
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(1 March 2021) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the Recent Rulings 

Document, as long as they have the most recent posted copy of those 

documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the Glossary.  The RRD is also a 

useful way to see recent rules changes at a glance. 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 

actions - required – 

Delete this entry and replace with the following: 

 

Required actions are usually indicated by "must" or "must do 

nothing but." For example, if Anya is present where Salia has just 

been randomly selected, Anya must replace her. Responses to a 

required action work normally. 

 

You may not end your Execute Orders step until all your ships 

and personnel have completed all actions they are required and able 

to complete. Cards may not initiate actions that make it impossible 

for them to take an action they are required to take. For example, if 

a Federation ship and crew is at Samaritan Snare, they may not 

move away before attempting the mission. 

 

A required action that affects a ship automatically affects its crew. 

"Full speed" and "normal speed" mean a ship must use all available 

RANGE each turn to accomplish a required action, even if this places 

the ship at a hazard such as Gaps In Normal Space. 

 

"Must do nothing but" means that the affected ship and/or crew 

cannot initiate or continue any other voluntary actions (cloaking, 

beaming, attempting, battling, etc.) until the required action is 

completed, even if that takes more than one turn. (Outside 

personnel and equipment not yet compelled by the required action 

may report to or board it, but are then compelled. They may not use 

the affected ship's transporters.) The ship and crew may defend 

themselves in battle and use skills to cure/nullify cards affecting the 

ship, since those are not voluntarily initiated actions. 

 

If required to move to a destination, a ship may take shortcuts, such 

as Wormhole or Lakanta, but only if it directly shortens the travel. 

For example, if Two of Nineteen is affected by Cytherians, it may 

use its special skill to download Transwarp Network Gateway to 

move between two existing Gateways, but not to play a new 

Gateway. Shortcuts are never required. 

 

The actions-required rule was very confusing, and included a strange 

distinction between "moving-required" and "non-moving required" actions. We 

like to think we've just cleaned it up. (Although it's still a long Glossary entry, 

it's now, believe it or not, 40% shorter!) In the process, we eliminated the rule 

that non-moving required actions must take place as soon as possible. 

Instead, they work the same as moving-required actions: you have to get 

them done during your Execute Orders phase, but you can choose when they 

get done. That should be the only functional change! 

 

 

ANIMAL – 

 

Delete this entry. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

any – 

 

Delete the first two paragraphs of this entry. 

 

Revise the third paragraph (now the first paragraph) as follows: 

 

For other card types, If a card refers to a characteristic preceded by 

the word “any” (or “a”, “an”, or “one”), it refers to a card with that 

characteristic. For example, “any disruptor” includes Varon-T 

Disruptor, Klingon Disruptor Rifle, and Breen CRM114, while “Any 

Emblem card” includes Emblem of the Empire and Emblem of the 

Alliance (but not cards displaying the icons representing those 

emblems), and "any Odo" can refer to Odo, Curzon Odo, Overseer 

Odo, and Odo Founder. 

 

"Any" now means the same thing and acts the same way for all card types, 

and no longer requires specific knowledge of individual Star Trek episodes. A 

card is "any Scotty" if the card identifies itself as a Scotty, just like any other 

characteristic. 

 



 

 

assimilation - personnel – 

 

Revise this segment as follows: 

 

Borg do not assimilate (or target for assimilation) ANIMALs or [Holo] 

holograms holographic recreations... 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

Blended – 

 

Replace this entry with: "See any." 

 

The revisions to the "any" rule, combined with today's Scotty errata to make 

them work with this rule, eliminate the ambiguity about which cards count as 

"any Scotty." 

 

 

dual-personnel cards – 

 

Replace this entry with: "See Rulebook: Dual-Personnel Cards, 

Rulebook: Personnel Battle, Rulebook: Personnel 

Assimilation, Rulebook: Persona Replacement." 

 

Deleting this redundant Glossary entry. 

 

 

Emergent Life-Form – 

 

New entry: 

 

Opponent may move the target ship as stated by this dilemma, but 

opponent is subject to normal movement rules: the ship must be 

staffed, cannot move through a Q-Net unless 2 Diplomacy aboard, 

et cetera. Opponent may move the ship only once, from one 

location to another location, "warping past" any locations in 

between; multiple moves (for example, to exhaust the ship's RANGE 

by flying back and forth between two missions) are not allowed. If 

ship is affected by Cytherians, opponent may still move the ship, but 

only by moving in the direction required by Cytherians using all 

available RANGE. 

 

Eight years after the question was first asked, we finally officially tell you what 

happens if Emergent Life-Form and Cytherians are placed on the same ship! 

The rest of the entry is old rulings that have never been formally collected into 

the Glossary. (The ship staffing ruling came from Decipher via the DRG.) 

 

 

George and Gracie – 

 

Delete the cross-reference to ANIMAL. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

holographic personnel and equipment – 

 

Replace this entry with: "See Rulebook: Holographic Personnel and 

Equipment, Rulebook: Species, Rulebook: Personnel 

Assimilation." 

 

Deleting this redundant Glossary entry. 

 

 

 

 

impersonator – 

 

Replace the persona cross-reference with a cross-reference to 

Rulebook: Mirror Opposites and Impersonators. 

 

Updating a key cross-reference. 

 

 

infiltrator – 

 

Replace this entry with: "See Rulebook: Mirror Opposites and 

Impersonators." 

 

Deleting this redundant Glossary entry. 

 

 

Kurlan Nasikos – 

 

Modify this entry as follows: 

 

This artifact requires the original any seven personnel types 

(OFFICER, ENGINEER, SCIENCE, MEDICAL, SECURITY, 

CIVILIAN, ANIMAL and/or V.I.P.). See attribute modifiers. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

Miracle Worker – 

 

Delete this entry. 

 

Miracle Worker no longer includes unprinted Transporter Skill. Today, all 

Miracle Worker personnel are receiving errata so that they have printed 

Transporter Skill. 

 

 

multi-affiliation cards – 

 

Replace this entry with: "See Rulebook: Multi-Affiliation Cards." 

 

Deleting this redundant Glossary entry. 

 

 

persona – 

 

Replace this entry with: "See Rulebook: Duplication and Personas, 

Rulebook: Persona Replacement, Rulebook: Mirror 

Opposites and Impersonators." 

 

Deleting this redundant Glossary entry. 

 

 

skills - modifying – 

 

Delete the words "except ANIMAL" from the section that states personnel 

types may be chosen as skills. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 



 

Soong-Type Android – 

 

Delete the cross-reference to ANIMAL. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

species – 

 

Add the following to Step #2: 

 

All non-[Holo] personnel with a Borg subcommand icon ([SCC], 

[SCN] or [SCD] ) are Borg species, and all non-[Holo] personnel 

with a [KW] Ketracel-White icon are Jem'Hadar, as well as any 

species also indicated in the next steps. 

 

Modify step #4 as follows: 

 

4. If the preceding steps do not indicate the (non-Borg) species, 

look to the image. Each affiliation has one or more "usual species": 

if the image of the personnel matches a "usual species" of its 

printed affiliation, then the personnel is that species. For a multi-

affiliation card, look for matches in the "usual species" of any of the 

card's affiliations; the personnel then retains that species in any 

affiliation mode. 

 

* For [Fed], [SF], [NA], and [Neu], Human is the "usual species." 

* For [Dom], the "usual species" are is Changeling, Vorta, and 

Jem'Hadar. 

* For all other species except [Neu], the species with the same 

name as the affiliation is a "usual species." 

 

Slightly simplifying the "usual species" rule by eliminating exception cases for 

Dominion and Neutral affiliations. No functional changes. 

 

 

Spot – 

 

Delete the cross-reference to ANIMAL. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

Targ – 

 

Delete the cross-reference to ANIMAL. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

Appendix A – 

 

Add ANIMAL to the list of selectable skills. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

Sidebar: Personas and Requirements – 

 

Replace the last two paragraphs with: 

 

An "any" requirement can be met by any personnel with the given 

characteristic. For example, only the card titled Pel could meet the 

Pel requirement on Tulaberry Wine Negotiations, but any card 

identified in title or lore as "Quark" (including Deputy Quark, Mr. 

Quark, and Quark Son of Keldar) can meet the "any Quark" 

requirement. 

 

This change reflects today's changes to the "any" rule. 

 

 

Sidebar: Ambiguities - Multi-Affiliation Personnel – 

 

Add this paragraph to the end: 

 

If a multi-affiliation card is reported using an affiliation-specific 

benefit, it must report in that affiliation mode, while following all 

applicable restrictions. For example, Dar can use Dominion War 

Efforts only if reported in [Dom] mode to a [Dom] ship or facility. If 

you download him in [Hir] mode to a [Hir] ship or facility, you must 

discard Assign Support Personnel. 

 

This rule is being moved here from the Glossary entry on multi-affiliation 

cards. 

 

 

Dual-Personnel Cards – 

 

Insert this new sidebar: 

 

CLARIFICATIONS: Dual-personnel downloads 

Dual-personnel cards are downloaded normally; if you download 

Seska (on Cullah and Seska) with Defend Homeworld, Culluh 

automatically downloads, too.  

 

If a card allows the download of multiple personnel, all legal targets 

on a dual-personnel card must count towards the limits of the 

download. For example, suppose you use Ferengi Conference to 

download CIVILIANs with up to 11 [SD]. First, you download Jake 

and Nog. They are both CIVILIANs and both count, using 6 of your 

[SD]. Then, you download Deanna Troi on The Trois, using 2 of 

your [SD]. (Lwaxana is not a CIVILIAN, so her [SD] do not count.) 

 

This rule is being moved here from the Glossary entry on dual-personnel. 

 

 

Persona Replacement – 

 

Insert this new sidebar: 

 

CLARIFICATIONS: No clone swaps 

Cards like Clone Machine may allow you to put more than one copy 

of a unique card in play. This does not change the rule that you may 

have only one version of a unique persona in play. If you have two 

Tom Parises in play, you may not exchange either for a Captain 

Proton in our hand.  

 

This rule is being moved here from the Glossary entry on personas. 

 



 

Sidebar: Personnel Assimilation – 

 

Delete the prohibition on assimilating ANIMALs. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

Commandeer – 

 

Delete the prohibition on commandeering with ANIMALs. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

Sidebar: List of Regular Skills – 

 

Add ANIMAL and delete the ANIMAL exception. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

ANIMAL – 

 

Delete this subsection. 

 

All special rules for the ANIMAL classification are cancelled. 

 

 

Sidebar: Automatic Characteristic - Species – 

 

Delete the large exception box for the Dominion's "usual species." 

 

Instead, note above that the usual species for [Dom] is "Changeling." 

 

In the fifth paragraph, after the first sentence, add: 

 

Any personnel who has a [KW] Ketracel-White icon is Jem'Hadar 

species. 

 

Removing the Dominion's usual species ambiguity. 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 

There are no new format changes. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULING UPDATES 

 

The resolution of the temporary ruling regarding modified wins and the 

Organized Play Guide is pending the release of the new OPG. 

 

The temporary ruling regarding Seek Hidden Reliquary is awaiting clarifying 

errata to confirm the ruling, expected in Q2 2021. 

 

There are no other changes to the temporary rulings. See the Glossary for the 

permanent list of temporary rulings. 
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