
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(1 June 2020) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the Recent Rulings 

Document, as long as they have the most recent posted copy of those 

documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the Glossary.  The RRD is also a 

useful way to see recent rules changes at a glance. 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 

battle - ship – 

 

Make the word "destroyed" in the last paragraph bold, thereby adding a 

useful cross-reference. 

 

Adding a useful cross-reference to an entry that's being updated this month. 

 

 

Borg: Cooperation – 

 

Delete the cross-reference to playing Borg. 

 

That entry now points back to this entry, so not a very useful cross-reference 

anymore. 

 

 

destroy – 

 

Delete and replace this entry with: 

 

See Rulebook: Destroyed. 

 

This entry is pushed out in favor of the more-applicable Rulebook entry. 

 

 

dual-icon missions –   

 

Add this as the first sentence of the entry: 

 

Dual-icon missions, with both [P] and [S] icons, are both [P] planet 

and [S] space missions. 

 

This is a long-standing general understanding, but it is stated nowhere in the 

Glossary and only once in the Rulebook. 

 

 

examined – 

 

New entry: 

 

See unexamined. 

 

Some players naturally check under "e" for "examined" when trying to find out 

what "unexamined" means, even though "unexamined" is what nearly all the 

cards say. This is a useful cross-reference. 

 

 

infiltration – 

 

Change the phrases "is playing that affiliation" and "is not playing that 

affiliation" in the first two paragraphs to "has played or seeded face-

up a card of that affiliation" and "has not played or seeded face-up 

a card of that affiliation," respectively. 

 

This removes the dependence of the infiltration rules on the playing-an-

affiliation rule. 

 

 

http://www.trekcc.org/


movement – 

 

Change the three paragraphs of the first bullet point to be a single bullet 

followed by an inner two-bullet list. 

 

Change the first bullet point by inserting the word "provided": 

 

Normal movement - often indicated by the word "move." This is the 

default type of movement provided when a card does not specify 

otherwise. "Stopped" cards cannot perform normal movement. 

 

Add this sentence to the end of the third paragraph: 

 

When a card or rule affects (e.g. Establish Tractor Lock) or checks 

(e.g. Magnetic North) for movement using the word "move", it will 

affects or checks all forms of movement. 

 

Change all "e.g." in that pagraph to "for example". 

 

Addresses an ambiguity in cards that check movement: when Magnetic North 

says it's discarded if the ship "moves," does it only discard if the ship moves 

under its own power (normal ship movement), or is it also discarded by 

something like Caretaker's Array (both kinds of movement)? Today we 

answer: both will do it.  

 

 

personas – 

 

Replace the second paragraph with: 

 

Each player may not have more than one instance of the same non-

universal persona in play at the same time, including cards which 

have been captured, commandeered, assimilated, or are otherwise 

not under your control, unless a card specifically allows it. Each 

player may have multiple instances of a universal persona in play. 

 

This revision makes the persona rule clearly conform to the ownership rule. 

 

 

owner – 

 

Add the following at the end of the first sentence: 

 

(or brought it into play from outside the game). 

 

Add this as the second sentence: 

 

Even if you lose control of a card you own, you remain its owner 

and therefore still have it in play. 

 

Also change "e.g.," to "for example:". 

 

This addresses what turned out to be a very ambiguous point about what "you 

have in play" for purposes of (for instance) Assign Mission Specialists if one of 

your specialists has been captured, or The Final Frontier's ship download if an 

uncontrolled Starship Defiant you own is at Vintaak Drydock Station. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

playing an affiliation (non-Borg) –  

 

This entry is renamed: playing an affiliation. 

 

Delete and replace the entry with the following text: 

 

You are "playing [affilation or faction]" or are an "[affiliation or 

faction name] player" if you control or have controlled at least one 

card belonging to that affiliation or faction, or used a multi-affiliation 

card you have controlled in that affiliation mode at any time during 

the game, regardless of whether any such cards are still in play. 

Only cards which you own are considered when determining if you 

are playing an affiliation or faction. See faction. 

 

The phrases "playing Borg," "Borg player," and "Cardassian player" 

refer to the affiliations, not the species. Thus, a player with non-

 Cardassians (like  -mode Joret Dal) is not vulnerable to Tekeny 

Ghemor's special skill that targets "Cardassian players." 

 

Remember that a player who stocks any  or  cards may not 

stock any cards from other affiliations. See Borg - Cooperation. 

 

These are not functional changes. The first paragraph has been reworded for 

clarity. The other paragraphs were added in response to the deletion of the 

"playing Borg" entry -- and the bit about Tekeny Ghemor really should have 

been here all along. 

 

 

playing Borg –  

 

Replace this entry with: 

 

See playing an affiliation, Borg: Cooperation. 

 

This entry is redundant with the cross-referenced entries. 

 

 

Tricyanite Poisoning –  

 

New entry: 

 

You may not substitute or ignore requirements for Tricyanite 

Poisoning, even requirements that are in principle impossible at the 

mission you are attempting. For example, if the nearest planet 

mission has a requirement that something be "in orbit" or that 

"Away Team" have certain attributes while you are at a space 

mission, or you are at a planet mission and must meet a 

requirement like "SHIELDS >8", you will fail to overcome the 

dilemma). 

 

This resolves last month's temporary ruling about Tricyanite Poisoning, mostly 

by copying it into the Glossary. The core of the ruling seems implicit in the 

structure of the game -- cards mean what they say -- but we had enough 

questions about it that it was worth noting here for posterity. 

 

 



unique and universal –  

 

Replace the second paragraph with: 

 

Each player may not have in play more than one copy of any card 

marked “Unique” in its gametext or any unique or [Enig] enigma 

personnel, ship, or facility at the same time. If another copy owned 

by the same player is encountered (for example, dilemmas), earned 

(for example, artifacts), or activated (for example, hidden agendas) 

by any player, that copy is discarded. See personas, owner. 

 

This revision makes the uniqueness rule conform more clearly to the 

ownership rule. 

 

 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

Control and Ownership –  

 

Revise the fourth paragraph as follows: 

 

You are the owner of each card you begin the game with. You 

remain the owner of a card for the entire game,. eEven if an 

opponent takes you lose control of that card, you are still its owner 

and therefore "have it in play." For example, if your opponent takes 

control of your unique M-5 Computer by commandeering the ship it 

is on, you may not play another M-5 Computer, because you still 

have the first one in play. At the end of the game, all cards are 

returned to their owners. 

 

See this month's changes to owner in the Glossary. 

 

 

Duplication and Personas –  

 

Change the first instance of the phrase "have in play" to be a cross-

reference to the Control and Ownership rule. 

 

Because cross-references are useful, yo. 

 

 

Time Travel –  

 

Delete this sentence: 

 

A card that does not say the phrase "time travel" does not permit 

regular time travel. 

 

It's wrong. Just look at Temporal Conduit. 

 

 

 

FORMAT UPDATES 

 
There are no new format changes. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULINGS (Awaiting Final Wording) 

 
Both temporary rulings relating to Tricyanite Poisoning are removed. 

 

There are no new temporary rulings this month. See the Glossary for current 

temporary rulings. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULINGS (Awaiting Errata) 

 

There are no new temporary rulings. See the Glossary for current temporary 

rulings. 
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