
First Edition Conversion Rules (8/2/09) 
This document provides rules needed to mix Second Edition cards with First Edition 
cards in games using First Edition rules. Only Second Edition cards that have a First 
Edition Compatible indicator in the lower left corner may be used with First Edition 
rules.  

The rules in this document only apply to Second Edition cards played in a First 
Edition game.  Any card title reference applies only to the Second Edition cards with 
that title, not to any First Edition cards with the same title, unless specifically called a 
First Edition card.  For example Spock refers to the Second Edition cards titled 
Spock, not the card Spock from the First Edition Two Player Game.

These rules do not replace any existing rules governing First Edition cards unless 
explicitly stated. For example, the rules provided for dilemmas apply only to Second 
Edition cards, and do not replace normal dilemma resolution rules for existing First 
Edition cards. 

Entries that are new, changed, or expanded since the last version of this document 
(1/2/09) are marked in red with an asterisk (*) before the topic.

abilities – See personnel.

Altovar, Vindictive Criminal – Erratum: "Thief. Order - Return this personnel to his 
owner's hand to return an opponent's Medical personnel present to his or her 
owner's hand."

Astrometrics – See skills.

Avert Solar Implosion – Erratum: The “or” in this missionʼs game text is not bold.

Bajoran Resistance – First Edition cards which refer to Resistance (such as 
Palukoo or Bajoran Resistance Cell) require First Edition personnel who have that 
skill, and cannot be used with Second Edition personnel who have the Bajoran 
Resistance keyword.

battle – The word “combat” means “personnel battle.”  The word “engagement” 
means “ship battle.”

When a card describes an effect “if you win” a battle, carry out that effect after any 
other effects of that battle, such as randomly selecting a personnel to be killed in a 
personnel battle, or placing Tactic cards as damage markers in a ship battle.

Beverly Crusher, Captain Picard – Add Beverly Picard to this personnel's lore. 
This personnel is not the same persona as the First Edition Beverly Crusher.

Borg affiliation cards – All Borg affiliation cards are treated as if they had a [DQ] 
icon.

All Borg personnel are treated as if they had a subcommand icon instead of a staff 
or command icon.  The 1EC icon of Borg personnel is color-coded to indicate which 
subcommand icon the personnel receive: blue indicates Communication, green 
indicates Navigation, and red indicates Defense.

brig – This word refers to your brig, as identified by Holding Cell Door or Security 
Holding Cell.

When a card instructs you to place a personnel in your brig, move the personnel 
directly to your brig.  If you do not have a brig in play, use the capturing card as a 
“trap card” instead.

capturing-related card – Any card using the keyword Capture or Punishment is a 
capturing-related card.  See Evek, Attaché to the Demilitarized Zone.

*Charvanek, Fleet Commander (12 U 105) - Erratum: This card has the FIrst 
Edition Compatibility Indicator.

classification – See personnel.

Cloaked Mission – This rule has been moved to the CRD.

Cluttering Irrelevancies – Erratum: When your Hologram is facing a dilemma, 
name a skill.  That Hologram gains that skill and is attributes +2 until the end of that 
dilemma.  At the end of this mission attempt, return that Hologram to its ownerʼs 
hand.

combat – See battle.

command – This word means “have in play.”  – See take command.

commander – This keyword establishes a personnel as the matching commander of 
the specified ship.

Consume – Ignore all Consume related game text on backwards compatible Second 
Edition dilemmas.

cost – Most Second Edition cards have a cost printed in the top left before the card's 
title.  You do not pay this cost in First Edition, and you may not use any effect that 
requires you to pay this cost or that would modify this cost.  An effect requiring a cost 
may not target a card with no printed cost (Example: A personnel with no cost may 
not be downloaded as a personnel who costs one or less).  If a card's cost is 
examined and the target card has no printed cost, treat that card's cost as an 
undefined attribute (see "Undefined Attributes" in the glossary).

damage – Each damage card on a ship reduces its HULL integrity by 35%.  This 
effect is the same whether you are using rotation damage (one “hit” plus any two 
damage cards would destroy a ship) or Tactic cards (the effects of the damage 
markers are added to those of the Second Edition damage cards).

deck – This word means “draw deck” and does not refer to any side decks.

Deliver Ancient Artifact – Erratum: The “or” in this missionʼs game text is not bold.  
This Second Edition card represents the same location as the First Edition card 
Observe Ritual.  See missions.  

destroy – This word means “discard” when used on a card to refer to itself.  It means 
“nullify” when used on one card to refer to a different card.  For example, the phrase 
“destroy this event” means “discard this event,” while the phrase “destroy an event” 
means “nullify an event.”

dilemmas – The phrase “returns to its ownerʼs dilemma pile” means “is replaced 
under the mission” (to be encountered again).  Do not replace any dilemma under a 
mission unless this phrase is used, even if its conditions were not met.

Failing to meet the conditions of a dilemma does not stop your personnel.  A 
dilemma does not stop any personnel unless it specifically says so.

Dominion affiliation cards – All Dominion affiliation cards that do not have the 
Alpha keyword are treated as if they had a [GQ] icon.  See Jem’Hadar.

*Emergency Transport Unit (0 VP 8 ) - Erratum: This card has the First Edition 
Compatibility Indicator.

engagement – See battle.

Evek, Attaché to the Demilitarized Zone – This personnel cannot download First 
Edition capturing-related cards.

Good Shepherd – See cost.

Headquarters Mission – This term means “mission with a headquarters facility on 
it.”

Holodeck – See ships.

Hologram – All Hologram personnel are treated as if they had a [Holo] icon.

I.K.C. and I.K.S. – Treat "I.K.S." as "I.K.C." in First Edition. (Example: Kargan is the 
matching commander of both I.K.C. Pagh and I.K.S. Pagh. I.K.S. Bortas may 
persona replace I.K.C. Bortas.) - See Persona

I.K.S. Qel'Poh, Clandestine Vessel – Add H.M.S. Bounty to this ship's lore.

I.K.S. Qel'Poh, H.M.S. Bounty – Add H.M.S. Bounty to this ship's lore.

icons – Many icons have a revised look on Second Edition cards.  Such icons are 
treated as the First Edition version of those icons for all purposes such as 
compatibility, probing, and staffing ships.

The Second Edition Alternate Universe, Future, and Past icons are treated as a First 
Edition Alternate Universe icon.

The Second Edition TOS icon is treated as a [OS] or [CF] icon.  When you play a 
card with this icon, choose whether the icon is [OS] or [CF].  You may change this 
choice at any time.

Do not convert any other icons found only on Second Edition cards (such as the 
Deep Space Nine, Earth, The Next Generation, and Voyager icons) to First Edition 
icons.  – See Voyager Icon.

Infiltrator – Second Edition personnel with the Infiltrator keyword have no infiltration 
icon and thus cannot infiltrate your opponentʼs cards.  Second Edition infiltrators can 
still be targeted by cards that require an infiltrator (such as Dial Martok for Murder) 
but they cannot be targeted by cards that require an infiltrator that is infiltrating (such 
as Treacherous Advice).

Intelligence – See skills.

Investigate Alleged Murder – This Second Edition card represents the same 
location as the First Edition card Expose Plot.  See missions.

IxtanaʼRax, Honored Elder – Erratum: When this personnel uses one of his skills to 
complete a mission, he is killed.

Jem’Hadar – All JemʼHadar personnel are treated as if they had a [KW] icon.  See 
Dominion affiliation cards.

*Khan Noonien Singh, Genetically-Engineered Nemesis – Add Khan to this 
personnel's lore.

Keywords – Keywords are used the same as in Second Edition.  See Bajoran 



Resistance, Commander, personnel.

Kira Nerys, Colonel Kira – This personnel is “Colonel Kira” for Treaty: Romulan/
Bajoran.

James T. Kirk, Original Thinker – Add Captain Kirk to this personnel's lore. 
Erratum:  Admiral. Commander: U.S.S. Enterprise. When a dilemma is about to be 
revealed, if this personnel is attempting a mission, you may return him to his ownerʼs 
hand to prevent and overcome that dilemma.  

Jeffrey Pierce, On The Edge – See cost.

Malcolm Reed, Weapons Expert – Erratum: This personnel's special skill is 
deleted.

missions – A missionʼs game text (including requirements) and span are treated as 
though they were repeated identically on the opponentʼs end of a mission.  The icons 
identifying which affiliations can attempt a mission are converted to the two 
corresponding versions of those icons (for both ends of the mission).

Some Second Edition missions represent the same location as an existing First 
Edition mission.  For example, Deliver Ancient Artifacts and Observe Ritual both 
occur at Vulcan.  Thus, you may not include both versions in your mission selection 
and if one player seeds Deliver Ancient Artifacts and the other seeds Observe Ritual, 
they both overlap each other because they are duplicates of Vulcan.  When you 
attempt such a mission, you use the requirements (or any alternate requirements in 
game text) printed on your mission card.  If you solve such a mission, you score the 
points on your mission card.  Both players may make use of game text (other than 
alternate requirements) printed on the mission card regardless of which version they 
seeded.

Observe Kazon Ritual – This Second Edition card represents the same location as 
the First Edition card Combat Training.  See missions.

Obtain Advanced Technology – This Second Edition card represents the same 
location as the First Edition card Acquire Technology.  See missions.

once per game icon – Some Second Edition cards possess a 1EC icon with a small 
number 1 inside a circle. A card with this icon may use it's game text (special skills 
on personnel, or special game text on a ship) only once per game, no matter how 
many copies of that card you have in play during that game (including universal 
cards).

Order – As in Second Edition rules, any game text beginning with the word “Order 
–” (including that on Interrupt cards) can be used only during the Execute Orders 
segment of your own turn.

persona – Use the card title of a Second Edition personnel or ship to determine if it 
is a version of a First Edition persona.  For example, Elim Garak, Agent of the 
Obsidian Order, is the same persona as the First Edition cards Elim, Elim Garak, and 
Plain, Simple Garak (but not Garak, from the First Anthology, The Dominion, and 
Reflections sets).

Klingon ships use the designation “I.K.S.” in Second Edition.  This is treated as 
“I.K.C.” in the First Edition for determining persona.  For example, the I.K.S. Lukara 
is the same persona as the I.K.C. Lukara.

personnel – Second Edition personnel have no classification.  They receive no    
benefits and suffer no penalties from cards affecting classifications.  If a Second 
Edition personnel has one of the personnel types listed as a skill (ENGINEER, 
MEDICAL, OFFICER, SCIENCE, or SECURITY), it is a skill, not a classification.  
See skills.

Any keywords listed on a personnel are treated as though they were in that 
personnelʼs lore for purposes of any First Edition cards.  For example, the keyword 
“High Council Member” on Duras, Son of a Traitor allows him to report for free at The 
Great Hall (which allows personnel with “High Council” in lore to play for free).
Any abilities on a personnel are treated as one special skill with no skill dot.

plays in your core – This phrase means “plays on table.”

Preeminent Precision – Erratum: “… Range +2 until the end of this turn."

Programming – See skills.

remove from the game – This phrase means “place out-of-play.”

Revised text – The following cards have revised game text.  See each individual 
entry for the actual revision.
      
 
 Altovar, Vindictive Criminal

 Avert Solar Implosion

 Cluttering Irrelevancies

 Deliver Ancient Artifact

 Ixtana'Rax, Honored Elder

 James T. Kirk, Original Thinker

 Malcolm Reed, Weapons Expert

 Preeminent Precision

Rule – Any card with the Rule keyword is treated as if it had a [Rule] icon.

ships – Each Second Edition ship with staffing requirements has a Tractor Beam.  
They do not have a Holodeck (though you may play Holodeck Door on such a ship to 
add one).  See persona.

skills – Each new skill used in the Second Edition corresponds to a specific First 
Edition skill.

Astrometrics – This skill is treated as Astrophysics or Stellar Cartography.  You 
choose one of those two skills each time you encounter a dilemma referring to 
Astrometrics or use a non-dilemma card providing (or requiring) Astrometrics.  You 
do not have to choose in advance whether an Astrometrics personnel has 
Astrophysics or Stellar Cartography, and you may choose differently each time you 
use the skill.  If a personnel has 2 or more Astrometrics (or a dilemma requires 2 or 
more Astrometrics), each level of Astrometrics can be assigned differently as either 
of the two First Edition skills.

Intelligence – This skill is treated as Klingon Intelligence when used on a Klingon-
affiliation personnel, Obsidian Order when used on a Cardassian-affiliation 
personnel, Section 31 when used on a Federation-affiliation personnel, Tal Shiar 
when used on a Romulan-affiliation personnel and FCA when used on a Ferengi-
affiliation personnel.  A cardʼs printed affiliation is used to make this determination; 
for example, the skill is not changed or lost if a personnel becomes Non-Aligned.  If 
the printed affiliation of the card has no counterpart for Intelligence in First Edition, 
the Intelligence skill is treated simply as Intelligence.  Klingon Intelligence, Obsidian 
Order, Section 31, Tal Shiar, and FCA may be used to meet Intelligence 
requirements on Second Edition missions and dilemmas.

Programming – This skill is treated as Computer Skill.

Telepathy – This skill is treated as Empathy.

Transporters – This skill is treated as Transporter Skill.
When you add or change a skill using a First Edition card (such as Reflection 
Therapy or Frame of Mind), you cannot select one of these Second Edition skills to 
add or change to.

Spock, Trainee Instructor – Add Mr. Spock to this personnel's lore.

Stopped – The previous entry has been deleted.

take command – When a player takes command of an opponentʼs personnel by 
using a Second Edition card, they now control that personnel as if they had reported 
it.  This does not eliminate affiliation-mixing restrictions.  When a Borg player takes 
command of personnel, those personnel are assimilated as drones.

Telepathy – See skills.

*T'Pol, Austere Commander (0 AP 2) - Erratum: This card has the First Edition 
Compatibility Indicator.

Tractor Beam – See ships.

Transporters – See skills.

uniqueness – Non-unique personnel and ships are universal, and treated as though 
they had the universal symbol (❖) at the beginning of their card title.

Unique personnel, ships, and missions are treated as such, though the dots (•) at the 
beginning of their titles are ignored.

If an event card is marked unique (•), treat it as though it had the word “(Unique.)” at 
the end of its game text.

U.S.S. Enterprise, Earth's Savior – Add Starship Enterprise to this ship's lore. 
This ship is not the same persona as the First Edition U.S.S. Enterprise.

U.S.S. Enterprise-D, Battleship – Add U.S.S. Enterprise to this ship's lore.

Voyager Icon - All ships and personnel with the Voyager Icon are treated as if they 
had a [DQ] icon.

Warrior's Resolve – See cost.

when – As in Second Edition rules, you may use text beginning with this word only 
once each time the described trigger occurs.

Winn Adami, Kai of Bajor – Add Vedek Winn to this personnel's lore.

TM, ® & © 2008 Paramount Pictures. All Rights Reserved. STAR TREK is a 
registered trademark of and all characters and related marks are trademarks of 
Paramount Pictures.

Icon Key:
[CF] =  

[DQ] =  

[GQ] =  

[Holo] = 

[OS] =  

[Rule] =  

[KW] =  


