
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(7 December 2020) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the Recent Rulings 

Document, as long as they have the most recent posted copy of those 

documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the Glossary.  The RRD is also a 

useful way to see recent rules changes at a glance. 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 

battle—affiliation restrictions – 

 

Revise the third paragraph as follows (deleting the example): 

 

In a mixed force, all cards must be compatible, and the force is 

subject to all the attack restrictions of its members. See force. 

 

See this month's RRD update for force for more details. 

 

 

corresponding – 

 

Delete and replace with: 

 

A location "corresponds" to another location if they share the same 

location text and are in the same quadrant. The location text of a 

mission or time location is found in bold text in its lore box. Other 

location cards (like Bajoran Wormhole) use their card title. 

 

For example, the time location Sherman's Peak corresponds to the 

spaceline location Agricultural Assessment, and vice versa, 

because both have the location "Sherman's Planet," while The 

Celestial Temple corresponds with Bajoran Wormhole. 

 

See Multidimensional Transport Device. 

 

"Corresponding spaceline location" (on Assignment: Earth) was intuitive but 

not previously defined. We took the opportunity to tidy up the whole 

definition. 

enigma icon – 

 

Replace the second sentence with: 

 

If a player has an enigma card in play, that player can not bring a 

second copy of it (or a second version of the same persona) into 

play. 

 

Also, add cross-references to unique and universal and persona. 

 

See the RRD entry for unique and universal. 

 

 

force – 

 

Insert a new paragraph after the first: 

 

All cards in a force (including all crew members) must 

be compatible. 

 

Then, insert "and [Self] self-controlling cards" after "against Borg." 

 

Finally, insert affiliation icons before all mentioned affiliations. 

 

"All cards in a force must be compatible" has been a rule since forever. For 

example, Miles O'Brien (Fajo Collection) cannot participate in a battle involving 

any Cardassians—even Cardassians on other ships. Does not work with 

says as much. However, it came to our attention that this was unclear to some 

players, and the relevant entries never quite seemed to say it. Now they do! 

 

 

http://www.trekcc.org/


here – 

 

Change "two exceptions" to "one exception," given as follows: 

 

On a site card, facility card, or card that plays on a facility or site, 

"here" means present with that card. 

 

Fixing the "Arne Darvin Problem" while also merging two similar-but-not-quite-

identical exceptions together into a single exception. 

 

 

Multidimensional Transport Device – 

 

Insert this sentence at the start: 

 

The text of this card overrides the general rule that corresponding 

locations must be in the same quadrant. 

 

Clarifying that, yes, the Golden Rule applies to this card, and it still does what 

you think it does from reading it. 

 

 

persona – 

 

Replace the second paragraph with: 

 

If a persona is unique (or [Enig] enigmatic), all instances of that 

persona are subject to the uniqueness rule: if you have one instance 

of a persona in play, you may not play another. (Nor can another 

instance you own be encountered, earned, or activated.) Your 

opponent can still play an instance of the persona. See unique and 

universal. 

 

Delete the first sentence of the third paragraph and the 's' in "examples." 

 

Replace the final sentence of the third paragraph with: 

 

If you have one of them in play, you may not play another. 

 

In the fourth paragraph, add "By contrast," to the start. 

 

Then, add "so" after "bold in their text." 

 

Then, replace the last sentence of the paragraph with: 

 

Thus, you may play Jean-Luc Picard even if Admiral Picard is already 

in play. 

 

Add "Similarly" at the start of the fifth paragraph. 

 

Finally, in the sixth paragraph, after "at the same time," insert: 

 

because she is universal 

 

See the RRD entry for unique and universal for details, but, basically, 

uniqueness is checked only when entering play, and that means a lot of tiny 

tweaks to this entry. 

 

 

present – 

 

Replace this entry with: 

 

see Rulebook: "Here" and "Present". 

 

Redundant entry no longer needed. 

 

 

unique and universal – 

 

Revise the second paragraph as follows: 

 

Each player may not have who has in play more than one a copy 

of any a card marked "Unique" in its gametext, or any version of a 

unique or ✶ enigma personnel, ship, or facility persona at the same 

time, may not play another. If another copy owned by the same 

player is encountered (for example, dilemmas), earned (for 

example, artifacts), or activated (for example, hidden agendas) by 

any player, that copy is discarded. This restriction remains even if 

that player loses control of the unique card (through assimilation, 

1962 Roger Maris Baseball Card, etc.). See persona, owner. 

 

Uniqueness is checked when a card enters play, not continuously. This can 

matter if, for example, the planet with your Clone Machine on it is consumed 

by a Black Hole. 

 

 



RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

Battle: Initiating a Battle, Sidebar—Affiliation Attack Restrictions – 

 

After the first sentence, insert: 

 

 All cards in the force must be compatible. 

 

In the third sentence, add a third example as follows: 

 

...and prevent their  Non-Aligned ship from joining forces with 

with another  Non-Aligned ship that includes  Ferengi crew. 

 

See the RRD entry for "force" for more explanation. 

 

 

"Here" and "Present" –  

 

Rewrite the second and third paragraphs as follows: 

 

Your crews and Away Teams are present with other cards (such 

as Duck Blind or opposing Away Teams) that are on the same 

ship, at the same site inside the same facility, or on the same planet 

surface. They are also present with that ship, site, facility, or planet. 

Away Teams are present with a planet only while on its surface; 

crews and Away Teams at a space location are always present with 

it. 

 

Ships (friendly or opposing) are present with each other when they 

are at the same spaceline location. They are also present with any 

site or facility at which they are docked (their crews are not) and 

with the location. 

 

Then, insert this sidebar: 

 

Clarifications: "Present" with Seeded Cards: 

 

A seeded card is not "present" with any other cards until 

encountered. For example, Madam Guinan may nullify Frame of 

Mind if she is in the mission team, or after the attempt if she is 

present with the affected personnel, but may not nullify it when 

examined by Ocular Implants. 

 

An artifact just earned is not present unless it joins the crew or 

Away Team. Thus, an Orb of Prophecy and Change is present 

with the Away Team when earned, but a Mysterious Orb or 

Horga'hn is not. 

 

The definition of "present" did not previously include clear statements about 

whether a crew or Away Team is present with a ship/facility/planet it was on. 

The new sidebar adds some clarifications that were present in the Glossary 

entry but have now been removed. 

 

 

Duplication and Personas – 

 

Change the first sentence of the second paragraph to read: 

 

In addition, if you have in play a version of any given persona, you 

may not bring another into play. 

 

And the final clause of the second paragraph should read: 

 

 and you may not play another if you already have one in play. 

 

See RRD entry for unique and universal for explanation. 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 
There are no new format changes. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULINGS (Awaiting Final Wording / Errata) 

 

There are no changes to the temporary rulings. See the Glossary for the 

permanent list of temporary rulings. 
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