
 
 

First Edition Recent Rulings Document 

(6 April 2020) 

The Recent Rulings Document lists all Glossary updates and new temporary 

rulings issued since the last regularly scheduled rules update. Rules updates 

are scheduled for the first Monday of each month and for the official release 

day of any new expansion set. 

Because the Glossary and Rulebook are kept continuously up-to-date, there is 

no need for players or tournament directors to consult the Recent Rulings 

Document, as long as they have the most recent posted copy of those 

documents. 

Any player who does not have the most recent monthly Glossary or Rulebook 

but wishes to play by current, official rules will need to collect and save each 

new Recent Rulings Document until reprinting the Glossary.  The RRD is also a 

useful way to see recent rules changes at a glance. 

Unless announced by the Rules Manager or Director in an expressly 

designated Official Ruling, answers given by Continuing Committee 

representatives are not official until included in an official rules document such 

as the Glossary. We recommend that Tournament Directors consider unofficial 

answers, but, until an Official Ruling is made, the Tournament Director 

reserves final ruling authority. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 

http://www.trekcc.org. 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY UPDATES 

 

Assimilation Table –  

 

Insert new entry: 

 

Connecting a personnel to (or disconnecting the occupant from) this 

equipment is an order. See executing orders. The Assimilation 

Table's controller may connect it to any personnel he or she controls 

(including a captive), and may disconnect it from any personnel. 

 

We received a series of questions about Assimilation Table card in recent 

months, and none had good answers. We hope this ruling resolves confusion 

around the card. 

 

 

battle - ship - multiple targets –  

 

Modify as follows: 

 

[Self] dilemmas and Borg-affiliation ships with a Multiplexor Drone 

aboard are allowed to fire WEAPONS against two or more targets in 

the same battle. (Multiplexor Drone also allows this under limited 

circumstances.) This expands the fire (or return fire) portion of the 

battle into two or more engagements. Each engagement has only 

one target, but it is possible to have multiple cards firing upon that 

target. 

 

See Multiplexor Drone's updated entry for explanation. 

 

 

characteristics –  

 

Modify the third paragraph as follows: 

 

Context determines whether a card actually has the characteristic or 

not - the key question is "does the card say it is or has this 

characteristic?" For example, the phrase "Uses the same hull as the 

Cardassian shuttlecraft" in the lore of Patrol Ship does not make this 

ship a shuttlecraft. A card may be identified as currently or formerly 

having a characteristic; Bok ("former Ferengi DaiMon") is enhanced 

by Calandra. A position with the prefix "vice" counts as that 

position; for example, Alynna Nechayev ("Vice-Admiral") counts as 

an Admiral for Going to the Top or Office of the President. Disguises 

count; Vedek Dax may report for free to Chamber of Ministers, 

and Selok is both Romulan and Vulcan species. Gendered 

characteristics (such as "priestess") are synonymous with their 

opposite-gendered equivalents (such as "priest"). 

 

It's official: for characteristics, disguises count. This reverses a Decipher ruling 

from 1999, which seemed to conflict with the design and widespread uses of 

several cards, especially Vedek Dax. 

 

 

Cytoplasmic Life-Form –  

 

Replace the first two sentences with: 

 

Multiple copies of the same personnel are not 

"different personnel."  [line break] 

 

In 2013, "different" received an official definition, consistent across the game. 

This entry was slated to be updated as well. We discovered the oversight this 

month. 

 

 

http://www.trekcc.org/


dilemma resolution: nullifiers  –  

 

Add a cross-reference to actions - step 1: initiation ("cards played as 

a cost"). 

 

This is a useful cross-reference. 

 

 

draw deck –  

 

Replace this entry with: 

 

See Rulebook: Draw Deck. 

 

The Glossary entry is redundant with the Rulebook section. 

 

 

movement –  

 

Strike the clause about Assimilation Table. 

 

Connecting to and disconnecting from an Assimilation Table is no longer 

understood as movement. 

 

 

 

Nine of Seventeen (Multiplexor Drone) –  

 

Insert this new paragraph before the cross-reference at the end: 

 

You cannot use your Multiplexor Drone's special skill during a battle 

initiated using your Eliminate Starship, because that objective 

does not allow firing WEAPONS against multiple targets. 

 

This is a longstanding ruling implicit in Multiplexor Drone's gametext, but we 

recently learned that some playgroups were unaware of the ruling, even after 

reading the existing Glossary entry. This spells it out. 

 

 

play phase –  

 

Modify as follows: 

 

After the seed phases are over, shuffle your draw deck and place it 

face down on the table. Draw seven cards to form your starting 

hand. (There is no limit to the number of cards you may hold in 

your hand during the game.) 

 

The starting player (chosen before the seed phases began) takes 

the first turn, then players alternate turns until one player scores 

100 points, or until both players' draw decks run out wins. 

See winning the game. 

 

The opening draw is being moved from the start of the play phase to the end 

of the seed phases. 

 

 

seed phases –  

 

Insert this new paragraph at the end: 

 

After the facility phase is over, shuffle your draw deck and place it 

face down on the table. Draw seven cards to form your starting 

hand. (There is no limit to the number of cards you may hold in 

your hand during the game.) Play now advances to the play phase. 

 

The opening draw is being moved from the start of the play phase to the end 

of the seed phases. 

 

 

The Sheliak –  

 

Replace this entry with: 

 

If you have already scored the mission points, you do not lose them 

when The Sheliak arrives at the mission. It has no effect on what 

the point box of the mission shows. See self-controlling cards. 

 

The Glossary entry needed an update to reflect recent errata. 

 

 

 

 

RULEBOOK UPDATES 

 

The Play Phase –  

 

Move this sentence from the beginning of this section to The Seed 

Phases: Starting the Game, just after "...place them out-of-

play.": 

 

Both players shuffle their draw decks and place them face-down on 

the table, then draw seven concealed cards to form a starting hand. 

 

The opening draw is being moved from the start of the play phase to the end 

of the seed phases. 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULINGS (Awaiting Final Wording) 

 

There are no new temporary rulings. See the Glossary for current 

temporary rulings. 

 

 

TEMPORARY RULINGS (Awaiting Errata) 

 

There are no new temporary rulings. See the Glossary for current 

temporary rulings. 
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