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RULINGS — General

*10/20 rule — Delete this entry.
actions — required — Modify the end of the first paragraph as follows:

You may (but are not required to) use Lakanta’s or The Traveller's skills,
Where No One Has Gone Before, Wormholes, Transwarp Network
Gateways, or other such means to shorten the travel, but only if it directly
shortens the travel. For example, if Two of Nineteen is affected by
Cytherians, he may use his special skill to download a Transwarp Network
Gateway to move between two existing Gateways, but not to play a new
Gateway. The ship can be affected by cards played on it or encountered on
the spaceline, such as Wormholes, Gaps In Normal Space, etc.

actions — step 1: initiation — Delete the following text in the first paragraph
of the section titled dilemmas revealed and encountered: “or your opponent
may respond by replacing the dilemma with a Q-Flash (using Beware of Q)."

Also delete the following text from the second paragraph of the same
section: “If the opponent responds by swapping the dilemma for a QFlash,
the personnel is not “stopped” or killed because no results are obtained
from the dilemma."

assimilation — personnel — Change the fifth sentence of paragraph three to
the following:

In addition to drone assimilation, you may assimilate a male personnel as a
counterpart by completing the Assimilate Counterpart objective. When this
occurs, the counterpart undergoes the same transformations as a drone,
with the following exceptions:

e He is considered male for Borg-related cards only. For example, a
counterpart is not affected by Male’s Love Interest unless Let Me
Help is in play.

attribute modifiers — Delete the first 4 paragraphs and add "see modifier
order." to the end.

Borg — Revise paragraph 4 as follows:
Gender is largely irrelevant to the Borg. Borg affiliation cards are not
affected by gender-related game text on non-Borg-related cards (e.g., Love
Interests, Matriarchal Society, Arachnia). For Borg-related cards, the
Borg Queen is female, and counterparts are male.

conversion rules — Delete this entry.

First Edition Current Rulings Document
(03 June 2019)

Current Rulings are periodic updates to the First Edition rules, including
changes, clarifications, and situations they do not address. Current Rulings are
an official supplement to the Glossary and should be used by tournament
directors in making tournament rulings.

Answers given by official Continuing Committee representatives are not official
until included in an official rules document such as the Current Rulings, Official
Clarifications, or Official Rulings, unless otherwise indicated. Such answers are
highly recommended for use by tournament directors, but the Tournament
Director always has the final authority on rulings.

This document contains all Current Rulings issued since Glossary v1.9.6
(January 2019). New Current Rulings (if any) are released on the first Monday
of each month. Entries that are new, changed, or expanded since the last
Current Rulings document are marked with an asterisk (*) before the topic
and in red text. These rulings are effective immediately.

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit
http://www.trekcc.org.

converted card indicator — Replace this entry with:

the gray bar at the bottom left corner of some cards was used to indicate
information about a card's relationship with a corresponding backwards-
compatible card from the Star Trek CCG, Second Edition. Backwards
compatibility is no longer supported, so this indicator is no longer used.

converted cards — Delete this entry.

dilemma resolution — In the fifth paragraph, replace the third sentence
with: "see modifier order."

Also, insert the following after the section on "Targets," replacing the existing
sections on "Nullifiers", "Conditions", and "Cures":

Requirements— While many dilemmas' effects are automatic, causing ill
effects as long as appropriate triggers and targets are present, other
dilemmas list skills, attributes, other characteristics, personnel, equipment,
actions, or cards as requirements. Requirements can either: prevent
and overcome a dilemma'’s ill effect by meeting its conditions, cancel its
ongoing effects by curing it; or discard the dilemma (either before or after it
takes effect) with a nullifier.

Conditions — Most dilemma requirements are simple conditions. These are
usually distinguished from triggers and nullifiers by the use of the phrases
"To get past..." or "Unless..." They ordinarily target the crew or Away
Team, but may target others where specified (see last example).

Examples:

Gomtuu Shock Wave: "Unless 2 Diplomacy and INTEGRITY>32 OR
Empathy and INTEGRITY>35 present..."

Scientific Method: "To get past requires MEDICAL and 3 SCIENCE."
Dead End: "Unless you have at least 50 points..."

If your Away Team or crew can meet the conditions of a dilemma, they
automatically overcome it, preventing its effect. Discard the dilemma (or,
if it is a multisection dilemma, proceed to its next effect). If your Away
Team or crew cannot meet its conditions, the effect occurs, the attempt
ends, the attempting ship, crew, and/or Away Team are all stopped
(see dilemma resolution: "stopping”), and the dilemma is reseeded as
the bottom card beneath the mission, to be encountered again during the
next attempt (but see dilemma resolution: discarding for exceptions).

You cannot choose not to overcome a dilemma with conditions.
See meeting requirements.

Cures— Some dilemmas have an ongoing effect that can be cured, but not
until afterthe dilemma takes effect. First, the effect happens, which
removes the dilemma from the mission's seed cards (it will not be
encountered again). Then, if the required skills are present, it is cured,
before the next dilemma is encountered. If not, then the dilemma remains



in play until cured or otherwise discarded.
Examples:
Aphasia Device: "Cure with 2 MEDICAL and 2 Biology."

Emergent Life-Form: "If ship has Holodeck, cure with 2 ENGINEER and
Astrophysics aboard."

Topological Anomaly 4747: "Cure on your next turn with new SCIENCE
arriving or when countdown expires."

On a multisection dilemma, a cure requirement applies to all sections; the
entire dilemma is always discarded once cured.

Curable requirements are always marked with the word "cure," except on
these curable dilemmas: DNA Metamorphosis, Hyper-Aging, Menthar Booby
Trap, Nitrium Metal Parasites, REM Fatigue Hallucinations, Alien Abduction
(only the 3 Leadership requirement is a cure), and Alien Abduction: Test
Subjects. A curable dilemma always has an ongoing effect and requirements
to end that effect. Those requirements are never part of the effect itself,
nor use the word "nullify."

Nullifiers — Some dilemmas state they can be nullified. Some form of the
word "nullify" is always used. When the nullifier requirement is met, the
dilemma is discarded. It can be met eitherimmediately when the dilemma
is encountered and before it takes effect (like a condition) or; if it has an
ongoing effect, at any time after it takes effect (like a cure).

Examples:
Undetected Beam-In: "Nullify dilemma with Shelby OR 4 SECURITY."

Vole Infestation: "To nullify, evacuate ship at your outpost until end of
turn."

Do You Smell Something Burning?: "Nullify with a cook, ANIMAL, or Lure of
the Nexus."

Dathon: "Nullifies Tamarian-related dilemmas where present."

Nullifying a dilemma when it is encountered is a valid response to
encountering it (see actions — step 1: initiation). A dilemma with a
countdown icon self-nullifies after the specified number of turns of the
player who seeded it.

Nullifying a dilemma is different from overcoming its conditions or curing
it.

doubling — Delete this entry and replace it with "see modifier order."

*Edo Probe — The temporary ruling for this card has been rescinded. After

encountering this dilemma, place it on top of the mission, as explained in the
current Glossary.

Exposed — A ship is exposed when it is undocked, uncloaked, unphased, and
not landed or carried.

*facility — Delete the fourth paragraph ("You may seed facilities..."). This rule
is covered by the prior sentence.

facility commander —
commander."

Replace this entry with "see matching

gender — Replace the entry with the following text:

Gender may be male, female, or neuter (which includes androgynous, such
as Soren). Borg affiliation personnel have no gender, even if gender-specific
pronouns are used in their lore. Whenever a personnel’s gender is not
indicated by the card’s image, game text, title, or lore, that personnel is
considered to be male.

*Lansor — Delete the parenthetical about Warp Speed format.

*Mas’ud — Replace this entry with the following (which clarifies that Mas'ud is
subject to the twice-per-turn limit on Ceti Eel):

This personnel may download Ceti Eel to the adversary he just stunned only
if your Khan is present, only to a non- [Holo], non-android personnel, and
only if you have placed fewer than two Ceti Eels on personnel this turn, as
required by Ceti Eel’s text.

matching commander — A personnel is a matching commander for a ship or
facility if either card both names the other in lore and states that that
personnel is (or was) the commander or captain of that ship or facility.
(Also, a few personnel, such as Rinnak Pire and Regent Worf, have special
game text that allows them to act as, or assign another personnel as, a
matching commander.) The term “facility commander" is a facility's
matching commander.

For example, Worf (First Contact) and Kudak'Etan are both matching
commanders for all ship cards with the title U.S.S. Defiant, but not Stolen
Defiant. All cards with the title "Benjamin Sisko" are matching commanders
for U.S.S. Sao Paulo — but substitutes like Ben Sisko and The Emissary are
not. See named in lore.

A statement that a ship "transported" or was "used by" a personnel does
not qualify that personnel as a matching commander. Kivas Fajo is not a
matching commander for Zibalian Transport, but he is matching
commander of Jovis. Unless otherwise specified (e.g., Cha’Joh), a ship or
facility can only gain benefits from one matching commander at a time. To
gain matching commander benefits, the matching commander must not be
disabled, in stasis, or under "house arrest".

A few ambiguous cases require clarification: Dathon is a matching
commander for Tama. Dukat is a facility commander of Terok Nor. The
Intendant is a facility commander for Mirror Terok Nor, but not Terok Nor in
the Alpha Quadrant.

mirror universe — Replace the second paragraph with:

When lore or game text refers to a planet by name, it applies only to the
normal-universe version of that planet, unless the referring card contains
the [MQ] icon. If the referring card does have the [MQ] icon anywhere
(even as gametext), then it applies to the mirror universe version of the
planet. For example, The City of B'Hala may seed only at the Alpha
Quadrant version of Bajor (Alter Records); Mirror Terok Nor, which has the
[MQ] icon, may seed only at the [MQ] version of Bajor (Disrupt Alliance).

mission — Revise the second paragraph as follows:

During the mission seed phase, missions are laid out in one or more
spacelines representing different quadrants of the galaxy. A mission’s
quadrant may be determined from its point box (if any). Gamma, Delta, and
Mirror Quadrant missions have a [GQ], [DQ], or [MQ] symbol in their point
boxes. Missions with no symbol (or no point box) are Alpha Quadrant
missions. All missions may be seeded only on the appropriate spaceline.
Missions may only be seeded, not played (unless expressly allowed by rule;
see Q's Planet, Persistence of Memory). Missions (and other spaceline
locations) may not be moved between quadrants by cards that relocate
locations.

mission attempt — Delete the example about Benjamin Sisko, Bold Captain
in paragraph 11.

modifier order — When more than one effect modifies a numeric feature on
a card (such as an attribute, requirement, or point box), first apply any
effects that set a specific value, then apply any effects that add or subtract
from the value, then finally apply any effects that multiply the value (by
doubling, tripling, or halving it).

For example, if your U.S.S. Enterprise (9 RANGE) is benefiting from Space
Boomer (RANGE +3) and Transwarp Conduit (RANGE doubled), but also
has rotation damage (RANGE set to 5), its range is first set by the damage
(RANGE 5), added to by Space Boomer (RANGE 5+3=8), then doubled by
Transwarp Conduit (RANGE 8x2 = 16). See attribute modifiers, printed
number, skills — modifying.



multi-affiliation — At the end of the fourth paragraph, add:

If a card gains an affiliation (without losing its prior affiliations), it functions
as a multi-affiliation card including the new affiliation.

named in lore — Add this as paragraph 2:

A planet is named in the lore of another card if the lore refers to the
location text of that planet mission (see mirror universe).

Parallel Romance — When affected by Let Me Help, the STRENGTH-2 on
Parallel Romance becomes STRENGTH-3 (not STRENGTH-1).

Planet of Galactic Peace — You may move non-compatible personnel
between two missions affected by this card. However, you must be able to
"fly by" any intervening locations (including any Q-Nets) and may not stop
voluntarily (even to avoid damage from a Subspace Warp Rift), because
stopping at a location without Planet of Galactic Peace would create a
voluntary house arrest situation. If stopped involuntarily (e.g. by an
opponent's Hail), your incompatible personnel are placed under house
arrest.

printed number - Cards that increase each "printed number" on another
card affect all forms of numbers. "1" becomes "2", "one" becomes "two",
"[countdown:1]" becomes "[countdown:2]," and "first" becomes "second".
See Rascals.

Rascals — When affected by Shades of Gray: Despair, Youth replaces the
second-listed skill, and personnel who do not have a second skill are
unaffected.

revised text — Delete the sentence about conversion rules.
romantic partner — Add “bride” to the list of qualifying terms.
scouting locations — Change the second bullet point to:

Gender-related requirements and targets of non-Borg-related dilemmas
cannot be met by Borg affiliation cards. If there is an alternative which is
not gender-related, the Borg must try to meet that; otherwise discard the
dilemma.

Second Edition Cards — Delete this entry.
scouting locations — Change paragraph 5 bullet point 2 to the following:

Gender-related requirements and targets of non-Borg-related dilemmas
cannot be met by Borg affiliation cards. If there is an alternative which is
not gender-related, the Borg must try to meet that; otherwise discard the
dilemma

*self-controlling cards [self] — In the third paragraph, make the phrase
"far end of spaceline" bold and, at the end of the paragraph, add the cross-
reference, "See far end of spaceline." Then, delete the following text
from the second paragraph:

Each player may have only one copy of each [self] card active on the
spaceline at any time. When a [self] card is encountered or played, if the
owning player already owns a copy of the [self] card that is currently active
on the spaceline, they must discard one such card (their choice).

seed phases — Change the second bullet under other seeding rules to:
A few Event, Objective, Incident, and other cards have game text which

allows them to seed. Unless they specify a particular phase, you seed such
cards during the facility phase.

seeds or plays — Change the first paragraph to:

Cards with this phrase may be seeded during the seed phase or may be
stocked in your draw deck to play normally.

species — Delete the first item from the numbered list (and re-number the
rest).

Delete the bulleted item “Phlox is Denobulan.”

Delete the bulleted item “Vina is Orion.”
*Subspace Schism — Delete the parenthetical about Warp Speed format.
temporal agent-related — Delete this entry.
time location — Change the first sentence of the sixth paragraph to:

The cards listed on a time location (or another card) as native to that
timeline may be reported directly to the location if it is play.

*tripling — Delete this entry.
*turn — Delete the parenthetical about Warp Speed format.
use (skills) — Delete the fifth paragraph.

*Warp Speed — Delete this entry.

Temporary Rulings (Pending Final Wording)
Stops by different dilemmas create different crews / away teams.

The specific requirement on Samaritan Snare (Federation must attempt this
mission) overrides the OTF rule against attempting an opponent's mission.
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