
 
 

First Edition Current Rulings Document 

(07 December 2015) 
Current Rulings are periodic updates to the First Edition Rulebook, including 
changes, clarifications, and situations it does not address. Current Rulings are 
an official supplement to the Glossary and should be used by tournament 
directors in making tournament rulings. (The rulebook is intended for 
beginners and should not be used for rulings.) 

Answers given by official Continuing Committee representatives are not official 
until included in an official rules document such as the Current Rulings, Official 
Clarifications, or Official Rulings. Such answers are highly recommended for 
use by tournament directors, but the Tournament Director always has the final 
authority on rulings. 

This document contains all Current Rulings issued since the Glossary v1.9.2. 
Entries that are new, changed, or expanded since the last Current Rulings 
document are marked with an asterisk (*) before the topic and in red text. 
These rulings are effective immediately. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 
http://www.trekcc.org.

RULINGS – General 

Access Denied – Delete this entry 

 

 
Articles of Jurisprudence - This card is unique only while in play for its 

first function. When in play for that function, it does not prevent another 
copy from being played for the other function 

 
*Capturing-related card – strike the third bullet point and replace with the 

following 
• has an effect when a captive is taken or escorted. 

In addition, any card whose gametext downloads, nullifies, or modifies a card 
which meets any of the above criteria (specified by title), is also a capturing-
related card. 

 
Text remains the same starting with the word examples. 
   
Characteristics – add the following texts: 
 
Lore on a personnel card saying that they "captained" a ship gives them the 
characteristic of Captain. 
 

Converted Cards - A list of all converted cards may be found in the separate 
rules document "Converted Cards List". Any First Edition card listed on the 1E 
Converted Cards List should be treated as erratum of the corresponding First 
Edition Compatible [1EC] Second Edition card. Only the converted First Edition 
card may be used. The original [1EC] Second Edition card may not be used. 

Corresponding -  At the end of the entry, add this paragraph: 

 
A corresponding location or region in an “opposite quadrant” is a location or 
region with the same name. For example, Bajor in the normal universe (Alpha 
Quadrant) corresponds to Bajor in the mirror universe (Mirror Quadrant). 
 

D'deridex Advanced - Delete this entry. 
 
Dilemma – add the following text: 
 
Text following "Place on mission" (or on ship, or any other target) is only 
active once the dilemma has been placed on its target. If it does not get 
placed, that text is ignored. 
 
Downloading – Change fifth bullet point under other rules section to: 

 Although some downloads are 
optional, others require you to 
download a certain target card (or 
group of target cards). If you cannot 
do everything required, the entire 
download is invalid.  

 If your download is invalid because 
you could not produce the target card(s), your 
opponent is allowed to look through 
your hand, draw deck, Zalkonian 
Storage Capsule, and Q’s Tent (if 
open), or any other source specified 

for the download.  

Ferengi Ingenuity - Delete entry 

 
Launch Portal - delete the second paragraph 
 
When this doorway is played during a space  
mission attempt to launch some or all of the crew on a different ship, the ship 
with the larger crew must continue the mission attempt (owner’s choice if 
tied), if possible. 
 
Loss of Orbital Stability – (change the entry to:) see in orbit, undefined 
attributes 
 
Mirror Quadrant –  replace the entry with: 
 
Missions in the Mirror Quadrant have the Mirror Quadrant M icon in their point 
box. (These missions are sometimes also identified in their lore as belonging 
to the mirror universe.) 
 
*Mirror Universe – add the following paragraph 
 
When game text refers to a planet by name, it applies only to the normal-
universe version of that planet, unless the referring card contains the [MQ] 
icon. If the referring card does have the [MQ] icon anywhere (even as 
gametext), then it applies to the mirror-universe version of the planet. For 
example, The City of B'Hala may seed only at the Alpha Quadrant version of 
Bajor (Alter Records); Mirror Terok Nor, which has the [MQ] icon, may seed 
only at the [MQ] version of Bajor (Disrupt Alliance). 
 
mis-seeds – in the fifth paragraph strike: 
 
Mis-seeds include (but are not limited to) non seed cards (such as Equipment 
cards) placed under a mission as a bluff, multiple copies of the same card 
seeded under one mission by a single player, multiple artifacts seeded under 
one mission by a single player, space dilemmas seeded under planet missions 
(and vice versa), and personnel with no game text allowing them to seed 
(such as Mirasta Yale under a mission other than First Contact). 
 
and then replace it with: 
 
space dilemmas revealed from beneath planet missions (and vice versa), 
 
*missions - persona –  strike the following 
 
Some missions represent the same location in the Star Trek universe. Two 
missions are instances of the same persona if they are duplicates (copies); or 
if they have the exact same location text, the bold text in lore. 
 
And replace it with 
 
or if they are in the same quadrant AND have the exact same location text, 
the bold text in lore. 



New adition 
 
Replace the third bullet point with:  
 
Alter Records and Disrupt Alliance 
each have the location text: “Bajor Region  
• Bajor.” However, Alter Records is in the 
Alpha Quadrant, while Disrupt Alliance is  
in the Mirror Quadrant. Therefore they do  
not represent the same persona. 
 
Ship Class - At the end of the entry, add this paragraph: 
When a ship's class box states that it is an "advanced" or "modified" version of 
a class, then that ship is treated as a member of both classes. For example, 
I.K.C. Kla'Diyus's class box ("Modified B'Rel Class") identifies it as a B'Rel-class 
ship for the purposes of Duj Saq. 
 
Spatial Rift - delete this entry 
 
Special equipment – Add "Acquisition" to the list of special equipment in the 
first paragraph.  
 
At the end of the entry, add this paragraph: 
 
When a ship has a regular skill as special equipment, it can be used as though 
possessed by a member of the ship's crew. For example, the Acquisition on 
Dosi Trade Vessel may be contributed toward solving Salvage Wrecked Ship, 
or allow a Small Cloaking Device that is reporting aboard to report for free. It 
cannot open Secret Compartment on a nearby ship, because its crew is not 
present with that Secret Compartment. 
 
Starship Excelsior - Delete this entry. 
 
Strategic Base  - This card is unique only while in play for its second 
function. When in play for that function, it does not prevent another copy from 
being played for the other function. 
 
*“Stopped” – replace the fourth bullet with the following. 
 
Some cards may explicitly “stop” one or more personnel or ships. Cards that 
are “stopped” may not be beamed, move, walk, cloak, phase, participate in a 
battle, staff a ship for the purposes of ship movement, get “stopped” again 
(e.g., to pay a cost), or participate in mission, commandeering, or scouting 
attempt. (Personnel selectively “stopped” by a dilemma form a separate group 
and no longer participate in the mission attempt.)  
 
 
Turn – In the last paragraph under numbered item 2, delete the following 
 
after which you may no longer play cards 
(except interrupts and doorways) 
 

 
U.S.S. Pasteur - Delete this entry. 
 
U.S.S. Yangtzee Kiang - see use (ship) 

 
use (equipment) - see equipment 
 
use (ship) - When gametext states that one affiliation (or personnel cards 

with certain characteristics) may use a ship of a different affiliation, that ship 
is automatically compatible with those cards. It does not need a personnel 
matching its affiliation to be staffed or to attempt a mission, if its crew 
contains one of the indicated personnel instead. It is still a ship of its original 
affiliation, and must abide by that affiliation's attack restrictions. 
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