
 
 

First Edition Current Rulings Document 

(2 December 2013) 
Current Rulings are periodic updates to the First Edition Rulebook, including 
changes, clarifications, and situations it does not address. Current Rulings are 
an official supplement to the Glossary and should be used by tournament 
directors in making tournament rulings. (The rulebook is intended for 
beginners and should not be used for rulings.) 

Answers given by official Continuing Committee representatives are not official 
until included in an official rules document such as the Current Rulings, Official 
Clarifications, or Official Rulings. Such answers are highly recommended for 
use by tournament directors, but the Tournament Director always has the final 
authority on rulings. 

This document contains all Current Rulings issued since the Glossary v1.9.1. 
Entries that are new, changed, or expanded since the last Current Rulings 
document are marked with an asterisk (*) before the topic and in red text. 
These rulings are effective immediately. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 
http://www.trekcc.org.

RULINGS – General  

actions – step 1: initiation – 
Add the following before the Dilemma encounters paragraph: 
 
Some actions require a specific card to be played as a cost in order to 
resolve. When this is the case, use only the game text of the action; ignore 
the game text of the card being played as a cost. Cards which are played as 
a cost may be responded to normally and if the card played as a cost is 
nullified, initiation of the original action fails, no other costs are paid and the 
actions performer may attempt to use the action again at their next 
opportunity. Examples:  

 I Hate You allows you to play Vulcan Nerve Pinch as a cost to 
nullify itself. 

 Relief Mission II (front side) allows you to play a Wormhole as a 
cost to move your ship between it and another location. 

 ❖Nebula requires you to play Scan as a cost to initiate battle at 

its location. 

*Bajoran Wormhole – 
Whenever you play or download this doorway to the Alpha Quadrant, you 
must download another copy to the Gamma Quadrant (creating that 
spaceline if there are no missions there yet). The Alpha Quadrant Bajoran 
Wormhole card must be placed or inserted adjacent to a Bajor Region 
location if any are on the spaceline. If not, the doorway may be inserted 
anywhere on the spaceline that is not within another region, creating a Bajor 
Region. If one end of the Bajoran Wormhole is destroyed, the other end is 
discarded also. See doorways, wormholes – movement through. 

*Brilgar –Erratum: 
This card has updated lore: 

Representative of Bajoran security officers serving aboard Deep 
Space 9. Often served as a bodyguard for visiting dignitaries and 
key personnel. 

*Continuing Mission – Erratum: 

Seed one on table. You may download one  card. Your personnel 
and ships that have a Star Trek: The Next Generation or Star Trek 

Generations property logo gain  (even if not in play). Once each 

turn, when you play a  personnel with four or fewer •  icons (and 
no ∇ ), you may draw a card. Discard this incident if you play (or 

have played) a non-  personnel or ship. 

*corresponding – 
The corresponding spaceline location for a time location is the spaceline 
location in the same quadrant as the time location, which has the location 
name of the time location either as the location name in its own lore (in the 
case of a mission), or as the card title (in the case of a Doorway). For 
example, the mission Agricultural Assessment (Sherman’s Planet) 
corresponds to the time location Sherman’s Peak (2267 Sherman’s Planet), 
and the Bajoran Wormhole which has been placed in the Alpha Quadrant 
corresponds to the time location The Celestial Temple. 

*Deep Space 9 icon  – 
A card with this icon is related to the Star Trek: Deep Space Nine television 
series. It has no built in gameplay function and will be referenced on other 
cards. 

*DS9 – 
References in lore to “DS9” are equivalent to “Deep Space 9.” 

*facility commander – 
Your personnel aboard your facility is the facility commander if either the 
facility lore or the personnel lore states that the personnel is or was the 
commander of the facility. Only the named personnel or facility may be 
used, and not another card, even if it is another version of the same 
persona. Facility commander is different from matching commander, which 
applies to ships; you may not get "matching commander" benefits (e.g. 
Ready Room Door, Captain's Log) for a facility commander, or vice versa. 
See DS9.  

 
Most facility commanders may be easily determined directly from the facility 
and/or personnel lore, following the rules given above. Two need 
clarification:  

 The Intentant "commands Terok Nor in the Mirror Universe." 
When aboard, she is the facility commander for Mirror Terok Nor, 
not the Terok Nor which is native to the Alpha Quadrant. 

 Dukat (DS9) "Desires to regain command of Terok Nor." He is the 
former commander of Terok Nor. 

 Ferengi Military Operations – Erratum: 

Plays on table. Once each turn, your  personnel (except V.I.P. 

or CIVILIAN) may report (for free) to your  outpost. Once per 

game, if your  DaiMon is at a location where you win a battle, 
capture an opponent's personnel, or commandeer an opponent's 
ship, choose two of the following: score 5 points, draw two cards, 
or download an equipment there. 

*Going to the Top – Erratum: 

Plays if you have two  personnel together on a facility. Download 
a compatible personnel with Leadership x2 to them (once per game 
per affiliation). 

HQ: Defensive Measures – Erratum: 
Seeds or plays on table. Your personnel with any Intelligence gain 
1 Leadership and may initiate battle against their own affiliation. 
Also, opponent may not attempt any of your missions with more 
than one affiliation icon on each end unless opponent attempted to 
seed a copy of that mission OR opponent is using an 
appropriate Espionage card. 

*matching commander – 
Replace the fifth paragraph of this entry with the following: 
 
The matching commander must not be disabled, in stasis, etc. (See 
present.) Ships can have matching commanders; facilities can have facility 
commanders. These terms are not interchangeable, and benefits given to 
one do not extend to the other. 

missions – 
Replace the fourth and fifth paragraphs of this entry with the following: 
 
You may seed multiple copies of missions with the universal (❖) icon, but 

only one copy or version of a unique mission persona (without the icon); 
if a unique mission is a copy or version of one your opponent has seeded, 



stack your mission card on top of his/her to form a single location. 
 
Mission cards are designed with relevant information facing both players. A 
summary of the mission faces your opponent; complete information faces 
you. Sometimes the information facing your opponent is intentionally 
different from the information facing you. Unless otherwise specified by a 
card, each player is affected by the following only on the end of the mission 
facing him (and only on his/her copy, if both players seeded a copy or 
version of the mission): mission requirements, special instructions (italic 
game text), affiliation icons (or other indication of who may attempt a 
mission), point box, and span. Thus, Construct Depot may not be attempted 
or scouted by the opponent, because the opponent’s end has no affiliation 
icons or text enabling an attempt, and no point box. Any information not 
normally included in the opponent’s mission summary, including quadrant 
icons, [S] and [P] icons, and the mission name and lore (including regions) 
apply to both players. 

missions - persona – 
Some missions represent the same location in the Star Trek universe. Two 
missions are instances of the same persona if they are duplicates (copies); 
or if they have the exact same location text, the bold text in lore. Some 
examples:  

 Deliver Ancient Artifact and Observe Ritual, which both have the 

location text: "Vulcan", represent the Vulcan persona.  

 Catalog Phenomena, which has the location text: "Nekrit Expanse 

Region • Plasma storm", and Study Plasma Storm, which has the 

location text: "Plasma storm", do not represent the same location. 

One has a region in the location text and one does not, and thus 

they do not represent the same persona.  

 Catalog Phenomena, which has the location text: "Nekrit Expanse 

Region • Plasma storm", and Study Plasma Storm, which has the 

location text: "Plasma storm", do not represent the same location. 

One has a region in the location text and one does not, and thus 

they do not represent the same persona.  

mission II – 
Replace the third paragraph of this entry with the following: 
 
Cards that specifically work with the original mission work with the 
corresponding Mission II; for example, Timicin scores 10 points if he helps 
solve either Test Mission or Test Mission II. (“Typhon Expanse” and “Beta 
Stromgren” are corrections of misspellings on the original missions, and are 
the same locations as “Typhone Expanse” and “Beta Stromgen.” 

❖Nebula – 

Delete the second paragraph of this entry. See actions – step 1: 
initiation. 

persona – 
You may not use persona replacement to exchange missions. (See 
missions – persona.) 

*Reactor Core icon  – 
A card with this icon is related to the Star Trek: Deep Space Nine television 
series. It has no built in gameplay function and will be referenced on other 
cards. 

*Sam Lavelle –Erratum: 
This card has updated lore: 

Typical Starfleet ensign eagerly chasing a promotion. Served 
aboard the U.S.S. Enterprise in 2370. Decent poker player. His 
grandfather was Canadian. 

*special equipment – 
Replace the first paragraph of this entry with the following: 
 
When a card refers to a ship’s “special equipment,” this means ship systems 
expressed as a phrase of just a few words. Special equipment currently 
includes Cloaking Device, Energy Dampener, Holodeck, Holographic Skin, 
Invasive Transporters, Long-Range Scan Shielding, Particle Scattering 
Device, Phasing Cloak, Solar Sail, Tractor Beam, MEDICAL, SCIENCE, and 
Stellar Cartography. 

species – 
Replace this entry with the following: 
 
In general, a personnel's species (singular or plural) can be determined by 
looking at the card. The species might be described to be only "humanoid" 

or the equivalent "alien".  Some exceptions are listed below, but for most 
cards, use these steps in order until you find the species: 

1. If the card is a Second Edition card, the species is indicated 
below the image. 

2. If the personnel has an  icon, its species is Hologram. 

3. All non-  personnel with a Borg subcommand icon ( , , or 

) are Borg species, as well as any species also indicated in the 
next steps. 

4. If the personnel's lore indicates the species, then they are the 
species indicated. The lore might indicate more than one species, 
such as "1/2 human, 1/2 Vulcan". In a case like this, the personnel 
belongs to each indicated species.  If the lore does not otherwise 
indicate the species, but says they are “from” some particular 
planet, or a “native” of some particular planet, that indicates the 

species. (See characteristics.) If a non-  personnel has a Borg 
subcommand icon, then besides being Borg species, they are also a 
member of their species of origin, which will be indicated either 
elsewhere in lore or by the following step. 

5. If the preceding steps do not indicate the (non-Borg) species, look 
to the image.  Each affiliation has one or more "usual species": if 
the image of the personnel matches a "usual species" of its printed 
affiliation, then the personnel is that species.  For a multi-affiliation 
card, look for matches in the "usual species" of any of the card's 
affiliations; the personnel then retains that species in any affiliation 
mode. 

 For , , and , Human is a “usual species.” 

 For , “usual species” are Changeling, Vorta, and 
Jem’Hadar. 

 For all other species except , the species with the same 
name   as the affiliation is a “usual species.” 

6. If the species is not discernible from the preceding rules, they are 
considered humanoid. 

Exceptions and clarifications:  

 Commander Data, Exocomp, and all Cravic and Pralor Units are 
Androids 

 Tora Ziyal is Bajoran and Cardassian 

 The Trois: Lwaxana is Betazoid, Deanna is Betazoid and Human 

 Phlox is a Denobulan 

  William T. Riker,  Jean-Luc Picard, and  Captain Picard are 
Human 

 Stefan deSeve is Human 

 Vina is Orion 

 Arandis is Risian. 

 Dathon is Tamarian. 

 Targ is a Targ. 

 Hannah Bates is Human. 

Comparing species - Two personnel are the same species if there is any 
species of which they are both members.  For example, Spock (who is 
Vulcan and Human) and K'Ehleyr (who is Klingon and Human) will not be 
stopped if selected by Racial Tension, because they both have Human as a 
species.  However, both would be targets for Hate Crime, because Spock is 
the only Vulcan and K'Ehleyr is the only Klingon.  And if they are in play 
when Seek Out New Life is triggered, they will prevent the download of any 
Vulcan, Human, or Klingon, including personnel who also have another 
species: for example, to download Daniel Kwan, you would need his two 
species (which are Human and Napean) to not be in play.  See humanoid. 

Stop First Contact – 
This entry is replaced with: See timeline disruption. 

*time location – 
Replace this entry with the following: 
 
A card type representing a location in the past or future of the Star Trek 
universe. Time locations may be [S] or [P] locations.  

A time location is not a mission or spaceline location, but it has a 
corresponding spaceline location identified by the lore of both cards. For 
example, the mission Agricultural Assessment corresponds to the time 
location Sherman’s Peak; both are located at Sherman’s Planet. You may not 
seed or play a time location unless the corresponding spaceline location is in 



play. 
 
A time location is placed by itself on the table, creating its own planet or 
space location separate from the spacelines. The card may have special 
instructions to be carried out when it is seeded or played; if you cannot 
carry out all instructions, you may not seed or play the time location.  
Though they are not on the spaceline, time locations are located in 
quadrants, as indicated by the presence or absence of a quadrant icon in the 
lower right corner of the text box. Time locations with no symbol are in the 
Alpha Quadrant. 

Playing a time location uses your normal card play. 
 
Cards that affect a spaceline location, such as Supernova or Black Hole, 
have no effect on the time location. Cards that the time location are not at 
the corresponding spaceline location and cannot attempt it. Ships and 
personnel may travel between the time location and the corresponding 
spaceline location using a card that allows time travel. 

The cards listed on a time location as “native to this timeline” may be 
reported directly to the location if it is play. You may choose to report 
personnel on the surface of a planet time location, aboard any of your 
compatible ships or facilities at the time location, or aboard any opponent’s 
facility there that you are allowed to use (e.g., Deep Space Station K-7). You 
may report a ship or facility in space at the location (in orbit of a planet). 
When reported in this manner, you do not need an open doorway, such as 
an Alternate Universe Door, to allow you to report the Alternate Universe 
icon cards. 

You are not required to have the time location in play to use cards native to 
that location, or to report them to that time location if it is in play. They may 
be reported normally to a facility on the spaceline, or by any other legal 

reporting method, if you have an open Doorway card which allows  cards 
to play. 

*unique and universal – 
Replace the third bullet point of this entry with the following: 
 
Non-universal missions (including Q’s Planet) and time locations are not 
duplicatable. Each player may seed more than one copy of any universal 
mission or time location. 

*Visit Cochrane Memorial – Erratum: 

Seeds or plays on Earth. (Unique.) When your unopposed  
personnel or human ENGINEER personnel present, you may probe 
(once per game per persona):  

, : "Oooh." Draw one card.  

, : "Aaaaah." Play one personnel to planet.  

, : "Wow!" Download probe card (or a copy).  

, : "I thought it'd be bigger." Discard one card. 
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