
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(4 April 2022) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the RRD, as long as 

they have the most recent posted copy of those core documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the core documents. (Old RRDs 

are archived unofficially at the Starship Excelsior Rules Archive while we work 

on a permanent on-site solution) 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 
bonus point area – 

 

Revise in toto as follows: 

 

Some cards have point boxes, even though they are not missions 

(or   Borg Objectives). These boxes represent bonus points. 

If a card with a bonus point box is worth points to you when it 

leaves play, place it in a point area on your side of the table so that 

you remember those points. These cards are not in play, nor are 

they part of your discard pile. If a card or rule diverts a bonus 

point card from your point area, whether permanently (You Can't 

Kill The Captain) or temporarily (Federation Flagship: 

Recovered); or if you score bonus points from a card without a 

point box (such as Lack of Preparation), then you must keep 

track of those bonus points by other means. 

 

When you resolve scoring for any non-mission card with a point box, 

that card (unless it remains on a target or otherwise specifies that it 

stays in play to score the points) is placed in a bonus point area 

near your discard pile, as a reminder of those points, even if the 

card says to discard it. This is not part of your discard pile and is 

unaffected by cards such as Res-Q or Fire Sculptor. Cards in the 

bonus point area are no longer in play unless otherwise specified. 

For example, if a unique captive is placed in the point area using 

Relics of the Chase, its owner may report another copy of that 

personnel. If points are scored from a card without a point box 

(such as Lack of Preparation), that card is discarded when resolved, 

not placed in the point area. You must keep track of such points by 

another method. 

 

Conforming to Rulebook revision. 

 
 
 

 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

Persona Replacement – 

 

Replace the second paragraph as follows: 

 

All persona replacements for a turn occur simultaneously. You must 

own and control all cards you replace. The replacement cannot add 

or remove any personas from play. For example, you may not 

replace Lursa with Sisters of Duras unless you also 

replace B'Etor at the same time. 

 

You may not replace the same persona more than once per turn in 

this fashion. You may not replace a card that you no longer control 

or a card you do not own. If you replace a dual-personnel card, you 

must replace both personas represented on that card. For example, 

you may only perform persona replacement on Sisters of Duras if 

you are able to exchange it for both Lursa and B'Etor. 

 

This clarifies that you can do multiple swaps, but they are simultaneous. 

(Thus, you can persona swap Jadzia Dax + Sons of Mogh for Worf and Jadzia 

+ Kurn, all in one fell swoop.) Moreover, explicit references to dual-personnel 

cards were removed in order to support a new card forthcoming in Paradise 

Lost. 

 

 



Leaving Play – 

 

Revise the second-to-last paragraph as follows: 

 

If a card with a bonus point box is worth points to you when it 

leaves play, place it in a point area on your side of the table so that 

you remember those points. These cards are not in play, nor are 

they part of your discard pile. 

 

When you score points from non-mission card with a point box, 

place it in a bonus point area on your side of the table, as a 

reminder of those points (unless the card remains on a target or 

otherwise specifies that it should remain in play). Cards in your 

point area are not in your discard pile and are neither in play nor 

out-of-play. 

 

Then, in the sidebar Other Bonus Points, add before the final 
sentence: 
 
Likewise, a card with a bonus point box may be diverted from your 
bonus point area even after scoring (for example, by You Can't Kill 
the Captain). 
 

The big clarification here is the part about bonus point cards getting diverted 

from the point area; you still score the points. The rest is just a rewrite, 

because  the awkard phrasing "when you resolve scoring... unless it remains 

on a target or otherwise..." has given us one too many headaches. 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no new format changes. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

The temporary ruling about Federation Flagship: Recovered is removed thanks 

to the clarification about bonus point scoring. 

 

The temporary ruling about unique dilemmas and Disrupted Continuum 
remains in place this month. 

 
The temporary ruling about forces winning battles remains in place this 

month. 
 
See the Glossary for the permanent list of temporary rulings. 
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