilemmas. For "held" as a captive, see 

capturing. 

 

How'd we get away without an entry for "held" all these years? 

 
 
meeting requirements – 

 

Replace with: 

 

See Rulebook: 7.2.1.0.3: Meeting Requirements is 

Mandatory. 

 

Disparate dilemma resolution rules have been merged. 

 
 

Menos – 

 

New entry: 

 

See selections. 



 

Ensuring all applicable cards cross-reference the ruling. 

 
 
Pel – 

 

New entry: 

 

See selections. 

 

Ensuring applicable cards cross-reference the ruling. 

 
 
Search and Seize – 

 

New entry: 

 

See overcome. 

 

Overcoming isn't as broad as you might think. 

 
 
selections – 

 

Delete the middle two paragraphs. 

 

Add the following cross-reference: 

 

See Rulebook: 12.1: Random Selection and (for showing your 

cards during an "opponent's choice" selection) Rulebook: 12.12: 

Showing Your Cards. 

 

Add the following paragraph: 

 

When a personnel is removed from a selection before it is made, it 

may leave the selection with no valid targets. Resolve the card 

normally. For example, Elim Garak may avoid random selections. If 

Elim Garak, alone, encounters Armus - Skin of Evil (which kills one 

randomly selected personnel), he can avoid the random selection. 

Since there are no valid targets for the selection, no one dies. Since 

the dilemma has no other effects, and the Away Team did not fail 

any conditions (and the random selection itself is not a "to get past" 

condition for this dilemma), Armus - Skin of Evil is removed and Elim 

Garak's mission attempt continues. See Rulebook 7.2.2.0.3: 

Dilemma Targets. 

 

Reverses an old ruling for Garak specifically and applies it broadly. 

 
 
Thorough Debriefing – 

 

New entry: 

 

See overcome. 

 

Overcoming isn't as broad as you might think. 

 

 

Tosk – 

 

New entry: 

 

See selections. 

 

Ensuring applicable cards cross-reference the ruling. 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

7.2.1: Beginning a Mission Attempt – 

 

Correct the sidebar numbering! 

 

New Sidebar: 7.2.1.0.3 Clarification: Meeting Requirements is Mandatory: 

 

During a mission attempt, you cannot choose not to meet mission or 

dilemma requirements (including conditions, cures, and nullifers). If 

your mission team meets the requirements, they overcome the 

dilemma or solve the mission. You can choose which personnel or 

equipment in the mission team fulfill the requirements of a dilemma 

(including conditions, cures, and nullifiers). You do not need to use 

everyone if a smaller group can meet the requirements. Thus, a 

personnel with [[Picard's Artificial Heart]] will not die when facing a 

dilemma with a STRENGTH requirement if you can satisfy the 

requirement with other personnel in the Away Team, and [[Matthew 

Dougherty]] will not score points from [[Collect Metaphasic 

Particles]] if his Treachery is not specified as contributing to the 

requirements. 

 

Then delete the first and second paragraphs of 7.2.5.0.1 (Mission Points), 

since it's redundant with the new sidebar. 

 

Migrated from the Glossary. 

 
 
7.2.2: Encountering Dilemmas – 

 

Delete the phrase "and all conditions have been met"; it's confusing. 

 

In 7.2.2.0.1 (Reading and Responding to Dilemmas), before the graf 
about sub-actions, add: 
 
A requirement such as STRENGTH>40 refers to the total STRENGTH 
of the Away Team or crew. When requirements or targets include 
attributes, apply any relevant attribute modifiers, such as [[Lower 
Decks]], phasers, [[The Emissary]], etc. 
 
Only personnel in the crew or Away Team attempting the mission 
may trigger, be targeted by, overcome, nullify, or cure a dilemma 
during the mission attempt. Personnel who are "stopped," disabled, 
in stasis, intruders, etc. are SEPARATED and are not affected by 
dilemma text targeting "crew," "entire crew," "all crew," "Away 
Team," or "entire Away Team" (which refer only to the crew or 
Away Team facing the dilemma). If a dilemma "stops," disables, or 
places in stasis part of the crew or Away Team, they are no longer 
participating in the attempt and thus may not affect or be affected 
by subsequent dilemmas. Only dilemmas using broader terms such 
as "all life on ship" ([[Crystalline Entity]]) or "personnel at this 
location" ([[Dal'Rok]]) can affect personnel not involved in a mission 
attempt when the dilemma is encountered. 
 
A personnel placed atop a mission by a dilemma and/or "held" there 
is in [stasis] (but is not a [captive]). 
 
If a dilemma looks for something like "strongest" or "higest total 
attributes," and there is a tie, the opponent of the encountering 
player chooses. See [12.5: Ties]. 

 

In 7.2.2.0.2 (Some Dilemmas are Irrelevant), revise the final graf as: 
 
Missions are Irrelevant: Because [Bor] attempt to scout 
<i>locations</i> instead of directly attempting <i>missions</i>, all 
game text referring specifically to a <i>mission</i> attempt (such 
as [[Edo Probe]]'s "Abandon mission attempt", [[Dead End]]'s 
"Mission may not be attempted" or [[Linguistic Legerdemain]]'s 
"Place on mission; it may not be attempted") do not affect [Bor]. 
Ignore such text, and discard the dilemma if it is wholly inapplicable. 
However, the word "attempt", by itself (for example, [[Buried 



Alive]]'s "attempt ends") includes scouting attempts and 
<i>does</i> affect [Bor]. 
 
Moreover, the phrase "Mission continues" is uniquely important in 
dilemma resolution (see [conditional effects]), and means "Scouting 
continues" for Borg.  

 
In 7.2.2.0.4 (Triggered and Targeted Effects), delete all references to 

"condition" wrt triggers; it's confusing. 
 
In 7.2.2.0.4 (Triggered and Targeted Effects), in the second paragraph, 

change "the" to "a".  
 
In the same graf, insert "conditional" after "different". 
 
In the third paragraph, delete "in play." 
 
In the same graf, change "it is removed" to: 

 
it cannot be placed on an opponent's ship and must be removed 
instead. 

 
Having made all these changes, split the entire sidebar (7.2.2.0.4) into 

two sidebars: 7.2.2.0.3 Dilemma Targets and 7.2.2.0.4 Dilemma 
Triggers. 

 
To make space for the new 7.2.2.0.3, demote the current 7.2.2.0.3 

(Combo Dilemmas) to 7.2.2.0.7. 
 
Remove this paragraph from 7.2.2.0.1 (Reading and Responding) and 

break it into new sidebar, 7.2.2.0.6 Doubling (or Tripling) Dilemmas: 
 
If a dilemma is "doubled" (for example, by [[Lore]]), all features of 
the dilemma are doubled, including requirements, effects, and point 
values. However, some cards double only parts of a dilemma, like 
[[Howard Heirloom Candle]], which doubles effects only, and 
[[Shades of Gray: Brutality]], which doubles requirements only. 

 
Rename 7.2.2.0.5 (Cards with Alternate Removal Destinations) to 

"Dilemmas Entering Play." 
 
It should say "removed" instead of "discarded". 
 
Also move ", for any reason," to parentheses after "target" (or delete). 
 
7.2.2.1 (Automatic Effects): Change "this location" to "the mission where 

it is encountered". Delete the Fractured Time example, which is 
redundant. 

 
Change "If ALL of the effects you face in a dilemma encounter are 

automatic effects, your mission team automatically removes it at the 
end of the encounter." to "If ALL the effects your mission team 
encounters on a dilemma are automatic, the dilemma is 
automatically removed at the end of the encounter." 

 
Delete "(The dilemma is discarded unless otherwise specified.)," since 

that's already spelled out just above in 7.2.2. 
 
Capitalize CUNNING correctly in the discussion of Chula: The Lights, and 

change the semicolon to ", so". 
 
7.2.2.2 (Conditional Effects): Change the first "overcome" to "meet." 
 
Change "which has several skill requirements" to "which has multiple 

options for defeating its effect". 
 
Change "removed and discarded" to "overcome and removed." 
 
Delete "often" from the discussion of "unless" or "to get past", but insert 

the phrase "cannot get past" (which is sometimes used instead). 
 
Change both uses of "If a dilamma states" to "If a dilemma says". (This is 

just a simpler word.) 
 
Change "even if the mission team failed to overcome its conditions" to 

"even if the mission team failed to overcome it". 

 
7.2.2.2.0.1 (Condition Examples): In the first graf, change "removed" to 

"overcome (remove it)". 
 
In the second graf, change "removed" with "overcome". Change "the 

chance" to "a second chance". 
 
7.2.2.3 (Cures): Change the title of this section to "Curable Effects" to be 

consistent with 7.2.2.1 and 7.2.2.2. 
 
Change "First, the effect happens" to "First, the dilemma has its effects" 

(clarifying that cure requirements can't be met until the end of the 
encounter with the entire dilemma). 

 
Insert a paragraph break before the sentence "Cure requirements are 

often harder to meet than normal requirements,". 
 
In the last paragraph, change "cure condition" to "cure requirement". 
 
7.2.2.3.0.1 (Cure Examples): in the first graf, delete the word 

"establishing". 
 
Split the nullification examples into their own sidebar in the next section. 

What are they doing here, even? 
 
7.2.2.4 (Nullifiers): Change the title of this section to "Nullifiable Effects" 

to be consistent with 7.2.2.1 and 7.2.2.2. 
 
Change "discarded" to "removed". 
 
Append the following new paragraph at the end: "Failing to immediately 

meet a nullifier does not cause mission failure." 
 

This is primarily a merger between the Glossary and Rulebook entries, so all 

the dilemma resolution rules are in one place and no one has to flip between 

different rulebooks for different fragments of rule anymore. However, there is 

also a clarification of how reseeding after an escape works, with a reversal of 

an old ruling about Elim Garak. 

 

 

7.2.6: Mission Failure – 

 

In 7.2.6.0.1 (Reseed After Escapes), clarify the first sentence: 
 
If, just after encountering a dilemma, but before it has any effects, 
the entire crew or Away Team leaves the mission attempt,... 

 
In the same sidebar, add further clarification: 

 
On the other hand, if the dilemma encounter has begun to resolve 
when the entire crew or Away Team leaves the attempt, continue 
resolving the dilemma as if it were being faced by a crew or Away 
Team with zero members. 

 
In the same sidebar, change the example to use [DL] The Gift and 

Disgraceful Assault. 
 

This answers a standing question about what happens if a ship is destroyed by 

the first effect of Disgraceful Assault before the second effect is faced: the 

dilemma has had some effect, so does not reseed, but fully resolves (including 

its "Discard dilemma"). 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no new format changes. 

 

 

 



TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

The temporary ruling about unique dilemmas and Disrupted Continuum 

remains in place this month. 

 

The temporary ruling about forces winning battles is resolved and reversed 

this month by our permanent ruling this month on battle. 

 

See the Glossary for the permanent list of temporary rulings. 

 

 

STAR TREK is a registered trademark. TM, ® & © 2022 CBS Studios Inc. All 

Rights Reserved.  

 

 

 

 

 


