
 
 

First Edition Conversion Rules 

(7 May 2011) 
This document provides rules needed to mix Second Edition cards with First Edition cards 
in games using First Edition rules. Only Second Edition cards that have a First Edition 
Compatible indicator in the lower left corner may be used with First Edition rules. 

The rules in this document only apply to Second Edition cards played in a First Edition 
game. Any card title reference applies only to the Second Edition cards with that title, not 
to any First Edition card. For example, Spock refers to the Second Edition cards titled 
Spock, not the card Spock from the First Edition Two Player Game. 

These rules do not replace any existing rules governing First Edition cards unless 
explicitly stated. For example, the rules provided for dilemmas apply only to Second 
Edition cards, and do not replace normal dilemma resolution rules for existing First Edition 
cards. 

Entries that are new, changed, or expanded since the last version of this document are 
marked in red with an asterisk (*) before the topic. Entries marked with strikethrough text 
have been removed and will be deleted in the next update. For additional resources or to 
find answers to your questions, please visit http://www.trekcc.org.

abilities – 
See personnel. 

Altovar (Vindictive Criminal) – Erratum: 
Thief. Order – Return this personnel to his owner’s hand to return an 
opponent’s Medical personnel present to his or her owner’s hand. 

Astrometrics – 
See skills. 

*Avert Solar Implosion – Erratum: 
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold. 

Bajoran Resistance – 
See keywords. 

battle – 
The word “combat” means “personnel battle.” The word “engagement” 
means “ship battle.”  
 
When a card describes an effect “if you win” a battle, carry out that effect 
after any other effects of that battle, such as randomly selecting a personnel 
to be killed in a personnel battle, or placing Tactic cards as damage markers 
in a ship battle. 

Benjamin Sisko (Outlaw) – Erratum:  
Order – Choose one for this personnel to gain: “Honor personnel present are 
Cunning +1”; or “Treachery personnel present are Cunning +1.” This effect 
lasts until this order is executed again. 

Beverly Crusher (Captain Picard) – 
Add Beverly Picard to this personnel’s lore. This personnel is not the same 
persona as the First Edition Beverly Crusher. 

Borg affiliation cards – 
All Borg affiliation cards are treated as if they had a  icon.  
 
All Borg personnel are treated as if they had a subcommand icon instead of 
a staff or command icon. The 1EC icon of Borg personnel is color-coded to 
indicate which subcommand icon the personnel receive: blue indicates 
Communication, green indicates Navigation, and red indicates Defense. 

brig – 
This word refers to your brig, as identified by Holding Cell Door or Security 
Holding Cell.  
 
When a card instructs you to place a personnel in your brig, move the 
personnel directly to your brig. If you do not have a brig in play, using the 
capturing card as a “trap card” instead. 

capturing-related card – 
Any card using the keyword Capture or Punishment is a capturing-related 
card. See Evek (Attaché to the Demilitarized Zone). 

Charvanek (Fleet Commander) [12 U 105] – Erratum: 
This card has the First Edition Compatibility indicator. 

classification – 
See personnel. 

*Cluttering Irrelevancies – Erratum: 
When your Hologram is facing a dilemma, name a skill. That Hologram gains 
that skill and is attributes +2 until the end of that dilemma. At the end of this 
mission attempt, return that Hologram to its owner’s hand. 

combat – 
See battle. 

command – 
This word means “have in play.” See take command. 

Commander – 
See keywords. 

Consume – 
See keywords. 

cost – 
Most Second Edition cards have a cost printed in the top left before the 
card’s title. You do not pay this cost in First Edition, and you may not use 
any effect that requires you to pay this cost or that would modify this cost. An 
effect requiring a cost may not target a card with no printed cost. (Example: 
A personnel with no cost may not be downloaded as a personnel who costs 
one or less.) If a card’s cost is examined and the target card has no printed 
cost, treat that card’s cost as an undefined attribute. (see undefined 
attributes in the glossary). 

Crime – 
See keywords. 

damage – 
Each damage card on a ship reduces its HULL integrity by 35%. This effect 
is the same whether you are using rotation damage (one “hit” plus any two 
damager cards would destroy a ship) or Tactic cards (the effects of the 
damage markers are added to those of the Second Edition damage cards). 

deck – 
This word means “draw deck” and does not refer to any side decks. 

Deliver Ancient Artifact – Erratum: 
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold. This Second Edition card 
represents the same location as the First Edition card Observe Ritual. See 
missions. 

destroy – 
This word means “discard” when used on a card to refer to itself. It means 
“nullify” when used on one card to refer to a different card. For example, the 
phrase “destroy this event” means “discard this event,” while the phrase 
“destroy an event” means “nullify an event.” 

dilemmas – 
The phrase “returns to its owner’s dilemma pile” means “is replaced under 
the mission” (to be encountered again). Do not replace any dilemma under a 
mission unless this phrase is used, even if its conditions were not met.  
 
Failing to meet the conditions of a dilemma does not stop your personnel. A 
dilemma does not stop a personnel unless it specifically says so. 

Dominion affiliation cards – 
All Dominion affiliation cards that do not have the Alpha keyword are treated 
as if they had a  icon.  See Jem’Hadar. 

*Emergency Transport Unit [0 VP 8] – Erratum: 
This card has the First Edition Compatibility indicator. 

engagement – 
See battle. 

Evek (Attaché to the Demilitarized Zone). – 
This personnel cannot download First Edition capturing-related cards. 

Good Shepherd – 
See cost. 

Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner? [0 D 20] – Erratum:  
Choose a personnel who has Diplomacy or Integrity>6 to be stopped. If 
you cannot, randomly select a personnel to be killed. 

headquarters mission – 
This term means “mission with a headquarters facility on it.” 

Holodeck – 
See ships. 

Hologram – 
All Hologram personnel are treated as if they had a  icon.  



 

*I.K.C. and I.K.S. – 
This conversion rule has been moved into the Current Rulings Document. 

I.K.S. Qel’Poh (Clandestine Vessel) – 
Add H.M.S. Bounty to this ship’s lore.  

I.K.S. Qel’Poh (H.M.S. Bounty) – 
Add H.M.S. Bounty to this ship’s lore.  

icons – 
Many icons have a revised look on Second Edition cards. Such icons are 
treated as the First Edition version of those icons for all purposes such as 
compatibility, probing, and staffing ships. 
 
The Second Edition Alternate Universe, Future, and Past icons are treated 
as a First Edition Alternate Universe icon. 
 
The Second Edition TOS icon is treated as a  or  icon. When you play a 
card with this icon, choose whether the icon is  or . You may change this 
choice at any time. 
 
Do not convert any other icons found only on Second Edition cards (such as 
the Deep Space Nine, Earth, The Next Generation, and Voyager icons) to 
First Edition icons. See Voyager icon.  

Infiltrator – 
Second Edition personnel with the Infiltrator keyword have no infiltration icon 
and thus cannot infiltrate your opponent’s cards. Second Edition infiltrators 
can still be targeted by cards that require an infiltrator (such as Dial Martok 
for Murder) but they cannot be targeted by cards that require an infiltrator 
that is infiltrating (such as Treacherous Advice). 

Intelligence – 
See skills. 

Investigate Alleged Murder – 
This Second Edition card represents the same location as the First Edition 
card Expose Plot. See missions. 

Ixtana’Rax (Honored Elder) – Erratum:  
When this personnel uses one of his skills to complete a mission, he is 
killed. 

Jem’Hadar – 
All Jem’Hadar personnel are treated as if they had a  icon. See Dominion 
affiliation cards. 

Khan Noonien Singh (Genetically-Engineered Nemesis) – 
Add Khan to this personnel’s lore. 

keywords – 
Keywords are used the same as in Second Edition, with the following 
exceptions that have slightly different meanings when used in First Edition 
games: 
 
Bajoran Resistance – First Edition cards which refer to Resistance (such as 
Palukoo or Bajoran Resistance Cell) require First Edition personnel who 
have that skill, and cannot be used with Second Edition personnel who have 
the Bajoran Resistance keyword. 
 
Commander – This keyword establishes a personnel as the matching 
commander of the specified ship. 
 
Consume – Ignore all Consume related game text on backwards compatible 
Second Edition dilemmas.  
 
Crime – Cards with this keyword gain the  icon. Other references to Crime 
in gametext become references to . 
 
Punishment – Cards with this keyword gain the  icon. Other references to 
Punishment in gametext become references to . 
 
Pursuit – Cards with this keyword gain the  icon. Other references to 
Pursuit in gametext become references to . 
 
Rule – Cards with this keyword gain the  icon. Other references to Rule in 
gametext become references to . 

*Kira Nerys (Colonel Kira) – 
This personnel is “Colonel Kira” for Treaty: Romulan/Bajoran. 

*James T. Kirk (Original Thinker) – Erratum: 
Admiral. Commander: U.S.S. Enterprise. When a dilemma is about to be 
revealed, if this personnel is attempting a mission, you may return him to his 
owner’s hand and prevent and overcome that dilemma. 
 
Add Captain Kirk to this personnel’s lore. 

Jeffrey Pierce (On the Edge) – 
See cost. 

Malcolm Reed (Weapons Expert) – Erratum: 
This personnel’s special skill is deleted. 

missions – 
A mission’s game text (including requirements) and span are treated as 
though they were repeated identically on the opponent’s end of a mission. 
The icons identifying which affiliations can attempt a mission are converted 
to the two corresponding versions of those icons (for both ends of the 
mission). 
 
Some Second Edition missions represent the same location as an existing 
First Edition mission. For example, Deliver Ancient Artifacts and Observe 
Ritual both occur at Vulcan. Thus, you may not include both versions in your 
mission selection and if one player seeds Deliver Ancient Artifact and the 
other seeds Observe Ritual, they both overlap each other because they are 
duplicates of Vulcan. When you attempt such a mission, you use the 
requirements (or any alternate requirements in game text) printed on your 
mission cards. If you solve such a mission, you score the points on your 
mission card. Both players may make use of game text (other than alternate 
requirements) printed on the mission card regardless of which version they 
seeded. 

Observe Kazon Ritual – 
This Second Edition card represents the same location as the First Edition 
card Combat Training. See missions. 

Obtain Advanced Technology – 
This Second Edition card represents the same location as the First Edition 
card Acquire Technology. See missions. 

once per game icon – 
Some Second Edition cards possess a 1EC icon with a small number 1 
inside a circle. A card with this icon may use it’s game text (special skills on 
personnel, or special game text on a ship) only once per game, no matter 
how many copies of that card you have in play during that game (including 
universal cards). 

Order – 
As in Second Edition rules, any game text beginning with the word “Order –“ 
(including that on Interrupt cards) can be used only during the Execute 
Orders segment of your own turn.  

persona – 
Use the title of a Second Edition personnel or ship to determine if it is a 
version of a First Edition persona. For example, Elim Garak (Agent of the 
Obsidian Order) is the same persona as the First Edition cards Elim, Elim 
Garak, and Plain, Simple Garak (but not Garak from the First Anthology, 
The Dominion and Reflections sets). 
 
Klingon ships use the designation “I.K.S.” in Second Edition. This is treated 
as “I.K.C.” in the First Edition for determining persona. For example, the 
I.K.S. Lukara is the same persona as the I.K.C. Lukara.  

personnel – 
Second Edition personnel have no classification. They receive no benefits 
and suffer no penalties from cards affecting classifications. If a Second 
Edition personnel has one of the personnel types listed as a skill 
(ENGINEER, MEDICAL, OFFICER, SCIENCE, or SECURITY), it is a skill, 
not a classification. See skills. 
 
Any keywords listed on a personnel are treated as though they were in that 
personnel’s lore for purposes of any First Edition cards. For example, the 
keyword “High Council Member” on Duras (Son of a Traitor) allows him to 
report for free at The Great Hall (which allows personnel with “High Council” 
in lore to play for free).  
 
Any abilities on a personnel are treated as one special skill with no skill dot. 

plays in your core – 
This phrase means “plays on table.” 

Preeminent Precision – Erratum: 

Order – Stop your  Engineer aboard your ship to make that ship RANGE 
+2 until the end of this turn. 

Programming – 
See skills. 

Punishment – 
See keywords. 

Pursuit – 
See keywords. 

remove from the game – 
This phrase means “place out-of-play.” 



Rule – 
See keywords. 

ships – 
Each Second Edition ships with staffing requirements has a Tractor Beam. 
They do not have a Holodeck (though you may play Holodeck Door on such 
a ship to add one). See persona. 

skills – 
Each new skill used in the Second Edition corresponds to a specific First 
Edition skill. 
 
Astrometrics – This skill is treated as Astrophysics OR Stellar Cartography. 
You choose one of those two skills each time you encounter a dilemma 
referring to Astrometrics or use a non-dilemma card providing (or requiring) 
Astrometrics. You do not have to choose in advance whether an 
Astrometrics personnel has Astrophysics or Stellar Cartography, and you 
may choose differently each time you use the skill. If a personnel has 2 or 
more Astrometrics (or a dilemma requires 2 or more Astrometrics), each 
level of Astrometrics can be assigned differently as either of the two First 
Edition skills. 
Intelligence – This skill is treated as Klingon Intelligence when used on a 
Klingon-affiliation personnel, Obsidian Order when used on a Cardassian-
affiliation personnel, Section 31 when used on a Federation-affiliation 
personnel or a Starfleet-affiliation personnel, Tal Shiar when used on a 
Romulan-affiliation personnel and FCA when used on a Ferengi-affiliation 
personnel. A card’s printed affiliation is used to make this determination; for 
example, the skill is not changed or lost if a personnel becomes Non-
Aligned. If the printed affiliation of the card has no counterpart for 
Intelligence in First Edition, the Intelligence Skill is treated simply as 
Intelligence. Klingon Intelligence, Obsidian Order, Section 31, Tal Shiar and 
FCA may be used to meet Intelligence requirements on Second Edition 
missions and dilemmas. 
Programming – This skill is treated as Computer Skill.  
Telepathy – This skill is treated as Empathy. 
Transporters – This skill is treated as Transporter Skill. 

 
When you add or change a skill using a First Edition card (such as 
Reflection Therapy or Frame of Mine), you cannot select one of these 
Second Edition skills to add or change to. 

Spock (Trainee Instructor) – 
Add Mr. Spock to this personnel’s lore. 

Starfleet affiliation cards – 
All Starfleet affiliation cards (except those with a Future icon) are treated as 

if they had a  icon. 

take command – 
When a player takes command of an opponent’s personnel by using a 
Second Edition card, they now control that personnel as if they had reported 
it. This does not eliminate affiliation-mixing restrictions. When a Borg player 
takes command of personnel, those personnel are assimilated as drones. 

Telepathy – 
See skills. 

T’Pol (Austere Commander) [0 AP 2] – Erratum: 
This card has the First Edition Compatibility indicator. 

T’Pol (Dutiful Commander) [13 U 113] – Erratum: 
This personnel’s Integrity is 3. 

Tractor Beam – 
See ships. 

Transporters – 
See skills. 

uniqueness – 
Non-unique personnel and ships are universal, and treated as though they 
had the universal symbol (❖) at the beginning of their card title. 

 
Unique personnel, ships, and missions as much, though the dots (•) at the 
beginning of their titles are ignored. 
 
If an event card is marked unique (•), treat it as though it had the word 
“(Unique.)” at the end of its game text.  

U.S.S. Enterprise (Earth’s Savior) – 
Add Starship Enterprise to this ship’s lore. This ship is not the same 
persona as the First Edition U.S.S. Enterprise. 

U.S.S. Enterprise-D (Battleship) – 
Add U.S.S. Enterprise to this ship’s lore. 

U.S.S. Enterprise-J [0 VP 85] – Erratum: 
This card has the First Edition Compatibility indicator. 

 

Voyager Icon – 
All ships and personnel with the Voyager Icon are treated as if they had a  
icon. 

Warrior’s Resolve – 
See cost. 

when – 
As in Second Edition rules, you may use text beginning with this world only 
once each time the described trigger occurs. 

*Winn Adami (Kai of Bajor) – 
Add Vedek Winn to this personnel’s lore. 
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