RULINGS — General

*actions - step 1: initiation — replace the 4™ paragraph with

Dilemmas revealed and encountered -- The initiation of a dilemma encounter
begins (i.e. it has been "just revealed" but cannot otherwise be responded to)
when the seeded card has been slid out from under the mission, turned face-
up, and both players have had the opportunity to read it. After a dilemma is
revealed, the dilemma encounter proceeds: targets are chosen and conditions
are checked. The initiation of the encounter is complete (i.e. the seed card
has been "just encountered" and may be responded to) only when any
targets for the dilemma have been chosen and you have checked to see if the
crew or Away Team can meet the dilemma's conditions (if any). If the dilemma
requires a trigger or specifies targets with specific features which are not
present, the dilemma will have no effect, but the initiation is still complete.
(See dilemma resolution.)

*Art of Diplomacy, The - replace the text with:
see use (skills).

*Assign Mission Specialists - replace the third paragraph with the following:

Second, while you have any Assign Mission Specialists card in play, any mission
specialists you have in play (regardless of whether downloaded or played
normally) score 5 points when using their skill to complete a mission. See use
(skills). Multiple copies of the same mission specialist may not score points
for the same mission, even if multiples of that skill are required.
See cumulative.

bonus point area — replace the first sentence with:

When you resolve scoring for any non-mission card with a point box, that card
(unless it remains on a target or otherwise specifies that it stays in play to
score the points) is placed in a bonus point area near your discard pile, as a
reminder of those points, even if the card says to discard it.

Botany Bay icon [BB] - A card with the [BB] icon represents an unpleasant
surprise for players who try to uncover what is better left buried. If a player
examines a card with the [BB] icon any time other than during a mission or
scouting attempt, place it on the mission where it was seeded. That player
may not attempt or scout this mission until another mission has been
completed or scouted by either player, then re-seed the dilemma at the same
mission. If multiple dilemmas are to be simultaneously re-seeded in this way,
re-seed them so that they are encountered in the original order.

characteristics — add the following to the end of the second full paragraph:

Gendered characteristics (such as "priestess") are synonymous with their
opposite-gendered equivalents (such as "priest").

downloading — special download — replace the second sentence with:

If the card is played at (or to affect something at, or to insert adjacent to)

one particular spaceline or timeline location, the special download icon must
be at that location.
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equipment — in paragraphs 3 and 4 replace “affiliation/species” with
“affiliation, species or characteristic.”

Harness Particle 010 - replace the words "See doubling." with the

following:

If Resistance is Futile is played on a . objective that is being doubled by
Harness Particle 010, it will add 10 points to the total (not 20). For example,
when Resistance is Futile is played on Assimiliate Planet doubled by Harness
Particle 010, the objective is worth 60 points. The doubling rule does not
apply, because the modifications are not simultaneous

homeworld — add the following text:

Deliver Ancient Artifact — “Vulcan... Vulcan homeworld.”

Research Devastating Attack — “Earth: ... Starfleet homeworld”

Repatriate Citizen — “Qo’nos... Klingon Homeworld”

mirror universe — replace the second paragraph with:

[MQ] cards are often written from the perspective of the mirror universe. When
a [MQ] card refers to a planet by name, it means the Mirror Quadrant version
of that planet. All other named references to planets mean the normal-
universe versions of that planet (unless otherwise specified).

overcome - a dilemma is overcome once its conditions are met. A dilemma
that is discarded by some other means (such as being discarded after a
condition is failed) is not considered overcome. A dilemma without conditions
is not considered overcome.

*revealed - see actions - step 1: initiation

*special equipment — replace the first paragraph with:

Many ships have additional systems installed, which may be used by other cards
or rules. They are printed on the card as a phrase of 1-3 words. Special
equipment  currently may include Cloaking  Device, Energy
Dampener, Holodeck, Holographic Skin, Invasive Transporters, Long-Range
Scan Shielding, Particle Scattering Device, Phasing Cloak, Solar Sail, Tractor
Beam, or any regular skill.

Strategema — Delete the text:

When this incident is in play, Q's Planet cannot enter play (it cannot be taken
from a Q’s Tent and inserted into the spaceline).
Add the text:

Strategema prevents battle even if other restrictions, such as affiliation attack
restrictions, have been removed (for example, by Post Garrison).
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Temporal Micro-Wormhole - replace the first paragraph with:

This doorway does not allow you to download personnel (other than Dr. Telek
R’Mor) or give permission to play a card. It provides a destination for a report
of a personnel when no destination is otherwise provided (e.g., one played as
your normal card play, or certain downloads such as the last function of
Defend Homeworld). If any destination is otherwise provided (e.g. a report
with crew action, or a special download, or reporting to a ship or a personnel),
then this doorway cannot be discarded to affect mixing.

time travel — change the first bullet to:

» Movement between a time location and a spaceline is possible
only via a card that specifically states that it allows such movement,
such as Temporal Vortex or Orb of Time. Cards such as Iconian
Gateway, which do not so specify, do not allow time travel. Time
travel is not restricted to “corresponding spaceline location” unless
specified. For example, the Orb of Time allows you to move from any
spaceline location (in any quadrant) to any timeline location, or vice
versa; or between two time locations.

use (ship) - change title to use (ship or facility), add the words "or facility"
after every instance of the word "ship," and add the words, "If a ship," at the
start of the second sentence.

*use (skills) - Regular skills are routinely used to meet requirements,
overcome dilemmas, trigger effects, and more, often during the initiation step
of another action. When you have more of a regular skill present than a card
requires, you may choose which of your personnel contribute skills to it. For
example, if Davies and Toby Russell are in a crew that solves Explore Dyson
Sphere, you may choose Toby Russell to provide the Physics to solve the
mission so she can score points with Assign Mission Specialists.

Special skills that apply general modifiers like, "If on ChalJoh, it is RANGE +2,"
or, "Nullifies Hippocratic Oath where present," are continuously in effect.

Most other special skills (for example, "May initiate battle against intruders")
are used as a normal action. In general, this may be done only on your turn,
unless the action is a valid response (for example, "May replace anyone
randomly selected to die here") or is expressly allowed on opponent's turn
(for example, "May be replaced by another version at any time,"
"Once every turn, may 'pounce'...").

If a card requires a personnel type such as MEDICAL without specifying a
classification or a skill, either suffices. A requirement for multiple levels of a
skill, such as Navigation x2, may be met by any combination of Navigation
skills on one or more personnel (unless "a personnel with Navigation x2" is
specified).

Some cards allow you to use a skill (or multiple levels of a skill) in place of
another skill. The levels of the original skill may come from any combination
of personnel, who are treated as having a fraction of that skill proportional to
their contribution. For example, The Art of Diplomacy allows your personnel
to use 2 Treachery as if it were 1 Diplomacy. With this card, two personnel
who have Treachery can provide 1 Diplomacy (each replaces their Treachery
with Diplomacy x1/2), while another personnel who has Treachery x2 can
provide another Diplomacy (Treachery x2 is replaced with Diplomacy x1).
See skills - skill multipliers. On a mission specialist, this counts as "using"
a specialist skill for Assign Mission Specialists. A personnel may not use
their skill as the new skill and the replaced skill simultaneously. You do not
need to declare in advance how you will use the original skill. For example,
when a Diplomacy requirement arises, you may meet it by showing 2
Treachery on qualifying personnel present.

worth points — A card that is “worth points” while some condition is met does
not score those points each turn; it scores positive points when the condition
is first met and scores negative points equal to the earlier point gain if the
condition ceases to be met. For example, you score 20 points once with Dr.
Tolian Soran, when he is placed under The Nexus. If he leaves The Nexus,
you score -20 points because he is no longer worth points. On the other hand,
if your opponent plays Khan! when Dr. Tolian Soran first enters The Nexus,
nullifying those bonus points, you score 0 points when he enters, and a
corresponding -0 points if he leaves.
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