
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(5 April 2021) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the Recent Rulings 

Document, as long as they have the most recent posted copy of those 

documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the Glossary.  The RRD is also a 

useful way to see recent rules changes at a glance. 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 

Black Hole – 

 

Revise as follows:  

 

This doorway may only be played between two of the missions 

named ❖ Space, not other universal [S] missions. This doorway will 

pull in all cards (including ships) at the adjacent location even if 

a Q-Net is between the Black Hole and the adjacent location. If it 

pulls in the last location on either end of the spaceline, it stops 

alternating and continues to pull in locations from the remaining 

side. Cards that can close a doorway (e.g., Revolving Door) 

suspend the Black Hole's game text and are not pulled in. 

 

When a ship in a Temporal Rift (or Time Travel Pod) is located at a 

spaceline location that is pulled into a Black Hole, the ship is not 

immediately discarded, because the ship is time traveling and thus 

not at that location "in the present"; the card only indicates where it 

will eventually reappear. Move the ship to the Black Hole location 

itself until it reappears. 

 

These sentences are no longer needed, thanks to clarifying errata. Unclear 

that the other sentences are needed, either, but we're thinking about keeping 

them until Temporal Rift / Time Travel Pod get clarified. 

 

 

Engage Shuttle Operations – 

 

Revise as follows: 

 

This event allows shuttles to be loaded and carried aboard, and 

launched from, a ship with Tractor Beam and an ENGINEER aboard. 

Launching a shuttle from the ship uses no RANGE. Landing on or 

taking off from a planet requires the full movement RANGE of the 

shuttle (including any modifiers). Launching, loading, landing, and 

taking off require full staffing. See movement, characteristics, 

carried ships. 

 

No longer needed, thanks to clarifying errata. 

 

 

Release This Pain – 

 

Replace this entry with, "See does not work with." 

 

This entry should have been updated after our ruling on DNWW in 2019, but 

we erred. Now it's fixed! 

 

 



Vulcan Mindmeld – 

 

Revise as follows: 

 

This interrupt adds only regular (not special) skills. (See skills - 

modifying.) 

 

Your Mindmeld personnel may meld with any personnel, including 

androids and holograms. The personnel need not remain together 

after the meld to use their added skills. Mindmeld may not be 

"chained." If Sarek melds with Riva, and Spock melds 

with Sarek, Spock gains only Sarek's Diplomacy x3 and Mindmeld; 

he does not also gain Riva's Diplomacy x2. 
 

Since there is nothing today on the card or in the general rules to support 

Decipher's ruling that Mindmeld "chaining" is not allowed, we are going to 

allow "chaining" Mindmelds from now on. The rest of the entry is just 

unnecessary. 

 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

Recent expansion icons are added to the Icon Legend. 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no new format changes. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

New temporary ruling (from earlier this month):  

 

If the Deep Space 9 that Staging Ground is on is commandeered, Staging 

Ground is unaffected. (It is neither discarded nor deactivated, and you may 

continue reporting cards with it either directly to the Pylons or to orbit at the 

same location.) 

 

The temporary ruling regarding modified wins and the Organized Play Guide is 

rescinded, thanks to the release of the new OPG which codifies it. 

 

The temporary ruling regarding Seek Hidden Reliquary is awaiting clarifying 

errata to confirm the ruling, expected in Q2 2021. 

 

See the Glossary for the permanent list of temporary rulings. 
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