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abilities —
See personnel.
Altovar (Vindictive Criminal) - Erratum:
Thief. Order — Return this personnel to his owner's hand to return an opponent's Medical personnel present
to his or her owner’s hand.
Astrometrics —
See skills.

Avert Solar Implosion — Erratum:
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold.

Bajoran Resistance —
First Edition cards which refer to Resistance (such as Palukoo or Bajoran Resistance Cell) require First Edition
personnel who have that skill, and cannot be used with Second Edition personnel who have the Bajoran

Resistance keyword.

battle -
The word “combat” means “personnel batle.” The word “engagement” means “ship battle.”

When a card describes an effect “if you win” a battle, carry out that effect after any other effects of that battle,
such as randomly selecting a personnel to be killed in a personnel battle, or placing Tactic cards as damage
markers in a ship battle.

*Benjamin Sisko (Outlaw) — Erratum:
Order — Choose one for this personnel to gain: “Honor personnel present are Cunning +1"; or “Treachery
personnel present are Cunning + 1.” This effect lasts until this order is executed again.

Beverly Crusher (Captain Picard) —
Add Beverly Picard to this personnel’s lore. This personnel is not the same persona as the First Edition
Beverly Crusher.

Borg affiliation cards —
All Borg affiliation cards are treated as if they had a ¥ icon.

All Borg personnel are treated as if they had a subcommand icon instead of a staff or command icon. The TEC
icon of Borg personnel is color-coded to indicate which subcommand icon the personnel receive: blue
indicates Communication, green indicates Navigation, and red indicates Defense.

brig -
This word refers to your brig, as identified by Holding Cell Door or Security Holding Cell.

When a card instructs you to place a personnel in your brig, move the personnel directly to your brig. If you
do not have a brig in play, using the capturing card as a “trap card” instead.
capturing-related card —
Any card using the keyword Capture or Punishment is a capturing-related card. See Evek (Attaché to the
Demilitarized Zone).
Charvanek (Fleet Commander) [12 U 105] - Erratum:
This card has the First Edition Compatibility indicator.
classification —
See personnel.
Cluttering Irrelevancies — Erratum:
When your Hologram is facing a dilemma, name a skill. That Hologram gains that skill and is attributes 42
until the end of that dilemma. At the end of this mission attempt, return that Hologram to its owner’s hand.
combat —
See battle.

command —
This word means “have in play.” See take command.

Commander —
This keyword establishes a personnel as the matching commander of the specified ship.

Consume —
Ignore all Consume related game text on backwards compatible Second Edition dilemmas.
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This document provides rules needed to mix Second Edition cards with First Edition cards
in games using First Edition rules. Only Second Edition cards that have a First Edition
Compatible indicator in the lower left corner may be used with First Edition rules.

The rules in this document only apply to Second Edition cards played in a First Edition
game. Any card title reference applies only o the Second Edition cards with that title, not
to any First Edition card. For example, Spock refers to the Second Edition cards titled
Spock, not the card Spock from the First Edition Two Player Game.

These rules do not replace any existing rules governing First Edition cards unless
explicitly stated. For example, the rules provided for dilemmas apply only to Second
Edition cards, and do not replace normal dilemma resolution rules for existing First Edition
cards.

Entries that are new, changed, or expanded since the last version of this document are

marked in red with an asterisk (*) before the topic. For additional resources or to find
answers to your questions, please visit http://www.trekcc.org.

cost —
Most Second Edition cards have a cost printed in the top left before the card's title. You do not pay this cost in
First Edition, and you may not use any effect that requires you to pay this cost or that would modify this cost.
An effect requiring a cost may not target a card with no printed cost. (Example: A personnel with no cost may
not be downloaded as a personnel who costs one or less.) If a card’s cost is examined and the target card has
no printed cost, treat that card’s cost as an undefined attribute. (see undefined attributes in the glossary).
damage -
Each damage card on a ship reduces its HULL integrity by 35%. This effect is the same whether you are using

rotation damage (one “hit" plus any two damager cards would destroy a ship) or Tactic cards (the effects of
the damage markers are added to those of the Second Edition damage cards).

deck -
This word means “draw deck” and does not refer to any side decks.

Deliver Ancient Artifact — Erratum:
The “or” in this mission’s game text is not bold. This Second Edition card represents the same location as the
First Edition card Observe Ritual. See missions.

destroy —
This word means “discard” when used on a card o refer fo itself. It means “nullify” when used on one card to

refer to a different card. For example, the phrase “destroy this event” means “discard this event,” while the
phrase “destroy an event” means “nullify an event.”

dilemmas —
The phrase “returns fo its owner’s dilemma pile” means “is replaced under the mission” (fo be encountered
again). Do not replace any dilemma under a mission unless this phrase is used, even if its conditions were not
met.

Failing to meet the conditions of a dilemma does not stop your personnel. A dilemma does not stop a
personnel unless it specifically says so.

Dominion affiliation cards —
All Dominion ffiliation cards that do not have the Alpha keyword are treated as if they hod o I icon. See
Jem'Hadar.
Emergency Transport Unit [0 VP 8] — Erratum:
This card has the First Edition Compatibility indicator.
engagement —
See battle.
Evek (Attaché to the Demilitarized Zone). —
This personnel cannot download First Edition capturing-related cards.
Good Shepherd —
See cost.

*Guess Who's Coming to Dinner? [0 D 20] — Erratum:
Choose a personnel who has Diplomacy or Integrity>6 to be stopped. If you cannot, randomly select a
personnel fo be killed.

headquarters mission —
This term means “mission with a headquarters facility on it.”

Holodeck —

See ships.
Hologram —

All Hologram personnel are treated as if they had a E3 icon.
1.K.C. and LK.S. -

Treat “LK.S." as “LK.C." in First Edition. (Example: Kargan is the matching commander of both 1.K.C. Pagh
and |.K.S. Pagh. LK.S. Bortas may persona replace |.K.C. Bortas.) See persona.

1.K.S. Qel’Poh (Clandestine Vessel) —
Add H.M.S. Bounty to this ship’s lore.

1.K.S. Qel’Poh (H.M.S. Bounty) —
Add H.M.S. Bounty to this ship’s lore.



icons —
Many icons have a revised look on Second Edition cards. Such icons are treated as the First Edition version of
those icons for all purposes such as compatibility, probing, and staffing ships.

The Second Edition Alternate Universe, Future, and Past icons are treated as a First Edition Alternate
Universe icon.

The Second Edifion TOS icon is treated as a / or @ icon. When you play a card with this icon, choose
whether the icon is % or @5, You may change this choice at any time.

Do not convert any other icons found only on Second Edition cards (such as the Deep Space Nine, Earth, The
Next Generation, and Voyager icons) to First Edition icons. See Voyager icon.

Infiltrator -
Second Edition personnel with the Infiltrator keyword have no infiltration icon and thus cannot infiltrate your
opponent’s cards. Second Edition infiltrators can still be targeted by cards that require an infiltrator (such as
Dial Martok for Murder) but they cannot be targeted by cards that require an infiltrator that is infiltrating
(such as Treacherous Advice).

*Intelligence —
See skills.

Investigate Alleged Murder —
This Second Edition card represents the same location as the First Edition card Expose Plot. See missions.

Ixtana’Rax (Honored Elder) — Erratum:
When this personnel uses one of his skills to complete a mission, he is killed.
Jem'Hadar -
All Jem'Hadar personnel are treated as if they had a (4 icon. See Dominion affiliation cards.

Khan Noonien Singh (Genetically-Engineered Nemesis) —
Add Khan to this personnel’s lore.

keywords —
Keywords are used the same as in Second Edition. See Bajoran Resistance, Commander, personnel.

Kira Nerys (Colonel Kira) —
This personnel is “Colonel Kira” for Treaty: Romulan/Bajoran.

James T. Kirk (Original Thinker) — Erratum:
Admiral. Commander: U.S.S. Enterprise. When a dilemma is about to be revealed, if this personnel is
attempting a mission, you may refurn him to his owner's hand and prevent and overcome that dilemma.

Add Captain Kirk to this personnel’s lore.

Jeffrey Pierce (On the Edge) —
See cost.

Malcolm Reed (Weapons Expert) — Erratum:
This personnel’s special skill is deleted.

missions —
A mission’s game fext (including requirements) and span are treated as though they were repeated
identically on the opponent's end of a mission. The icons identifying which affiliations can attempt a mission
are converted to the two corresponding versions of those icons (for both ends of the mission).

Some Second Edition missions represent the same location as an existing First Edition mission. For example,
Deliver Ancient Artifacts and Observe Ritual both occur at Vulcan. Thus, you may not include both versions in
your mission selection and if one player seeds Deliver Ancient Artifact and the other seeds Observe Ritual,
they both overlap each other because they are duplicates of Vulcan. When you attempt such a mission, you
use the requirements (or any alternate requirements in game text) printed on your mission cards. If you solve
such a mission, you score the points on your mission card. Both players may make use of game text (other
than alternate requirements) printed on the mission card regardless of which version they seeded.

Observe Kazon Ritual —
This Second Edition card represents the same location as the First Edition card Combat Training. See
missions.

Obtain Advanced Technology —
This Second Edition card represents the same location as the First Edition card Acquire Technology. See
missions.

once per game icon —
Some Second Edition cards possess a 1EC icon with a small number 1 inside a circle. A card with this icon may
use it's game text (special skills on personnel, or special game text on a ship) only once per game, no matter
how many copies of that card you have in play during that game (including universal cards).

Order —

As in Second Edition rules, any game text beginning with the word “Order =" (including that on Interrupt
cards) can be used only during the Execute Orders segment of your own turn.

ersona —

P Use the title of a Second Edition personnel or ship to determine if it is a version of a First Edition persona.
For example, Elim Garak (Agent of the Obsidian Order) is the same persona as the First Edition cards Elim,
Elim Garak, and Plain, Simple Garak (but not Garak from the First Anthology, The Dominion and
Reflections sets).

Klingon ships use the designation “.K.S.” in Second Edition. This is treated as “LK.C." in the First Edition for
determining persona. For example, the LK.S. Lukara is the same persona as the LK.C. Lukara.

personnel —
Second Edition personnel have no classification. They receive no benefits and suffer no penalties from cards
affecting classifications. If a Second Edition personnel has one of the personnel types listed as a skill

(ENGINEER, MEDICAL, OFFICER, SCIENCE, or SECURITY), it is a skill, not a dlassification. See skills.

Any keywords listed on a personnel are treated as though they were in that personnel’s lore for purposes of
any First Edition cards. For example, the keyword “High Council Member” on Duras (Son of a Traitor) allows
him to report for free at The Great Hall (which allows personnel with “High Council” in lore to play for free).

Any abilities on a personnel are treated as one special skill with no skill dot.

plays in your core —
This phrase means “plays on table.”
Preeminent Precision — Erratum:
Order — Stop your @ Engineer aboard your ship to make that ship RANGE +2 until the end of this turn.

Programming —
See skills.

remove from the game —
This phrase means “place out-of-play.”

Rule -
Any card with the Rule keyword is treated as if it had a ¥ icon.

ships -
Each Second Edition ships with staffing requirements has a Tractor Beam. They do not have a Holodeck
(though you may play Holodeck Door on such a ship to add one). See persona.

*skills —
Each new skill used in the Second Edition corresponds to a specific First Edition skill.

Astrometrics — This skill is treated as Astrophysics OR Stellar Cartography. You choose one of those two
skills each time you encounter a dilemma referring fo Astrometrics or use a non-dilemma card providing (or
requiring) Astrometrics. You do not have to choose in advance whether an Astrometrics personnel has
Astrophysics or Stellar Cartography, and you may choose differently each time you use the skill. If a personnel
has 2 or more Astrometrics (or a dilemma requires 2 or more Astrometrics), each level of Astrometrics can be
assigned differently as either of the two First Edition skills.

*Intelligence — This skill is treated as Klingon Intelligence when used on a Klingon-affiliation personnel,
Obsidian Order when used on a Cardassian-affiliation personnel, Section 31 when used on a Federation-
affiliation personnel or a Starfleet-affiliation personnel, Tal Shiar when used on a Romulan-cffiliation
personnel and FCA when used on a Ferengi-affiliation personnel. A card’s printed affiliation is used to make
this determination; for example, the skill is not changed or lost if a personnel becomes Non-Aligned. If the
printed affiliation of the card has no counterpart for Intelligence in First Edition, the Intelligence Skill is
treated simply as Intelligence. Klingon Intelligence, Obsidian Order, Section 31, Tal Shiar and FCA may be
used to meet Intelligence requirements on Second Edition missions and dilemmas.

Programming — This skill is treated as Computer Skill.

Telepathy — This skill is treated as Empathy.

Transporters — This skill is freated as Transporter Skill.

When you add or change a skill using a First Edition card (such as Reflection Therapy or Frame of Mine), you
cannot select one of these Second Edition skills to add or change to.

Spock (Trainee Instructor) —
Add Mr. Spock to this personnel’s lore.

*Starfleet affiliation cards —
Al Starfleet affiliation cards (except those with a Future icon) are treated as if they had a &3 icon.

take command —
When a player takes command of an opponent's personnel by using a Second Edition card, they now control
that personnel as if they had reported it. This does not eliminate affiliation-mixing restrictions. When a Borg
player takes command of personnel, those personnel are assimilated as drones.

Telepathy —
See skills.

T'Pol (Austere Commander) [0 AP 2] — Erratum:
This card has the First Edition Compatibility indicator.

*T'Pol (Dutiful Commander) [13 U 113] - Erratum:
This personnel’s Integrity is 3.

Tractor Beam —
See ships.

Transporters —
See skills.
uniqueness —

Non-unique personnel and ships are universal, and treated as though they had the universal symbol (<) at
the beginning of their card title.

Unique personnel, ships, and missions as much, though the dots () at the beginning of their titles are
ignored.

If an event card is marked unique ("), freat it as though it had the word “(Unique.)” at the end of its game
fext.



U.S.S. Enterprise (Earth’s Savior) —
Add Starship Enterprise fo this ship’s lore. This ship is not the same persona as the First Edition U.S.S.
Enterprise.
U.S.S. Enterprise-D (Battleship) —
Add U.S.S. Enterprise to this ship’s lore.
Voyager Icon —
All ships and personnel with the Voyager lcon are treated as if they had o 8 icon.
Warrior's Resolve —
See cost.

when —
As in Second Edition rules, you may use text beginning with this world only once each time the described

trigger occurs.

Winn Adami (Kai of Bajor) —
Add Vedek Winn to this personnel’s lore.
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