
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(6 September 2021) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the RRD, as long as 

they have the most recent posted copy of those core documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the core documents. (Old RRDs 

are archived unofficially at the Starship Excelsior Rules Archive while we work 

on a permanent on-site solution) 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 

beaming – 

 

Delete the paragraph about Nor beaming restrictions. 

 

Should have been deleted in April; was not due to an oversight. 

 

 

cumulative – 

 

Delete the sentence defining targets (in the second paragraph). 

 

Target is now properly and much more clearly defined in the relevant Glossary 

entry, so we'll just send readers there instead of having them parse out this 

half-definition. 

 

 

DEFENSE bonus – 

 

Revise as follows: 

 

A feature of Tactic cards. In a ship battle, the DEFENSE bonus on 

your current tactic (if any) is added to the SHIELDS of your ship that 

is being fired upon (plus any SHIELDS extension from a facility 

where the ship is docked), to calculate your DEFENSE total. The 

DEFENSE bonus is not an attribute enhancement. In a ship battle, 

the DEFENSE bonus on your current tactic (if any) is added to the 

SHIELDS of your ship that is being fired upon to calculate your 

DEFENSE total. The DEFENSE bonus is not an attribute 

enhancement. See Rulebook: Ship Battle. 

 

It was not clear that facility shield "extension" added to the ship's base 

SHIELDS, or simply increased the ship's final DEFENSE in battle specifically. 

This had implications for cards like Romulan Ambush, Auto-Destruct 

Sequence, and Hunting Group. 

 

 

 

destroy – 

 

Replace with a link to Rulebook: Killed or Destroyed. 

 

Redundant with Rulebook. 

 

 

dilemma resolution: targets– 

 

Delete the first sentence (defining targets). 

 

Target is now properly and much more clearly defined in the relevant Glossary 

entry, so we'll just send readers there instead of having them parse out this 

half-definition. 

 

 

disabled – 

 

Replace with a link to Rulebook: Disabled. 

 

Redundant with Rulebook. 

 

 



discard pile – 

 

Revise as follows: 

 

When you play a card which allows you to "exchange" it for a card 

in your discard pile (e.g., Palor Toff - Alien Trader, Res-Q), the two 

cards trade places: the card from the discard pile goes into your 

hand, and the card you played takes the position of that card in the 

discard pile. Selecting the target card is part of the results step of 

the action. (Only the discard pile itself is targeted in the initiation 

step.) For example, you initiate the play of Res-Q without naming an 

intended target; your opponent may respond with Countermanda, 

removing three cards from your discard pile before you look through 

the pile and select a card to exchange for. 

 

Selecting the target card is always part of the initiation step of the action. This 

very old passage of the Glossary seems to be a holdover from before the 

intiation step was fleshed out, and is not compatible with the game's post-

2001 timing rules. 

 

 

docking – 

 

Change: 

 

When a space facility allows a ship to report there, the ship must 

report docked. 

 

to:  

 

When a ship is played to a facility <adv>(or its site)</adv> that 

allows docking, it must enter play docked. 

 

This rule has been lurching around the Rulebook/Glossary since Premiere, but 

has previously been inconsistently updated to align with changing definitions 

of docking, facility, etc., so its meaning has not always been clear. This 

clarifies how the rule interacts with cards like Staging Ground and Reunite 

Legends, which allow ships to report to a facility without actually being the 

facility. 

 

Change: 

 

Docked ships are protected by extension of 50% of the facility's 

SHIELDS, but may not attempt missions or fire WEAPONS. 

 

to:  

 

Docked ships gain SHIELDS equal to 50% of the facility's SHIELDS, 

but may not attempt missions or fire WEAPONS. 

 

It was not clear that facility shield "extension" added to the ship's base 

SHIELDS, or simply increased the ship's final DEFENSE in battle specifically. 

This had implications for cards like Romulan Ambush, Auto-Destruct 

Sequence, and Hunting Group. 

 

 

facility: using facilities – 

 

Revise as follows: 

 

When docked at a space facility, a ship is protected by the extension 

of 50% of the facility's SHIELDS (the number is added to the docked 

ship's DEFENSE total; the facility's SHIELDS are not reduced), gains 

SHIELDS equal to 50% of the facility's SHIELDS (the facility's 

SHIELDS are not reduced), but may not attempt missions or fire its 

WEAPONS, even in retaliation. Ships cannot dock at a planet facility 

and receive no protection from its SHIELDS. 

 

It was not clear that facility shield "extension" added to the ship's base 

SHIELDS, or simply increased the ship's final DEFENSE in battle specifically. 

This had implications for cards like Romulan Ambush, Auto-Destruct 

Sequence, and Hunting Group. 

 

 

for uniqueness only – 

 

Replace with a link to Rulebook: In Play 'For Uniqueness Only'. 

 

Redundant with Rulebook. 

 

 

in play – 

 

Replace the fourth paragraph (only) and the final bullet point in the 

closing list with a cross-reference to Rulebook: In Play 'For 

Uniqueness Only'. 

 

Redundant with Rulebook. 

 

 

killed – 

 

Add a link to Rulebook: Killed or Destroyed. 

 

Mostly redundant with Rulebook, although the cross-reference to discarding 

is still useful. 

 

 

quarantine – 

 

Replace with a link to Rulebook: Quarantined. 

 

Redundant with Rulebook. 

 

 

stasis – 

 

Replace with a link to Rulebook: Stasis. 

 

Redundant with Rulebook. 

 

 

stopped – 

 

Replace with a link to Rulebook: Stopped. 

 

Redundant with Rulebook. 

 

 



target – 

 

Revise as follows: 

 

The target of an effect includes every card, every deck (or hand), 

and every player that is altered by the effect. 

 

A deck (or hand) is only targeted if the entire deck (or hand) is 

directly altered, not just individual cards within it. For 

example, Regenerate targets your draw deck or discard pile, but 

Orb of Prophecy and Change only the top card of your draw 

deck. Alien Probe targets both players' hands, but Chula: The 

Lights only targets the personnel returned to hand (not the hand 

itself). 

 

A player is altered if he or she is permitted or required to take an 

action (or score points) that would not be permitted under normal 

rules. This is a continuous effect [crosslink to cumulative].Act of 

selecting and identifying a particular thing such as a card, discard 

pile, draw deck, player, etc. for a purpose specified by a card or 

rule. Also, the thing that is targeted. 

 

A card does not have to explicitly use the word "target" to target 

something. 

 

If an Objective, Incident, or Event requires you to target (select) a 

ship, planet, personnel, etc., and the target is removed from play or 

becomes an invalid target, then the card which required that target 

is immediately discarded.Your card may require you to choose a 

long-term target (other than the card it is played on). If the long-

term target leaves play, your card leaves play in the same manner. 

For example, if the male targeted by Assimilate 

Counterpart returns to hand, so does Assimilate 

Counterpart. However, for an exception, see Conundrum. 

 

Targets are selected during the initiation step of an action. You 

cannot target an action. For example, Barclay Transporter 

Phobia targets a personnel, randomly selected from a group that is 

beaming. It does not target the beaming action itself. See showing 

your cards, actions - step 1: initiation. 

 

The concept of "long-term target" needed to be added to account for cards 

like Assimilate Counterpart without harming the far broader definition of 

"target" used in dilemma resolution, cumulativity, and many cards. This entry, 

in particular, had to do a lot of work to reconcile the two different concepts 

into one word. 

 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

Leaving Play – 

 

Revise as follows: 

 

If a card requires you to target another card, and the target leaves 

play or becomes an invalid target, the card requiring the target is 

immediately discarded. For example, if Calloway is killed while 

being targeted by Rituals of the Hunt, Rituals discards. 

Your card may require you to choose a long-term target (other than 

the card it is played on). If the long-term target leaves play, your 

card leaves play in the same manner. For example, if the male 

targeted by Assimilate Counterpart returns to hand, so does 

Assimilate Counterpart. 

 

Aside from being a bad example, the concept of "long-term target" needed to 

be added to account for cards like Assimilate Counterpart without harming the 

far broader definition of "target" used in dilemma resolution, cumulativity, and 

many cards. 

 

 

Beam – 

 

Delete the clause about "nor allow beaming through a Nor's shields" in 

the clarification about Transporter Arcana. 

 

Should have been deleted in April; wasn't. 

 

 

Dock & Undock – 

 

Delete and replace as follows: 

 

Your outposts allow your ships to dock and undock. Your ship must 

be compatible with your outpost to dock, but its crew does not 

have to be. 

 

Docking and undocking are forms of ship movement that use no 

RANGE. To dock or undock from your outpost, your ship must 

be staffed. Since it uses no RANGE, there is no limit on the number 

of times a ship may dock or undock in a turn. Place docked ships 

beneath the facility card (<adv>or atop the site card</adv>). 

 

While docked, your ship gains SHIELDS equal to 50% of the facility's 

SHIELDS. Docked ships may not attempt missions or fire WEAPONS 

(even to return fire when attacked). Docked ships are not destroyed 

if the facility is destroyed. Outposts repair only docked ships. 

 

When a ship is played to a facility <adv>(or its site)</adv> that 

allows docking, it must enter play docked. 

 

Rewritten for clarity. Stations do NOT allow docking by default. SHIELD 

extension is NOT optional and is NOT limited to battle only. Ambiguous 

phrasing about ships having to report docked is clarified. 

 

 

Dock & Undock: Carried Ships – 

 

Add the following to the clarifications sidebar: 
 
Carried ships are present with the carrying ship, and with the crews 
of both ships. 
 

Clarifying presence with carried ships. 

 

 



Ship Battle – 

 

Revise as follows: 

 

The defender computes his or her DEFENSE total by adding the 

SHIELDS of his or her single targeted ship or facility (including 

applicable enhancements) plus the DEFENSE bonus from his or her 

current tactic (if any). If the defending target is docked, the 

defender also adds adds the facility's shield extension bonus. This 

bonus is equal to 50% of the facility's current SHIELDS. The 

defender computes his or her DEFENSE total by adding the SHIELDS 

of his or her single targeted ship or facility (including applicable 

enhancements and, if docked, 50% of the facility's SHIELDS) plus 

the DEFENSE bonus from his or her current tactic (if any). 

 

It was not clear that facility shield "extension" added to the ship's base 

SHIELDS, or simply increased the ship's final DEFENSE in battle specifically. 

This had implications for cards like Romulan Ambush, Auto-Destruct 

Sequence, and Hunting Group. 

 

 

Stopped – 

 

In the second regular paragraph, replace "personnel" with "cards." 

 

The list of things stopped cards can't do applies to ships and equipment as 

well as personnel. 

 

 

Stasis – 

 

Add two sidebars: 

 

CLARIFICIATION: Ship In Stasis, Crew Not 

If personnel who are not in stasis are aboard a ship in stasis (for 

example, because a [[Cyber Drone]] was aboard when the ship 

entered stasis), they cannot move the ship, or beam off using that 

ship's transporters. 

 

CLARIFICATION: Global Effects Affect Stasis Cards 

Cards or rules that have a global effect on all ships and/or personnel 

in play, such as Anti-Time Anomaly and Stop First Contact's 

timeline disruption, affect cards in stasis normally. 

 

These clarifications were in the Glossary but not yet in the Rulebook. 

 

 

Killed or Destroyed – 

 

Add a sidebar: 

 

CLARIFICATIONS: Death Terminates Disability 

If a personnel worth bonus points when killed, such as [[Aamin 

Marritza]], is killed while disabled or in stasis, the disabled/stasis 

effect ends when he is killed and the points are scored. 

 

This clarification was in the Glossary but not yet in the Rulebook. 

 

 

"Here" and "Present" – 

 

Replace the third paragraph as follows: 

 

Ships (friendly or opposing) are present with each other when they 

are at the same spaceline location (even while docked). They are 

also present with any site or facility at which they are docked (their 

crews are not) and with the location. 

 

Ships and facilities are present with all other ships and facilities 

(both players') at the same location (except carried ships), with 

other cards at the location like The Nexus, and with any site at 

which they are docked. They are not present with one another's 

crews. Planet facilities and landed ships are present with the planet. 

 

Clarifying what it means to be "present" with ships and, especially, facilities. 

 

 

The Cumulative Rule – 

 

In the Targets sidebar, change the Betazoid Gift Box example to use 

Orb of Prophecy and Change (top card only). 

 

For consistency with the revised Glossary entry... and because it's a much 

better example. 

 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no new format changes. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

The temporary ruling regarding a commandeered DS9 and Staging Ground has 

been resolved and is hereby removed. 

 

There are currently no temporary rulings. 

 

See the Glossary for the permanent list of temporary rulings. 

 

 

STAR TREK is a registered trademark. TM, ® & © 2021 CBS Studios Inc. All 
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